We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfort and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Mere prior to flying from Manchester airport. It was the best night sleep in a really comfortable bed I thought I may not wake up! The spa factilities were really great and relaxing. Browns restaurant was excellent and the staff were all helpful and friendly. All in a comfortable and relaxing night prior to a long flight - fantastic.

Room Tip: The hotel is new and the rooms are very clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamhanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    284
    113
    36
    29
See reviews for
151
493
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent the day on Saturday with my daughter at the Spa, our Birthday treat from my husband and son. Treatments were fantastic, very courteous and professional service. Enjoyed the pool and facilities although would have been nice to be served drinks while relaxing at pool area. Lunch very enjoyable, included in the package. Disappointed in one member of the Spa staff who was not very welcoming or helpful when approached otherwise a perfect relaxing day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank-you for your review on your recent spa visit. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your day with us, we do serve drinks by the poolside and I am sorry you missed this service.

If you could contact me directly I would like to gain some details about the member of staff you spoke to; as customer service, as you can see from previous reviews, is our highest priority.

Many thanks

Tom

Tom Davies, Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic weekend spa break at The Mere. We stayed in a Mere Double which was a beautiful room with luxurious fixtures and fittings. Loved the attention to detail in the room, . Loved the huge bed and the lovely lamps. The bathroom was big and well lit and loved the little lights in the wardrobes ! The hotel is spotless whereever you went and the service from the staff excellent. We had a whole day in the Spa being pampered and enjoyed using the leisure facilities. Brown's restaurant had a lovely choice of meals but we chose to eat in the Golf Bar which was simpler but still extremely enjoyable. Can fully recommend the Salmon and the desserts of Sticky Toffee Pudding and Apricot Creme Caramel. Full English Breakfast in the morning - self service so eat as much as you like - excellent ! We will definitely be going again soon :-)

Room Tip: Dont feel pressured to chose a suite or large room - we had the Mere Double and it was a huge bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexyfunkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write this fantastic review; I will personally pass all of your great feedback onto the team.

We hope it isn’t a year until your next visit; you could take a look at some of our fantastic Christmas spa breaks.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you want to book as I would like to personally thank-you for your review.


Many thanks
Tom

Tom Davies, Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This 1 night break was from a competition I had won, and although it was 3hrs away from our hometown, I was definitely not giving it up!
We had a normal standard double bedroom that was decorated to a very good quality. There were so many different lamps in the room, which most of the time you needed on, because even in the day, the room was quite dark. It overlooked onto a small section of the golf resort, but we also got a fantastic view of the lake.

The bed was extra comfy and the meerkat soft toy was a nice extra touch.

Complimentary bath robes and slippers were provided, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. The fridge was well stocked with goodies, although we didn't delve into these as they were a little over priced.

The bathroom was very spacious, having a double sink, heated towel rail and a lovely power shower. Complimentary shower products were also provided.

Lots of work space for business travellers.

Can't comment on room service as we didn't order anything, however we did sample the golf lunch bar in the day and everything was reasonably priced and the food was of a good standard. This got filled with golfers very quickly (we also spotted a few famous snooker players whilst in here!).

In the evening we sampled Brown's cafe which was extremely nice although quite expensive (although probably not expensive for regulars!). A 2 course meal and 1 round of drinks came to almost £70. However the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The continental breakfast the next morning was fantastic too. Such a massive variety of foods to choose from. I obviously went for the full English (it's gotta be done!) and it was divine.

The reception staff were also very helpful, ordering us a taxi the next morning to take the short ride into Knutsford.

Unfortunately I forgot my swimwear so didn't get to sample the pool/spa area.

Overall, brilliant hotel, very high quality in all ways.

Only downside, this definitely is a hotel just for golfers. During the day we went to venture out on foot to see what we could find, and there was nothing for miles, so because we were there due to winning a competition and nothing else (i.e. to play golf) we got bored pretty quick. I'm sure my OH would have been satisfied laid on the bed all day watching TV and relaxing, but I get itchy feet and want to explore! We did have a good wander around the hotel and the golf grounds, which were extremely pleasant, but theres only so much walking you can do on a golf pitch!

To see video footage of our room, follow this link that I have put on Youtube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8OuXq_pGuns

Perfect for golfers or couples wanting an extra relaxing weekend, and those that don't forget their swimwear!

Room Tip: Different rooms offer different views so if you have a specific view in mind, ask when booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLouise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Went for 1 night spa break with 3 friends with treatment, dinner and breakfast included. Hotel is very nice, staff very helpful and friendly and the spa is good too. Food very good -can't really criticise this hotel! Nicely decorated and clean. Would definitely recommend - not bad value for money either.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nice_hotel_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place to stay. Stayed several times and its a delight to stay there. Rooms are extremely well equipped and furnishings are very luxurious. Nothing is too much for the staff.
Pool/gym/spa are lovely... large pool and 5 thermal rooms, vitality pool, heated pool side beds and drinks served to you if required. Its all so relaxing. A bonus if you play golf too..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterSnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write this fantastic review; great to see you have become a regular at The Mere.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you want to book as I would like to personally thank-you for your review.


Many thanks
Tom

Tom Davies, Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I took my wife to celebrate her birthday and have a bit of time away from the children. I regularly stay in 4 and 5 star hotels with work so am very critical. It was very difficult to fault this hotel. The hotel is first class, pool and spa exceptional and staff are top of the range! Nothing was too much for the staff, they spent lots of time with us when we got there trying to get us into the best restaurant in the area, The Church Green which had just won The AA England Restaurant of the Year award, and they succeeded even though it was a Saturday night!

The spa and pool facilities were some of the best I have seen, with 5 different sauna/steam rooms to choose from, a very large jacuzzi with many different bubble and water settings and a pool which was cool enough to do some fitness swimming in.

The pool was very busy on the Sunday morning which made lengths very difficult and the training lane was taken up with a lesson - I would recommend they move their lessons to quiter times. They definitely need more sunloungers and seats as everybody puts their dressing gowns on them then goes to use the facilities so if you arrive late there is nowhere to sit/lie down. So, The Mere either needs to expand or just politely tell all guests not to stake a claim on the furniture if they're not immediately using it!

The only negatives were: the breakfast in the morning was cold (lukewarm at best) and there were no plate warmers which confounded the issue. It would also benefit if they installed swimwear dryers in the changing rooms. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable for me, I prefer a much softer bed (memory foam ideally) but my wife was happy with it.

The negatives are minor and can easily be improved. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: 107 is a good spacious room but there were sohinery noises, not sure what they were - very infrequen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elysiumuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing