We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close, but ultimately let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Beautiful venue,stunning room! Spa was great!!

Sitting out at the Lounge Bar, for a beer and dinner..... Very poor service, not very attentive waiter service! I had to ask for the table to be cleaned as the food was served not ti mention just catching the eye of a waiter for a beer. Food was very good by the way.

Breakfast in "Browns", great spread, seats and floor did not appear to have been cleaned from the night before, crumbs and debry every where, no excuse!

Judging by the metal in the car park I'm surprised by this as it has the feel of a place that could be very good and not just corporate churn!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience.

Whilst I am delighted to see elements of your stay were good I am of course disapointed to read that we still have some improvements in consistency to make in some elements of our customer service and areas of cleanliness. With your feedback I will continue to focus the team in these areas where improvements can be made and I am sure the next time you stay with us you will notice the improvements.

Thank you once again for your response.

Steven Lazarus
Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

The rooms, and especially the spa are absolutely fantastic.

The problem is the service... and the pretentious nature of the place.

Both the restaurant (sorry not just a restaurant but Browns!!! If you want to see some real pretentious marketing rubbish read why!!) and outside tables were filthy at dinner and breakfast - we had to ask to be clean. We ordered a bottle of red wine, of which they tried to overcharge us - and got one white and one red wine glass. It is impossible to get the restaurant food outside... even on a beautiful evening.

Staff in general were badly trained with little to no management visible.

A great facility let down by management and staff... what a pity

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Mr Freeman,

Thank-you for your initial positive feedback about our Spa and rooms; and taking your time to send us your feedback.
I am sorry to hear your recent visit did not match up to your expectations. We will be addressing your concerns with the food and beverage teams to ensure there is no reoccurrence of this for future guests. I would love the opportunity to speak to you personally about your concerns; to this effect I will send you my contact details via e-mail.
We hope to welcome you back to The Mere to demonstrate how we have acted on your feedback.

Many thanks

Tom Davies
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Probably one of the best hotels weve ever stayed at. We were there on the last Sunday of the RHS show along with quite a few othres. The facilities are top class. Location top class along side the mere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I bought a voucher from travel zoo for this hotel. Safe to say we had an amazing day. My only issue was dinner took a little long to arrive but the food was incredible. And the facilities are amazing and the rooms are beautiful. I'm actually sad I'm not still there. Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannahpriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Myself and my partner attended a weddding at the Mere during July so decided to treat ourself and book a room. We arrived before our room was ready, which we knew so left our bags with the Porter. The whole wedding day was fantasic success, everything was well organised and we were all well looked after! During the afternoon we decided to check in and go upto our room. We had booked a standard double room and for the last minute price we found on laterooms.com we were really impressed, the room was a great size, really clean and modern, the tv was huge, the bath room had a massive walk in shower and the products for us to use were really nice. Breakfast the next morning was great, we were a large party so they gave us a private room free of charge and our breakfast waiter was brilliant! He had us all laughing and made sure we were all having a great stay. Over all a really nice stay...I just wish we had stayed one more night!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraRMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Mere resort in January (so this review is a little late) and we had an amazing time. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast package with a room upgrade to a Mere room rather than club, which we were offered at a reduced rate as we stayed on a Sunday, at £139 I thought this was great value.

When we arrived at the Mere we loved the grand entrance and beautiful driveway up to the hotel. The reception staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. We arrived two hours before check in to use the hotel's spa, not expecting our room to be ready but the receptionist informed us that it was ready for us, which was a bonus. The room was lovely, it's furnishings were beautiful and the view of the Mere was great, I only wish we'd upgraded to a room with a balcony! I loved the Mere meerkat too!

We used the spa on the day we arrived and the day we checked out and it was great, it was great that this is included in the room rate as it was definitly worth paying for this just as a spa break. It was peaceful and spacious, we enjoyed drinks by the pool and made use of all the different treatment rooms.

The restaurant was lovely and both dinner and breakfast were great, the staff were very friendly, in particular our drinks waiter.

There isn't really anything I could fault the hotel on, the only thing I could is the price for films. They had a fantastic library of fims but at £9.99 we thought this was a bit too pricey. We were hoping to watch a film after chilling out in the spa but we had a drive out to Knutsford instead.

We had a brilliant time and we would definitley return! It's a perfect romantic break.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for any special packages. I asked about a sunday night offer, this wasn't availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverpool52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a couple of nights here and I would rate it as one of the best overall experiences in the UK.

The hotel is beautifully laid out, the reception area is bright and airey The main reception area has been beautifuly developep within the original old courtyard of the house, with the main doors built where the coach and horses used to enter.

A breath of fresh air was the quality of the staff and customer services, who all seemed to go out of their way to cater for your every need, without being over the top. It was also nice to see the majoirity of the staff were from the local area......who said British people could not provide decent service, they most certainly can at the Mere.

The rooms are immaculate, clean and airy with all the mod-cons you would expect including docing stations, excellent and abundant linen, pillows etc.

The Spa area is across fthe car-park approximately 50 metres from the main building and has been incorporated into the old clock tower building. It is modern and extremely well equipped, with a choice of steam rooms, aroma therapy room, Turkish etc. Make sure you use a towel on the limestone clad double bed/slab in the Turkish.....It is a tad warm, but well worth the visit. There is sufficient chill out areas with comfortable beds, heated shaped marble covered seats and even wi-fi for those wishing to combine work/rest and play.

The gym above the spa area is large, modern and well equipped with appropriately qualified staff. The changing rooms are large modern and no locker keys/money is required, as you input a 4 digit security code into it prior to use, thus alleviating the issue of keys pinned to your swimsuits. Additonally there is a chillout area which has four beds in it, each with their own docking station.

A very minor point and I stress minor, was the lack of a costume spinner in the changing room.

Access from junction 19 on the main M6 motorway is literally within five minutes, you may miss the turn into the hotel as it is immediately after the second set of lights, but don't fret you can turn around a few hundred metres/yards down the road.

When entering the grounds the main access/egress road crosses part of the fairway, make sure you stop and ensure the way is clear, as you may encounter a golf ball coming your way, but there are sufficient signs to warn you of this.

If you are in the area or indeed seeking a nice weekend away, I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel, it is a credit to the management and staff.
Keep up the great work and pardon the pun; we will be back :-)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the hotel reception and did not experienc any noise pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank-you for taking some time to write such a fantastic review of The Mere Golf Resort & Spa, your thoughts will be passed onto the team. The team at The Mere constantly strive to offer the best in customer service and hospitality which clearly you received.
Writing such an in-depth review of all of the resorts facilities is truly appreciated following our opening in March.
We would love to welcome you back to The Mere; please feel free to contact me directly prior to your next visit so we can meet in person.

Many thanks
Tom Davies
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,052 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,345 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,687 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range: $152 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing