We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue with first class staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic venue with first class staff and food”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am the fundrasing Manager for Beechwood Cancer Care Centre in Stockport and we have just held our annual Butterfly Ball at The Mere. This is our 5th event and I would say the best. Janice and the events team are simply fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. From booking the event, deciding on menus and linen through to the event itself it ran without a hitch.
David the bar manager was wonderful advising guests on wine choices and Alex and Rebbeca saw that the event ran smoothly.As ever the food was amazing and the team met all the special dietary requirements that we required.The newly refurbished James Braid suit fits in perfectly with the rest of the re vamped building and the new resturant and bar are wonderful with a menu that is both modern and affordable. We will certainly be booking again and if you are looking for a first class venue with the best staff and award winning food set in the most beautiful landscaped grounds then The Mere is for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Many thanks on taking the time to compliment the team and the catering on your recent event. We take all feedback from clients on board and pass this onto the teams involved ,.

We are delighted that you and your guests had a wonderful experience and we hope you raised lots of money for a very worthwhile cause.

Looking forward to working with you on this event again next year .
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    294
    120
    40
    33
See reviews for
168
520
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay in this newly built hotel. We were lucky to have a suite with a balcony overlooking the lake,the perfect place for a pre dinner drink. The suite itself was very spacious, a large lounge area with comfy sofa, separate bedroom and a very well equipped bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, but also quietly efficient.There are 3 restaurants to cater for different tastes and budgets, the food was excellent. I had visited the spa in the past as it opened before the hotel, I think it is one of the best hotel spas I have come across. We were sorry to leave and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Lake view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Me and my fiancé went for my birthday & found the hotel,restaurant,spa fantastic we stayed in a queen suit witch was out of this world. The staff could not do enough for you and the service was 5 star. We had a meal in browns restaurant witch we got the white glove service and the food was amazing. All I can say is that we would go back any time we had a lovely weekend

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leewidnesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments , we are delighted that you had a great experience especially as it was for your birthday treat .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future .
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wow! What can I say?

After visiting Mere Golf Resort & Spa on a number of occasions over the years, receiving great service and fantastic food, I can only say that the addition of the bedrooms and the recent refurbishment has just made it even more incredible! You can tell that a lot of care and attention has gone into the design of the resort and it looks great!

From the concierge greeting at reception, to the bar service in the Club lounge and bar the staff could not have been any more helpful throughout the whole resort.

The bedroom was spacious (229 I think!), airy and had all the mod cons required such as ipod docking station and large flat screen TV. I was pleasantly surprised when entering the bathroom, the warmth coming from the under floor heating. Nice touch.

Unfortunately, I didn't manage to make the most of the amazing spa and leisure facilities on this occasion (but I have used them before!) and I would highly recommend this hotel for a leisure break and I am actually looking to have my hen party spa break at the hotel later in the year.

Overall very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies! If you can get one overlooking the Mere it would be incredible on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

As a Christmas present, our son bought us a 'gift experience' for Champagne Afternoon Tea for two, and we were thrilled as we often enjoy afternoon teas. From the list given to us, The Mere seemed a good choice.
However, when we arrived there, we were directed to the spa building...the hotel was closed!! No mention was made of this when the reservation was made! We, (two friends also had the same gift and came with us) had our 'experience' in the spa bar...not exactly what had been promised on the dvd provided by Activity Superstore who sell these experiences. We had one three tier cake stand of food between four of us and a glass and a half each of bubbly (I will give them the benefit of doubt as to whether it was actually champagne or not). At a cost of £49.99 per couple I would at least have expected us to be in the comfortable surroundings of a hotel lounge with hotel facilities and not having to use the changing rooms when we needed the toilets.
By way of contrast, on Saturday we had a Travelzoo Champagne afternoon tea deal at Tom's Champagne bar in House of Fraser in Manchester at a cost of £18 per couple and it was fantastic...plenty of good food and lovely surroundings (and definitely Champagne!)
Activity Superstore need to look carefully at the venues they offer people and The Mere need to get their act together on guest satisfaction...they didn't even respond to my feedback when I contacted them.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lindyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your afternoon tea experience. May I offer my most sincere apologies that you were not told in advance about our refurbishment and that your experience was less than perfect. I would be delighted if you would call the resort and ask for myself Graeme Nesbitt, allowing us to talk in person and for me to research where our communication channels broke down.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
977 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,557 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
95 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing