We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better...”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the Cottons hotel as I was attending a function nearby, and thought the hotel would be a really nice 4 star hotel, the reception area and bar are lovely, however the rooms are a little tired. Quite dusty in areas and chipped paintwork make you think they're not that bothered about about appearances so what else aren't they bothered about.

I would rate it at best a 3 star, nothing else wrong with it, just me being picky...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hevs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I'm pleased that you thought our reception area and bar are lovely but equally disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations and, as mentioned, in previous TripAdvisor replies, further refurbishment is due but we will focus attention on the issues you have mentioned as our priority is to present the hotel in the best possible condition. I do hope that, should you have the need for accommodation in the area, we can welcome you back.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    291
    146
    46
    32
See reviews for
169
304
27
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs UK
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I attended a function at this hotel and cannot fault it at all. The food during the day was excellent and service excellent. My room was comfortable,a good size and clean and quiet .My only complaint really was that there was no electric socket near to a mirror so could dry my hair!!!
Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I'm really pleased to read your complimentary feedback about our food, service and accommodation. I note your comment about there being no electric socket near the mirror to dry your hair but, located in the drawer of the dressing table – below the mirror, is a hair dryer that is directly wired in for your use. I will ensure, however, that our signage is clear.

Kind regards,
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR Northwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A real disappointment- yes we were on a hen party. Eleven ladies all looking forward to a child/ stress free afternoon (11 to 4.30pm) at the cottons Spa. The package included two treatments out of a facial, manicure or pedicure, back, shoulder and head massage and one other, which I can't remember. All the treatments were good, none of us were disappointed. We had lunch too early at 12 the choice was all prebooked - a fruit juice, choice of salad nicoise/Caesar or a antipasta followed by cheese, fruit salad or creme brûlée. All very pleasant but the salads far too small and more like a small starter. Due to treatments times four of her left quite quickly after pudding, I wasn't sure if the others had coffee but again had to pay for a warm drink after treatments. On top of paying 90 pounds for the package, on arrival we paid for a coffee/tea which we thought would have been complimentary, again it should be in the package.
A package to me means all included, not so here. A real shame as the spa was great. I have returned home starving and so did the lady I went with. Not great!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I was pleased that you enjoyed your Spa treatments but sorry you felt lunch was scheduled too early at 12noon. Given a group of 11 with treatments, starting from 1.30pm and the need to allow your lunch to digest before starting treatments, unfortunately this early lunch could not be avoided, particularly as everyone wanted to eat together as a group.

With regards to our packages, they do include unlimited herbal teas & water and soft drinks are included with lunch. Other teas/coffees are chargeable and given your comments I will ensure my team clearly explain this. Concerning the salad portions being small, please accept my apologies and we will certainly address this straight away.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Having got married here in march this year this hotel will always have a special place in my heart but during our last visit (16th Nov) I felt somewhat disappointed. Loving the refurb downstairs, looks great in comparison but the pool was overrun with screaming children (I went in to relax!!) and our room was very very tired. Still the great power shower (awesome) but the wooden plinth between the seating area & bed was splintered and the paintwork and furniture scuffed.... I know a refurb plan is ongoing but we can stay at The Mere for a similar price. The only thing stopping us is sentiment. This won't stop us from staying again but I hope they hurry with the room refurbishments.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I'm glad you loved our new look restaurant and bar areas and although further refurbishments are due, we will attend to the issues you highlighted about your room immediately as it is always a top priority to present our facilities in the best possible condition. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I apologise for our oversight.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staff:- warm, welcoming efficient and polite, nothing too much trouble.
Bedroom:- clean, spacious and sky tv (very useful)
Spa:- faultless including outside hot tub.
Excellent food and good wine at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovegolfdrinkwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and our service.

Kind regards,
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the food/service and surroundings here are very nice we didn't stay over so can't comment on the rooms. The prices of drinks were ridiculous. We expected to pay a BIT more but £18 for a small white wine and a lager and £8 for a coke and a lager is ridiculous !

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarcySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I'm pleased that you found our food, service and surroundings very nice but sorry you felt our bar tariff to be overpriced. I cannot comment on the prices you state as I do not know exactly what the drinks were, but generally our bar prices are competitive with other similar properties.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Overall a wonderful stay in a really nice hotel.
Pros: The service here was fantastic - I emailed in advance with a query and had a very prompt reply, and a complimentary room upgrade! Bar staff were very friendly and reception were very polite and helpful. The room was fabulous, bed was slightly firmer than I would prefer but the pillows were great and everything was spotless. There was plenty of storage space and hanging space. The room was very well equipped (hairdryer, iron and proper ironing board, bathrobes etc), and I was most impressed that for tea and coffee there was actual complimentary milk in the minibar instead of the horrible UHT stuff. There was also a large sofa, and a desk, as well as brochures with Cheshire attractions. The bathroom was excellent and the shower was powerful and consistent temperature - spot on. The turkish aroma light sensory steam room in the spa was amazing, I could have stayed in there for hours! We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but we had a drink in the bar which was very pleasant. Breakfast in the morning was a particular highlight, nice restaurant and a great selection of food.
Cons: The main reason for booking this particular hotel was for a very relaxing weekend to chill out in the middle of a stressful month. The website gives the impression that the spa experience will be very serene, but we hadn't realised quite how family-friendly the facilities are. Absolutely brilliant if you're staying with kids, but rather than the quiet rejuvenating experience we were hoping for, we got a crowded pool full of screaming toddlers. In fairness, I think the pool was adult-only after 7pm and we had to go earlier than that because we had dinner plans, so it may just have been our timing. However, the jacuzzi and outdoor hot tub were full, as were all the relaxation beds, so if you are planning to visit the hotel specifically for the spa facilities it might be best to check with the spa reception to find out their quietest times, and go then.
The only other downside was that taxis to and from Knutsford seem quite pricey (£7-£10) for a 1.5 mile journey. We ended up walking back to the hotel after our meal out as at 11.30pm at night we tried 4 different taxi companies and none had any taxis available. I wouldn't recommend this as there is no street lighting once you get out onto Manchester Road, and the traffic is very fast. However, these are fairly minor niggles in what was overall an excellent experience! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to any of my family or friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 238 which was a lovely room, a long way from reception, but very close to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajane_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide this detailed review. Your positive feedback and constructive comments are indeed a pleasure to note and will be shared with the team.

We hope it’s not too long before we can welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
106 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,534 reviews
16.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Property: Cottons Hotel & Spa
Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing