We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longview Hotel(Knutsford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Cross Keys(Knutsford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveler rating
494
327
171
50
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
327
171
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outdoor hot tubgirls nightsauna and steam roomlovely hotelcoffee machinefresh milkhen partylovely touchleisure facilitiesafternoon teaevening mealsandwichesfrom start to finishmanchester airportwhole experiencemain coursean overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staff brilliant - hotel needs its refurb!

Food is really good and its worth eating there we also enjoyed the breakfast followed by 2 hours in the spa!

Upgrade your room as the standard singles really do have "single" beds!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments and it is a pleasure to read that you think so highly of our staff and food, including the famous Shire breakfast.

Cottons is undergoing a £275k refurb of the restaurant, ground floor lounges, Spa and Spa treatments and we hope to see you back once the refurbishments are finished.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Cottons Hotel & Spa before, and it was just as good this time as before, two years ago. The rooms are well furnished, comfortable and with excellent bathrooms. The staff go out of their way to help in any way, and the food in the restaurant is excellent. We didn't use the spa, but If you plan to stay near Manchester, for whatever reason, stay at the Cottons Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disgusted69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

I am delighted you continuously have a great experience at Cottons and, hopefully, on your next visit you will have more time to use the Spa facilities and maybe try the outdoor hot tub!

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was going through refurbishment, however the hotel staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable. We didnt use the Spa so cannot comment, but the room was well appointed and spotless with good quality toiletries,the shower was fantastic(why dont hotels have body mops for the showers?). We had drinks at the bar but the bar staff were quite slow in bringing the drinks this is my only criticism. At a glance the restaurant appeared expensive but the quality was superb and I would definitely recommend it, I would have expected a reasonable house wine on the wine list as the wine appeared pricey, however we had the red and white Rioja which was very good. Breakfast was also good, the staff were superb in providing service to a high standard. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveStAlbansHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Your many positive comments about our facilities, service and quality of food are much appreciated. Hope to see you back as the refurb will provide us with an exciting new restaurant and Spa facilities.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We got married here in march this year and had an amazing experience so we thought we'd stay over for a night out in Knutsford (even though we only live 15 minutes away!) We weren't disappointed, fab room with an amazing shower and service still as good. The hotel are currently renovating some areas which will make it very modern, just a lick of paint outside to brighten up the exterior is all that's needed. We'll definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Your positive feedback is indeed a pleasure to note and will be shared with the team. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Due to an unexpected trip to Liverpool passport office we ended up with two days to kill near Manchester airport so opted to make the most of it and booked in here. For me the spa and swimming pool were the best bits, the rest was pretty much average accommodation and average restaurant facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I'm pleased that during your brief visit to Cheshire you decided to stay with us and particularly enjoyed our Spa. With our new look restaurant opening in mid-September; we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews