We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The look and ambiance of the entrance, bar and restaurant area cannot be faulted but it was a pity that our room didnt match this standard. The room was clean and quite large but in dire need of refurbishment especially in the bathroom - the light over the bath was coming away from the ceiling, the shower curtain rail was rusty and it all looked a little worn. We had booked a double room but seemed to have been allocated a twin room where the 2 single beds had been put together - obviously resulted in a huge bed, but one with a ridge down the middle and bedding which didnt quite reach where it needed to. Away from the bed and bathroom, there was a handle missing off a cupboard and we had to request more milk to enable us to have more than 1 hot drink each. That said, there was an iron and ironing board which came in very useful and the staff were wonderful. We didnt use the spa and due to that I would say that the room itself was overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

I apologise for the maintenance issues with your bedroom this will be addressed immediately and I am sorry this detracted from all the other positive aspect you highlighted. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mark c. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Probably this hotel is great if you have the time to use the spa. But without, it it does not really make sense to pay this kind of price. The rooms are fairly large, equipped with everything one needs. But the hotel is - as the receptionist said - in the middle of nowhere, so if you don't have a car, you are stuck or you have to take a taxi - no way you can walk to the first village for a dinner or so. The breakfast is just excellent and the waiters quite relaxed, they may forget what you asked them to bring, but you don't really care because the atmosphere is very relaxed. So for pleasure it makes sense to come here, but for business you might want to chose a more vivid location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

I acknowledge your feedback, particularly about our out of town location, but this does have its advantages to business people experiencing less congestion on route to us with also ample and generally secure parking. The town of Knutsford also has lots to offer and is either a 2-minute taxi ride or it is possible to walk the journey in 25 minutes.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went for a spa weekend at Cottons for my birthday. The service was of a very high standard from start to finish, especially in the bar and restaurant, where nothing was too much trouble - especially for our waitress, Lill, who looked after us all weekend. The room could have done with a bit of modernising, but it was very comfortable and had everything we needed (including delicious biscuits!). The spa was great, with food served poolside, and the outdoor hot tub was a special treat. The food in the restaurant was amazing, I couldn't criticise a thing, at breakfast or dinner. We had a massage and a pedicure, both of which were great, and the spa is one of the lovliest I have visited. Highly recommended. Also, Knutsford is a lovely little town to visit if you get the chance, especially the Olde Sweet Shoppe, and the Knutsford Wine Bar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Fabulous comments, thank you so much. Let’s hope we can help you celebrate another occasion in the not too distant future and we look forwarding to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were booked into the Cottons as part of the F1 experience. I tagged along because of what the hotel offered. All public places are pristine. The bedroom was a huge let down. We felt as though we were put at the back of beyond. The room stank of vomit, the fan in the bathroom didnt work, the rubbish bin in the bathroom was rusty with holes in, the wardrobe door didnt shut and when looked inside the hinge was hanging off, only two sachets of sugar, dirty cups and no decaff tea. The bed had a mattress protector on which made us feel as though we were in a big cot. The bed was only a standard double with worn springs which made it very uncomfortable. When we went to reception to explain everything they replied with a smile "Oh Im sorry about that, thank you for your feedback"!?! As said in previous comments the swimming pool had swimming lessons going on which made us feel uncomfortable so we didnt do in.
We ate in the bar as the restaurant didnt open until 8pm. The menu was the same so that was fine. It took us two hours for us to be served and finished, possible a little long in our opinion. We didnt have the same waitress but three different ones who all asked the same questions. We were on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate so were given a £35 per head allowance. When we finished the bill arrived and they tried to get us to pay the full amount of £78 and then it would be taken off our hotel bill!?! We werent having any of that and only paid for the drinks we had.
No one told us either that the hotel is under a flight path for Manchester Airport so not alot of sleep.
Breakfast was in the main restaurant and was pretty standard continental and full english. £14.95 per head is a bit on the steep side for "average"
All in all a huge let down and I must say that Ive stayed in better and eaten better at a Premier Inn, especially when they guarantee a good nights sleep or your money back!
I always try and give an accurate account of any where we stay and will answer any of your questions honestly.
P.S The F1 experience was excellent and that part of the package was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

I am obviously very disappointed to read your comments, especially as yours are the first negative comments we have had all year from the F1 experience. We have no excuse for a lack of attention to detail and maintenance issues in your bedroom and all aspects will be attended to straight away.

With regard to your dinner bill, we do ask guests to sign the full bill even if on an inclusive dinner rate and I am sorry if there was some confusion over this. Again, I have to say your comments are rare with regard to aircraft noise as night flights are restricted and, with our double glazing and air-conditioning, it usually ensures a comfortable night’s sleep.

Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls you have highlighted and we would welcome a future opportunity for you to return and allow us to demonstrate our true qualities.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked the Autumn break and it didn't disappoint! After booking I had a few concerns so emailed them and within minutes the manager had phoned me back to alleviate my worries. The room, food, spa were all brilliant. The staff are all very professional and friendly. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Just ring or email and to state what you want and they may be able to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Delighted you enjoyed your ‘autumn break’ with us and that your room, food and the spa were all “brilliant”. I will take great pleasure in sharing your feedback with my team.

We look forward to your next visit - maybe we can help you celebrate Christmas in Knutsford?

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A classic "Mid-week business expense account stop over, Conference and weddings venue with predictable extra £5-7 on each course at dinner: Not what we were after but it was getting rather late on our return from Cheltenham. All the small places in the town we went into were full.

We struck a DB&B deal of £160 including ‘£70 to spend in the restaurant’. In the morning, having eaten late and so modestly and having spent nowhere near £70, I was annoyed to have the bar bill submitted separately. It took 10 mins to climb the management chain but credit to the duty manager, Matt; he quickly agreed that charging the drinks separately when we'd eaten modestly against an allowance we had not spent was inappropriate. Also credit to him that he'd read the overnight manages report on our meal which was actually pretty poor.

A rocket and Parmesan salad with no rocket, sad frisse, packet grated parmesan, fat chips that arrive as thin fries and a lamb’s lettuce garnish that was a day or two past its best, are all failings at any price. Coupled with Linguini and lobster that was very short on lobster and the steak tiny - both of which may just be kitchen portion control you can see the "they are on expense accounts so won't care" mentality. The restaurant replaced the chips and "took the salad off the bill"; meaningless on a DB&B rate.

The service from the restaurant manager was markedly better than the general air. She found us a table despite arriving late - she was lovely and an asset to the place. In fact, she (and Matt) saved the visit from feeling like a complete disaster. Breakfast was mediocre and she was once again charming (Excellen to be chirpy and smiling when pulling that typical hotel shift - late to cover Dinner, early to do Breakfast).

Sleep was poor because the bedroom was very light. The 'hi-fi' display was very bright but worse was a permanently on nightlight to illuminate the step from bed-area to 'executive-desk-space'. Also one fluffy dressing down for a double room wasn't great - Lea and I shared it.

Summary: Ok, like 10,000 other places if you’re on expenses.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Glad to hear my team members that you came into contact with were responsive and a credit to the hotel.
I was, however, disappointed we did not make enough impression on you to stand out from other business hotels you frequent. Our restaurant offering regularly gains positive reviews and I am sorry that on your occasion we fell short of this.

I will also review the issues you have highlighted in your room.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for an evening whilst on business. We were a large group and the hotel staff were great, the room great, food excellent, nice setting etc. Would stay again, no problem. We had a set menu for dinner but the food quality was very good. We will certainly use the hotel for another conference.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Needajobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I was delighted to read that both yourself and your colleagues felt our facilities and service to be of such a high standard and I will pass on your kind comments to my team.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: $130 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing