We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like 10,000 other places on expenses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Like 10,000 other places on expenses”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A classic "Mid-week business expense account stop over, Conference and weddings venue with predictable extra £5-7 on each course at dinner: Not what we were after but it was getting rather late on our return from Cheltenham. All the small places in the town we went into were full.

We struck a DB&B deal of £160 including ‘£70 to spend in the restaurant’. In the morning, having eaten late and so modestly and having spent nowhere near £70, I was annoyed to have the bar bill submitted separately. It took 10 mins to climb the management chain but credit to the duty manager, Matt; he quickly agreed that charging the drinks separately when we'd eaten modestly against an allowance we had not spent was inappropriate. Also credit to him that he'd read the overnight manages report on our meal which was actually pretty poor.

A rocket and Parmesan salad with no rocket, sad frisse, packet grated parmesan, fat chips that arrive as thin fries and a lamb’s lettuce garnish that was a day or two past its best, are all failings at any price. Coupled with Linguini and lobster that was very short on lobster and the steak tiny - both of which may just be kitchen portion control you can see the "they are on expense accounts so won't care" mentality. The restaurant replaced the chips and "took the salad off the bill"; meaningless on a DB&B rate.

The service from the restaurant manager was markedly better than the general air. She found us a table despite arriving late - she was lovely and an asset to the place. In fact, she (and Matt) saved the visit from feeling like a complete disaster. Breakfast was mediocre and she was once again charming (Excellen to be chirpy and smiling when pulling that typical hotel shift - late to cover Dinner, early to do Breakfast).

Sleep was poor because the bedroom was very light. The 'hi-fi' display was very bright but worse was a permanently on nightlight to illuminate the step from bed-area to 'executive-desk-space'. Also one fluffy dressing down for a double room wasn't great - Lea and I shared it.

Summary: Ok, like 10,000 other places if you’re on expenses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Glad to hear my team members that you came into contact with were responsive and a credit to the hotel.
I was, however, disappointed we did not make enough impression on you to stand out from other business hotels you frequent. Our restaurant offering regularly gains positive reviews and I am sorry that on your occasion we fell short of this.

I will also review the issues you have highlighted in your room.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    291
    146
    46
    32
See reviews for
169
304
27
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK - Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for an evening whilst on business. We were a large group and the hotel staff were great, the room great, food excellent, nice setting etc. Would stay again, no problem. We had a set menu for dinner but the food quality was very good. We will certainly use the hotel for another conference.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Needajobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I was delighted to read that both yourself and your colleagues felt our facilities and service to be of such a high standard and I will pass on your kind comments to my team.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent one night here as part of an F1 experience which sadly didn't work out due weather, but this didn't spoil our Cottons experience.
The spa facilities and pool excellent and I made full use of them, including sitting outside in the hot tub in the rain -which was cool, or hot, as the case may be!!
The pre-dinner cocktail was good, but the choice limited.
The staff are lovely and nothing appeared to be any trouble, although some could be seen to be over familiar -maybe 'Shoot' when ready to take our dinner order was not appropriate!!
My wife's scrambled egg at breakfast was dire!!
1 small bottle of water in the room fridge seemed rather mean
However, the T-bone steak was AWESOME!!!
I noted other comments about aircraft noise and we were certainly aware of it, but not to the detriment of our stay, but then living 5 miles from London Heathrow I guess we are used to it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLYINGBLUEDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for posting a review further to your recent stay. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your experience, with special mention of our excellent Spa, our ‘awesome’ steak and our lovely staff. For the few elements of your visit which did not quite meet your expectations I will review with those concerned. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was my second stay at Cottons. Met up with a group of friends for a reunion. From start to finish we couldn't have experienced a better time. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was fab and facilities lovely. Such a treat to be able to use what the spa offered too. The rooms were spacious and spotless. A fantastic location just off junction 19 of the M6, handy for Manchester airport and places like Tatton Park, Knutsford, Chester, etc. Our every need was dealt with courteously and efficiently. The hotel minicar plus driver was even on hand to take us to and from our Sunday lunch-time nearby pub. Nothing was too much trouble. Can't wait to go again! Thank you so much for such a brilliant few days.

Room Tip: They all seemed great! Have stayed there twice and each time there were no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelatalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay and as a regular customer I trust you have signed up to our Affinity loyalty programme!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent service, very helpful staff. A great place to stay close to old trafford. Restaurant staff lovely, even when we arrived late for our table. Food fab as well. This is the second time we have stayed and no doubt will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your really positive comments. It is rewarding to share them with my team and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked two suite experience rooms for a weekend spa break, rooms quite old fashioned but very clean. Very disappointed to find that the fruit and fully stocked fridge were not there upon arrival as this was part of the advertised package. Contacted reception one of the rooms then received the drinks included in the price paid for the room. Following 3 more calls to reception to ask for them in the second suite (kept being told was on way) we gave up and had to pay for drinks in the bar. Nice hotel but not worth the money for a suite at all quite disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gld242000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
May I sincerely apologise that the correct room contents for our ‘Suite Experience’ promotion were not present in your room on check in. I’d like to assure that this slip in standards is rare and the issue has been addressed with those concerned.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We broke our long drive from the south east of England with a break at Cottons near Knutsford, you know you are in an affluent area when you pass the Mclaren dealership at the end of the road.
This is targetted at the businessman but don't let that put you off. The staff are well trained, the facilities are many and the food is good. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. We had a late lunch mid afternoon and a couple of drinks late in the evening after dining out with friends. It is ideal as a centre for doing some serious shopping in the many nearby towns or even Chester or Manchester, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I was delighted that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind regards
Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
106 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,532 reviews
16.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Property: Cottons Hotel & Spa
Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing