We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
28
49
37
35
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
49
37
35
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedding and towelsgreat pubbreakfast was excellentbusiness staystayed one nightbit datednight's sleepfull englishmanchester airporttatton
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 188 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018

Having read some of the other reviews I think generally people are of the same opinion.
The standard of cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Worn out carpets, chipped dirty paint work and windows. The bed was made of a rough wooden frame with a mattress plonked on top. Bathroom cracked tiles on floor, shower didn't work so filled bath only to find the hot tap would not turn off - could be a potential disaster. Filthy extractor fan. This was room 8 up a rabbit warren of stairs and fire doors. Thank goodness it was only 1 night. No remote for TV switch on/off manually. On the positive side the breakfast was good - although side-plates might have been useful. JH.

Room Tip: Would not wish to comment
Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jennyQ4951OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Shortly after arriving at the pub on Saturday, we asked to see the menu, only to greeted by,'On the tables.' with out so much as a glance. How very rude,'Cross Keys.' huge mistake. It seems you THINK you are better than you actually are.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Batester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight whilst attending a wedding,quite a two half review firstly the bar half I would score much higher,really delicious food and a nice atmosphere and great location
Next the accomodation,this is were things go downhill,stayed in the annex at the back and although spotlessly clean and crisp white bedding, fixtures and fittings are very tired and dated and in desperate need of renovation as stated in previous reviews

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SharonR2953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, General Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you leaving a review, The company are looking into updating the rooms this year

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Nice casual lunch with family. Popped in without a reservation, which wasn’t an issue. Good selection of food & the service was pleasant & speedy.

Great location, good food & service.

I would happily recommend.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank K797979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, General Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi
Thank you for review, all staff work hard to deliver a great experience for all guests

Regards

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

After looking at the pictures online I didn't have high expectations but somehow these managed to be lowered.
In need of modernisation is an understatement, it's a mess. The bed as you can see is well overdue replacement and contributed to the most uncomfortable night sleep (I use the term loosely) I have ever had. The floor boards in the room above are so creaky that ear plugs are highly advisable. The view out of the window is breathtaking, but not in a good way.
I raised my concerns with the manager who informed me to contact head office as he is only the manager? And can't deal with complaints. I have sent several messages requesting these details but still no reply.
Very disappointing stay!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, General Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you your review
I agree the rooms are in need of modernisation and the company are looking into this. As the manager I can deal with complaints but I asked you to contact head office so they can refund you your money.
Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews