We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cross Keys
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I hate saying this, but this Hotel should be delightful, however it is damp, dirty, unfriendly and frankly not worth visiting. What a shame for a fantastic historic building in a fine Cheshire Town.

Ironically the locals love it, as the bar and restaurant were busy?

I won't return, again, sorry

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grahamp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    31
    26
    20
See reviews for
16
57
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I don't normally write trip advisor reviews but felf compelled to warn people about my dreadful experience here. I stayed for one night whilst on business in the area and,will not be staying again!
Tired room with a musty smell, with damp issues. The staff were not helpful at all; scruffy and not at all professional like most other hotels I have stayed at in the Town. I wish I had read the reviews on TA before booking, and would have understood what I would be in for - just read comments from oliver1066 who manages the place and, the attitude says it all!

Room Tip: Park in the car park and stay in your car for a better experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knutsford hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Rooms were quite big and cold. No heating controls in the room. Bathroom was terrible, the tiles looked like they had been put on by a blindfolded child. The bath panel was cracked. Horrid! Reception was always closed. There was no lighting outside where our room was at night. The bed was small, it was expensive for the poor quality accommodation we got.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We booked the hotel as it is close to Tatton Park and we were attending an event there, on the web it looks great and the location certainly can't be faulted. However when we arrived, through the pothole filled drive to the car park, we found that breakfast is only served for 1 hour on a Sunday, meaning we would miss it and dinner is not served, they only do breakfast and lunch... When we made it to the room there was more disappointment, the room had been updated in part but certainly neded attention, the toilet seat was broken, the TV remote batteries were dead and had leaked in the remote, the carpet needed a serious deep clean, all in all not what we expected at all.
The bar staff were very friendly as was the lady who checked us in, however in the morning the man that checked us out was not even interested in our feedback.

I cannot recommend this hotel when there are So many others in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location was great - opposite Knutsford Wine Bar. Apart from that everything about the place looked tired and grubby. Not at all comfortable and the room in the annex was tiny. Totally overpriced. Breakfast service very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunty282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

stayed her while attending a Wedding, first the good points- location is great in the middle of town, parking is free, the staff are friendly. unfortunately we found the room a let down, although the facilities were ok, TV, hairdryer, trouser press etc the room looked tired and shabby the décor, furniture & carpets had all seen better days, same for the bathroom. The bed was hard and not very comfortable, first impressions of the room is that it was clean but the lower surfaces of the room skirting board, table legs etc were not clean at all. The breakfast was ok not the best but not the worst we've had. We paid £86 for B&B which considering the poor quality of the accommodation I don't think is value for money

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyRGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not somewhere we'll be returning too. Our room was up in the attic, so there was a bit of a trek through many shabby corridoors and staircases. The room itself was very dull, dark and felt damp. The furniture was very dated and had a very "charity shop" feel about it. The bed was a standard double which was quite uncomfortable to sleep on, and offered little warmth during the cold night.
The bar area in the evening was populated by the cast of shameless, and the barman asked us to leave as we had our little girl with us. This despite children (some younger) of the regulars sat on their parents knees or around other tables in the same area.
Didn't bother with breakfast as there was a £15 charge. However after returning home, the hotels website says that this should have been included in the price.
We paid £85 for a tripple room, whereas I feel it was worth half that. As long as you really need somewhere to stay in Kutsford short notice that is. Next time, I'll either take my tent or sleep in the car.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethRST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Belle Epoque
Belle Epoque
#7 of 14 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Property: The Cross Keys
Address: 52 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is an 18th century traditional inn, in the pretty market town of Knutsford in Cheshire. We offer a variety of rooms, free Wi-Fi and a friendly atmosphere. Make the Cross Keys the Pub and Hotel of your choice in Knutsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing