We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spoiled by lumpy mattress”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cross Keys
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice spoiled by lumpy mattress”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had one of the courtyard rooms, very clean and lovely and warm on a very cold night. Breakfast good and staff lovely, spoiled by the uncomfortable bed - continually rolled into the middle - sort this out and you would get a much better review.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voldermort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    33
    28
    26
See reviews for
20
63
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very much enjoyed this hotel. We were situated in one of the outside rooms which I have to say was massive in size, having a settee, table and chairs plus room to dance if you wanted to! The bathroom would benefit from an update as it was very late 80's, but was clean and everything worked. The shower was a little timid but was at least hot. Situated right on the High St the pub/hotel is fantastically situated and I would definitely stay there again. The broken lights in previous reviews had obviously been fixed for our stay!

Room Tip: Outside rooms are definitely better as it is like having your own little cottage, although I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night. I didnt arrive until gone 7pm and had to go through the pub to check in which was fine. The young man was friendly and even offered to pop my bill under the door later on (I was leavinge arly next morning) so that i didn;t have to wait for it to be printed. My room (number 1) was in the external annex and was large and comfortable. yes it was slightly old fasioned but not run down and the bed was excellent. Nice to have good biscuits with the tea and coffee. I found the shower a bit lacklustre but that is because I am used to more powerful ones in the hotels I generally stay in - this was more like a bog standard one you might have at home. Plenty of toiletries available. The only reason really I have marked this place from a 4 to a 3 is the lighting in the room. There seemed to be a white and a cream bulb in each pair of lights (nless the shades were different colours) and neither of my bedside lamps worked - as I like to read at night before settling down it meant I had to have all 3 or 4 sets of wall lights on and then get out of bed to turn them all off before feeling my way back to bed, possibly me being lazy.

Overall I would stay here again as for a 1 night business stay it is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romanycatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. I can only say that the service and hospitaliity was second to none. The family that own this pub cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was of a good standard. Evening meals are only served later in the week, which is a bit of a shame, but the night I ate the food was tasty and the portions huge! Some areas are a little dated, but the place is very clean. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area. The town it self is charming with many restaurants and small independent shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fogertyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay your comments are very much appriciated.We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here last night. The room was a nice size, but in desperate need of updating. The furniture is very dark and the sofa was definitely from the 70s!!!!

The room was generally clean, but could have done with more attention to being dusted.... The dust fell off the curtain rail when the curtains were drawn.

I loved the idea of the "chalet" style, with our room being out the back of the actual main building close to the car park. We stayed in room 1.

The only member of staff we encountered was the lady that checked us in and she was very friendly and welcoming...........

Everything considered, I would say The Cross Keys is rather pricey for what it is. Probably wouldn't book here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsjhu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver1066, General Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the cross keys. We welcome constructive
criticism and try to act on it accordingly. The docor and furnishihgs are in keeping with the style of the building and the leather sofa is definately not from the 70s !! Sorry you felt that your stay was expensive but we are competitively priced for the location and had you partaken in the breakfast which was in your case included in the price you would have had better value money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Cross Keys hotel is in the middle of city and surrounded by good pubs and eating outlates. It also has its own bar where you can enjoy your drinks till 11 PM. Rooms were clean and quality service. I liked it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyIndiaHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your review glad you had a nice stay at The Crosskeys !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would say the only positive is that it was fairly cheap and the receptionist was nice. It is above a pub and I felt all the banisters and table and chairs throughout the hotel had that sticky pub feeling.

The most aggravating bit for our group was that the beds had no duvets just a sheet and then a heavy musty smelly quilt on top that had probably never been washed. Doesnt make for an enjoyable nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I am sorry your boyfriends mother did not "sleep a wink" whilst staying at The Crosskeys but it would most certainly not have been the result of musty bedding. All the beds have duvets, duvet covers and sheets on them which are all freshly laundered. If the tables appeared to be sticky it would have been that they had mistakenly been sprayed with a cleaning agent containing bleach which results in wooden surfaces becoming sticky. It is unfortunate that you felt unable to mention your concerns to the "Nice" receptionist !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knutsford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
2.4 mi away
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Property: The Cross Keys
Address: 52 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is an 18th century traditional inn, in the pretty market town of Knutsford in Cheshire. We offer a variety of rooms, free Wi-Fi and a friendly atmosphere. Make the Cross Keys the Pub and Hotel of your choice in Knutsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing