We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good rural base with friendly staff and everything you need for an overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
Ranked #6 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We just stayed here for one night and it was the right choice. The rural location was good for us. Our room was a twin facing the main road which wasn't a problem as it was a Saturday night and there was little traffic. The accommodation was through a separate door to the main reception and resturant area. Interconnecting walls are thin and it is possible to hear other guests as they enter and leave the building. There are notices on the doors to ask for consideratation towards others guests and on the whole this wasn't a problem. Just a couple of little negative points to note, there was a coffee mark on the side of the bedside cabinet, the bathroom needs some hooks for towels/clothes and the taps aren't labelled hot and cold. All things may not matter to some. On the positive side, the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very relaxed and enjoyable with proper coffee and there was luxury toilet paper! A good little spot although maybe a little pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Went to Manchester with my dad for his life long dream to visit Old Trafford and watch a match - thought oh just book hotel when we get up there......oooops.......area full of activites and August bank holiday. Gave hubby at home job of finding us somewhere (not a task he does well, normally!) But this time he came up trumps.....where do I start first make sure you meet Martin not sure his job title but he was so nice the service he offered was outstanding I thought he owned the place....wow if I owned a hotel I would love this guy working for me. The food was out of this world......I did not want dessert because the flavours of the veg curry was so amazing I wanted to savor it, OMG my mouth is watering thinking of it, one of the best places I have ever eaten and prices really good, this was better food than I have had in some mich star places. Place was clean not state of the art or anything outstanding in the rooms, but comfortable and did what it needed to do provide a good nights rest, I would say avarage to above. But the food, service was 5*, my dad is really hard to please and can be rather fussy but he said anytime he goes to Manchester he will be back at The Cottage and recommend it to all his friends and business associates. Visit, stay and make sure you eat and meet Martin!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koalag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed at the Cottage Hotel near Knutsford for one night with my husband recently, as they were offering a special room rate of £50 B&B. We were expecting our bedroom (and ensuite bathroom) to be very modern and luxurious, based on their website description and pictures. However, on arrival we were surprised to find fairly worn/dated furniture in the bedroom and an old looking shower (with mould on the curtain) in the bathroom. I was also disappointed that our room was on the ground floor and directly adjacent to the main entrance door as I was sure we would be disturbed if guests returned to the hotel late at night. Sure enough, the door banged very loudly several times at around 1.30am when a group of people returned from a night out (the situation wasn't helped when they then started having a lengthy conversation outside our bedroom door). Needless to say, we struggled to get back to sleep and did not feel very refreshed the next morning!

On the positive side - breakfast was good. There was a choice of fresh fruit juice and cereals, followed by toast and a full English, which was hot and cooked to order (much better than 'buffet style' I think). We also found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful, they gave us some useful information about the local area and suggested interesting places we could visit.

Overall, The Cottage was ok for an overnight visit but I wouldn't choose to stay there for longer. I don't feel their usual room rate of £75/£95 (depending on whether it's a week day or a weekend) is value for money - the £50 that we paid was probably about right to be honest. This hotel should be rated as 3 star, not 4.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

very good B&B, room spacious & top quality, breakfast superb, some traffic noise from adjacent main road

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I visited the Cottage Restaurant on Saturday night with my family and I can't fault the service, the restaurant is in a great position with plenty of parking. I put the fact that there weren't many people in to the credit crisis, as the restaurant is very nice and service good, but unfortunately the food really is not worth the money so maybe that is why only a few people were in on Easter Saturday. I don't think I'm being unreasonable when I think that nearly £8 for cheese & biscuits is a bit much when all it was was 6 crackers with a small piece of cheddar and a piece of wenslydale!
All in all the service was good but the food could do with improving for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneFarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

A friend of ours recently got married at Cottons in Knutsford, but by the time we got around to booking the hotel it was full so looked for a nearby alternative. The hotel wasn’t far out of Knutsford and it is very close to Junction 17 of the M6 so is close to places like Tatton park too.

The Cottage Is both a restaurant and a hotel though we didn’t actually eat there. The room was lovely. Clean, airy and modern, everything I normally look for in a hotel, the room was large too. To be honest, we normally tend to stick with big chains so were very pleasantly surprised by the Cottage, it is literally just outside of Knutsford too, so it proved to be a good location for us to have chosen. The service was good and for the price we paid we were very pleased with our room. Probably the only thing we did miss was sky on the tv, but that was a small price to pay for the overall good value of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank misspink1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carlos-moia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
7.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
4.7 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel Knutsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel Knutsford

Address: London Road | Allostock, Knutsford WA16 9LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: $115 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel Knutsford 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Hotel & Restaurant Knutsford is a charming family run hotel located amidst the beautiful Cheshire countryside in one of the counties most prestigious locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cottage Hotel Knutsford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing