We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
Nearby Hotels
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
$81
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longview Hotel(Knutsford)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hinton Guest House(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Epoque(Knutsford)
$109
$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Knutsford M6(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
66
28
13
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
28
13
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnearby venueironing boardfull english breakfastmain receptionvaried menularge bedroomstayed for one nightwedding guestsan overnight stayyogurttea coffeecooked breakfastrooms are lovelyshort drivefamily roomtwo nightsattending a wedding
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 114 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We held a party at The Cottage at the end of March 2012 for my parents 60th Wedding Anniversary.
The negative reviews on here prompted us to go for lunch prior to the party just to try it for ourselves. I honestly cannot understand the bad comments and what people really expect at the incredibly low price they charge midweek (£10.00 for 2 courses / 2 people... it's cheaper than McDonalds for goodness sake! I am amazed it isn't crammed with locals because I can't cook at home that cheaply)
That said I am not even making exceptions based on price as we had excellent hot food, well presented and served by very friendly and attentive staff in a very warm and cosy traditionally decorated room where everything looked very fresh and bright.

Now full of confidence, we confirmed the party for around 50 people, made some specific arrangements and ordered some special touches.
On the day of the party we arrived and everything was beautifully set up exactly as we had requested. We had drinks beforehand in the cosy bar area and were called through when the starters were ready to be served. We were all served within minutes (which is not easy with a large number of people eating at the same time), each course was superb, well served, hot and nicely presented... we had a wonderful memorable afternoon and wondered how we could have improved on it. It was perfect!

The room is a very nice size for 50 people for this type of event and tremendous value for money (higher than the special offer price quoted above of course but still very reasonable).

I have not stayed in the hotel so cannot comment on the accommodation but I do think it is very sad that the restaurant is generally so quiet as it is very easy to park and I doubt that anywhere for miles could offer the same value for what they serve.

It is a shame to see that the current owners are selling the hotel as I think they really care about what they do and with a few more positive comments on here could make a nice living out of the business... I wish you a happy retirement and hope that you quickly find a buyer.

Thanks for looking after us all so well last month and hopefully we will see you again for lunch before you leave.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for your welcome comments. Makes a pleasant change to get a pat on the back. Feel a bit like politicians at the moment - how does the saying go? 'You can please some of the people '---etc. We appreciate your good wishes for our retirement and,as and when it happens, are looking forward to being able to please ourselves.

In the meantime we shall continue to provide our usual friendly service.

One thing we do have to point out is that our offering is "2 Courses for £10.00 per person" Lunch & Dinner Monday-Saturday and Sunday Lunch - the restaurant is closed on a Sunday evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Overnight stay Saturday night. Welcoming and helpful staff. Plenty of off street parking. Very good sized rooms with ensuite. Clean, comfortable plenty of towels shampoo etc. Digital TV. We stayed for an evening meal which was tasty and good value. Plenty of choice for breakfast.
Although the rooms and TV were a little tired it was great value for money and sited well for the M6 and local attractions such as Tatton Park.
Would definitely stay again
Hope the new owners do well..

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are away from the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments - we do our best. We are aware that the accommodation is 'tired'. An upgrade is planned as and when the financial climate allows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

we stopped for 1 night and found the staff very helpful.the rooms did need updating but they were clean, comfortable and very spacious.we were going in town for our eveing meal beacuse of the reviews on this site,but when we arrived they had a special offer (£10 for a 2 course meal) so decided to stay and very glad we did the food was excellent, good portions and very nice.So all i can say is dont be put off by the bad reviews try it for yoursleves. you will be pleastly suprised.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments - an upgrade is planned when the financial climate changes. In the meantime we are doing our best to keep everything as clean and comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for an overnight stay to attend a family funeral. We booked on line because it looked nice on the website and was advertised as 4* however, we were concerned when we saw the for sale sign as we drove into the car park. We went to the reception to book in and were then directed to our rooms which meant we had to go back outside and walk to the back of the property, not much fun when cold,dark and raining.Because there is no signage as to where each room is situated it took a couple of attempts to find the right annex. Both rooms, when we finally found them, were very dated, dusty and in dire need of decorating and refurbishment. Our room which was on the ground floor had no toilet paper, only one set of towels and 2 pillows. To be fair when we informed the staff at reception the items were immediately replaced but this was done by taking it from the room opposite.
The second room we booked was above the first and the sound proofing was so poor that we could hear when the toilet was being used. The shower in this room was impossible to use because the water came out of every where but the shower head. Again the supply of toilet paper was very limited.
All the beds were uncomfortable and cold due to the poor quality of the bedding. We could actually see the top of our mattress because the sheet was too small. This did not lead to a good nights sleep and we were grateful when morning arrived.
Breakfast was a full English served with no choice from a menu but it was reasonably cooked.
We will certainly not stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it. If we had not paid on line and arrived late in the evening we would have left and found somewhere else to stay. At least we will have something to talk about in years to come when we can say ' do you remember when we stopped in that terible hotel!!'

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Please accept our sincere apologies for not providing our usual standard of service. All your comments have been noted and steps taken to remedy the anomalies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We telephoned to book for sunday lunch as the advert for this place praised it. Told that they no longer cook a traditional lunch but we could select from the menu? When we arrived we were the only 3 people there. Soon found out why. The selection on the menu was very meagre, and the only place I have ever frequented where there are no prices for what you intend to order. My son had sausage and mash, as he is now in his mid twenties it was not a childs portion we needed, that's what came? My husband had the house salad with salmon and I had house salad with ham. Anyone could work as chef here as anyone can wash a lettuce and place either meats on top. Should have looked on Trip advisor before this visit.visitor beware.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WrexhamSteve1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

We do 'Sunday Lunch' - you were misinformed. This has been investigated and dealt with. We offer '2 Courses' for £10 and do not see the need to price, what you term a 'very meagre' menu.(12 Starters-10 Mains-4 Salads - 6 Desserts, plus 'Specials' @ a supplement). A request for extra vegetables/potatoes could have been made if you thought your sons' meal wasn't adequate. Preparing salad entails more than you perceive - legislation, legislation, legislation! The property is for sale due to retirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews