We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pickmere Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with my elderly parents. The garden room suited them perfectly - ground floor, huge bed and walk in shower room. Our upstairs double room was beautifully decorated and well appointed, and had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in away from home! The breakfasts were really good - some of the freshest, tastiest eggs poached to perfection, copious amounts of tea and toast, and a reasonable selection of cereals. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or friendly - and it was nice to see how well behaved their dog was too. Would definitely stay here again if we come back to the area, especially with the Red Lion pub such a short distance away with its excellent food and beer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GremAndTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Pickmere Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 173 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed several times at The Pickmere...in fact I have slept in seven of the eleven rooms! I can vouch that those seven beds are far more comfortable than many top notch hotels provide.

The rooms are variously furnished : some simply, with lovely pieces of antique furniture, some with a modern twist reflecting the owner's flair for comfortable interior design. The public rooms are lovely,totally in keeping with the age of the property and so often one hears guests' conversations at breakfast imagining how they would like to live in such a lovely house.
The breakfasts are more than generous, and the service is friendly yet professional,though if you stay often you can begin to feel like a family friend returning for a visit.

Lovely place, good location, evening food down the road or a few minutes away in Knutsford,peaceful walks round the nearby Mere.....it is what it is:a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyldegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hospitality is good. And the breakfast is very adequate. But it is not a five star accommodation. The location is well situated in the countryside. But disappointingly all of the double glazed windows had a problem in that moisture has got into the vacuum. So it looks foggy trying to see outside. The rooms are clean and adequate but lack finesse. However, for those seeking a homely accommodation and if they have dogs and enjoy rural life, this would probably suite very well. (Lovely paintings in the dining room.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkandDiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Can thoroughly recommend this guest house. Although conveniently close to the M6/M56 the village has lovely rural surroundings including the nearby mere worth a walk at dusk. First class locally-sourced products well-cooked for breakfast. The building is elegant and has been furnished tastefully and with all the facilities you could need. Good pub with real ales just down the road too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LnR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Were on our motorcycle on way to Heysham to visit the Isle of Man for the Manx Gp and Classic TT and needed a stop over.
We struck lucky as we had booked the annex room in garden with a lovely outlook and we could sit out on patio and relax.
Were made to feel very welcome by owner and her husband who went out of the way to accommodate us especially with parking our motorcycle.
Went for a walk around Pickmere lake after a long day riding and had an adequate evening meal at The Red Lion 200 yds away. Would have preferred eating at The Elms which was a pub 50 yds away in the other direction but they were not serving food on that Tuesday evening but called in for a drink anyway.
Breakfast was also a pleasure as it was all freshly cooked and local ingredients used.
All in all a very good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincent201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Comfortable and welcoming guest house.great location just a couple of minutes walk from a nice little pub "Red Lion" good food on offer there.Friendly landlady and good full English the next day too.Well worth the stopover

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamm127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this very clean, smart guest house in August while attending a wedding at Arley Hall which is close by.
The rooms are beautifully decorated. The bed linen is of high quality, as are the bath towels which are huge. Complimentary items in the bathroom were lovely.
The breakfast was very nicely cooked, all the usual which makes up an English breakfast. The ingredients weree all high quality with provenance.
Plenty of room in the car park.
Owners helpful.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
3.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
998 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickmere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickmere Country House

Address: Pickmere House Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: $84 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickmere Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pickmere Country House is a Georgian grade ll listed former farmhouse dating back to 1772. Commanding picturesque views over the surrounding countryside the house is situated in the centre of the village of Pickmere. The house is fully licenced and serves evening meals Monday-Thursday 6-7:30pm. Lunches, Afternoon Teas and Weekend Dinners by prior appointment. There is a local pub within easy walking distance and there are also some great gastro pubs and restaurants within an 8 minute drive. Situated in the heart of Cheshire it is ideally placed for both the business traveller and leisure guests who wish to explore all that Cheshire has to offer. We are 4 minutes from M6 junction 19 and 10 minutes from M56 junction 10. Just 8 minutes drive from Knutsford and Northwich, 20 minutes to Warrington and Manchester Airport, 35 minutes to Liverpool John Lennon Airport, Manchester and Chester city centres and 40 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, homely atmosphere and a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pickmere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing