We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably Run”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pickmere Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortably Run”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Pickmere so that we wouldn't have to return home late at night after seeing The Australian Pink Floyd Show at Jodrell Bank (hence the punning review title). We were made to feel welcome on arrival, although for us it was just a case of 'dump the bags and go out'. We returned after midnight where we both had an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast, made with locally-sourced ingredients was excellent. Would highly recommend, and if there's a decent act on at Jodrell next summer then we will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    36
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
64
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just off the M6 at Knutsford but a world away from service area accomodation, this 18th century manor farmhouse is a pleasant place to stay. Nice friendly welcome and lovely room with character without being overly twee. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P&AEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pleased to recommend this country guest house .... the quality of room (no 6) was excellent with its comfortable sleigh type double bed and views over the Cheshire countryside.Excellent breakfast too.Was born in Cheshire, so always nice to come back!

Room Tip: No 6 is at the top ....so very quiet. Comfortable double bed too. Nice view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthenshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed here three nights one week then four nights the following week.
I received a very warm welcome on both occasions and cannot fault the high quality and great attention to detail in all respects.
If you want a quiet haven from working all day this is it.
Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philCarmarthenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I like to take weekend breaks in unusual hotels in interesting places. We were attracted by Pickmere Country Guest House which we learned is an historic Georgian farmhouse convenient for the sites of mid Cheshire and Chester. We stayed on 17th and 18th May and were not disappointed. Chester is wonderful, this area of Cheshire offers lots to visit and the guest house is located in a peaceful setting near the quaint town of Knutsford. We booked an £88 per night superior room which was beautifully appointed. The service was attentive and friendly and the breakfasts ample and freshly cooked, so for £44 per night each we got a lovely room and delicious breakfast, which is great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having read all the rave reviews on here, my partner and I were disappointed with our experience at the Pickmere. Our room was comfortable, with beautiful views, but at £88 a night I expected a much warmer welcome - and please, please put some shampoo in the bathroom! I wasn't bowled over by the friendliness of the lady in charge, who made a quip about us making sure we "tiptoed back in" after returning from a party we were attending locally that night. Breakfast was lovely - but not sure how the hotel can justify this kind of price tag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsladyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia-Pickmere, Owner at Pickmere Country House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I am pleased that the guests enjoyed the accommodation but surprised that they found the owner unwelcoming. As with all guests they were personally taken to their room. We usually ask guests what they are doing in the area and when told that they had come for a party Felicia did indeed say something along the lines of "tiptoe back in" but this was tongue in cheek and certainly not meant seriously.
There is a large bottle of shampoo/shower gel in every bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night and was impressed with the quality of the furniture, decor, facilities etc

Lovely outlook from my room and superb breakfast and breakfast room

Made to feel very welcome and can strongly recommend this guest house

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
3.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
982 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickmere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickmere Country House

Property: Pickmere Country House
Address: Pickmere House Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickmere Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pickmere Country House is a Georgian grade ll listed former farmhouse dating back to 1772. Commanding picturesque views over the surrounding countryside the house is situated in the centre of the village of Pickmere. The house is fully licenced and serves evening meals Monday-Thursday 6-7:30pm. Lunches, Afternoon Teas and Weekend Dinners by prior appointment. There is a local pub within easy walking distance and there are also some great gastro pubs and restaurants within an 8 minute drive. Situated in the heart of Cheshire it is ideally placed for both the business traveller and leisure guests who wish to explore all that Cheshire has to offer. We are 4 minutes from M6 junction 19 and 10 minutes from M56 junction 10. Just 8 minutes drive from Knutsford and Northwich, 20 minutes to Warrington and Manchester Airport, 35 minutes to Liverpool John Lennon Airport, Manchester and Chester city centres and 40 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, homely atmosphere and a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pickmere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing