We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Drawer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pickmere Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very, very comfortable. Friendly and helpful owners and staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank MunroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Needed a clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay for one night whilst on business and this fitted the bill perfectly. Room & facilities very good (large flat screen TV, Freeview channels, Wireless Internet, Very good en-suite). Small things but often things that let other places down (e.g. excellent TV reception and good water pressure for the shower). They served an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice and local produce. I arrived late but the owner (Felicia) was very helpful, still showing me the hotel facilities and to my room. Also helped with some toiletries I'd forgotten to pack - First class customer service! Lived up to the other positive reviews i'd read before booking. Wouldn't hesitate to return and have recommended it to a business client who i was visiting the following day near Knutsford.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here in mid-August and were delighted that we found such a place. From the moment we arrived, Felicia made us feel most welcome and showed us to a lovely room on the top floor, with views out toward the northwest. The room was beautifully furnished, with a lovely large sleigh bed, which proved very comfortable indeed. The shower was great, with good pressure, often an area which fails to meet expectations, and the breakfast the following morning was superb, with attentive service and first-class food. We shall definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our room was large and the bed comfortable (in fact there was one double bed and two singles in the room). There were lots of interesting magazines and books to read throughout the house as well as a tv in the room and a tv with sky in the lounge. We were told there was only one room in the house with a bath and ours only had a shower but at least it was a good one.
Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had with the bacon and the marmalade of particular high quality.
The only drawback was that the sun came through the white curtains at 5am and the aircraft noise was also quite noticeable.
There is off street parking and the house has a pretty garden at the back and view over farmland at the front.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so speak to the owners to get the one best suited to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed two nights here and on the sat night a very noisy outdoor party in the house behind our room kept us awake. We asked the owners to talk to them and they wouldn't. I find it hard to believe that the owners here did not know the party would be on but I guess they did not tell us as they would have lost a booking. So for the price we paid we may have had a better night in a travelodge.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeBopLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia-Pickmere, Owner at Pickmere Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

There are several inaccuracies in this review. We did indeed speak to this guest on Saturday evening when he asked when the party would end, which we did not know as we had no prior information. He did not ask us to speak to anyone but in any case we went to speak to the owners of the house at 11pm and asked them to quieter, to which they agreed and the noise did abate for a while. We went again at midnight and were told that the noise would cease at 12.30. In the morning we spoke to the guests and told them what had occurred, but they have not mentioned this is their review. They had no complaints to make about their room and facilities or about their breakfast and yet they have marked everything down on the basis of a party over which we had no control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed at this guest house for two nights when teaching in Knutsford and I found it absolutely lovely. It is quite a historic building with the type of large, spacious rooms that come with that. There was a lovely blend of old-fashioned comfort (proper cabinet -maker style furniture and wardrobes with that wonderful smell of polish etc) with bang up-to-date facilities such as a modern en-suite shower-room, flat screen TV and wi-fi. Had a very comfortable sleep here and the breakfast was filling and quickly cooked.

I would definitely stay here again if opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianHamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Only just got round to reviewing my B and B's from my LEJOG cycling trip last summer!

After initially being worried where I would be staying after cycling through some busy roads and industrial areas, I realised I needn't have worried as Pickmere is set in some pleasant countryside. Myself and a friend were booked into the garden room, which was very comfortable and had all mod cons. I took a TV for granted during my two weeks on the road! There is also free wifi, and I was able to store my bike in the boiler room. We found the nearby pub to be welcoming, contrary to a previous review. Felicia was a lovely host, and I would recommend this to anyone in the area.

Thanks

James

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesWelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
4 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
3.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,064 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
3.8 mi away
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickmere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickmere Country House

Address: Pickmere House Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: $107 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickmere Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pickmere Country House is a Georgian grade ll listed former farmhouse dating back to 1772. Commanding picturesque views over the surrounding countryside the house is situated in the centre of the village of Pickmere. The house is fully licenced and serves evening meals Monday-Thursday 6-7:30pm. Lunches, Afternoon Teas and Weekend Dinners by prior appointment. There is a local pub within easy walking distance and there are also some great gastro pubs and restaurants within an 8 minute drive. Situated in the heart of Cheshire it is ideally placed for both the business traveller and leisure guests who wish to explore all that Cheshire has to offer. We are 4 minutes from M6 junction 19 and 10 minutes from M56 junction 10. Just 8 minutes drive from Knutsford and Northwich, 20 minutes to Warrington and Manchester Airport, 35 minutes to Liverpool John Lennon Airport, Manchester and Chester city centres and 40 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, homely atmosphere and a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pickmere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing