We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food but pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mughli Bar + Kitchen

Mughli Bar + Kitchen
Ranked #26 of 94 Restaurants in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set against the idyllic backdrop of Knutsford’s Tatton Park, the trendy Bar & Kitchen has a striking bar which hosts not only an impressive drink and cocktail menu, but a tempting selection of delicious bar food and desserts for our casual diners.The main dining area is hidden behind an extended floating bar table and overlooked by the Goan Cubes, found on the mezzanine level towards the rear of the restaurant, for those wanting a more intimate dining experience.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent food but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This restaurant has a modern relaxed layout. The food was nice and quite different to other versions of the same dishes i normally order. The drinks were decent. Only criticism is the overall price of food is slightly more than what it should have been.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveller_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    69
    27
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A gem in knutsford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are regulars here and we are always greeted with the same standard of service and food. It's about time it was shared on trip advisor. From the moment u walk in to the moment you leave nothing is too much trouble for Dom and his staff. Service is first class and the food is superb. King prawn shaslick is a must but there are many outstandingly dishes. A must when visiting knutsford.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A modern take on Indian dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love India, it's food and music and like Indian fusion music. I can't wait to get back to that amazing country, but I may not revisit the Mughli. Perhaps I am too old, but I like to be able to listen to music rather than get blasted by the sound system. This is not a dining space for anyone wanting a quiet conversation over their meal or for anyone out on a first date getting to know their companion, unless they are used to lip reading.
The menu, unlike most Indian restaurants, does not have a star rating to indicate how "hot" a dish is and I found my chicken whatever hot with the taste of raw spices. The kitchen tried to reduce the fire but the food ended up hot and sweet and I picked the meat out of it and left the sauce. That apart, the portion size of popadums was generous and the nan bread was a hearty feast.
If you get to the Mughli before 6pm (I think) you can try smaller portions of "street food" and that menu looked very interesting but I arrived to late to access that deal.
The Mughli was very busy and had a real buzz about it, but I prefer my dining to be in a place a little less noisy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz A, General Manager at Mughli Bar + Kitchen, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Netty, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on forums such as TripAdvisor and just sorry that it couldn't be on a more positive note. We have taken note of your comments (which I have also passed on to the team here) and will certainly try our best to adjust our sound system in future, during evenings when the restaurant becomes a little 'livlier'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, definitely recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited on a Friday night, the restaurant and bar were very busy, great atmosphere. We waited with a drink at the bar for a little while they sorted our table but it was soon ready. Food was lovely, cocktails superb. Thoroughly enjoyable evening, we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubylola14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still the best Indian restaurant for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I admit we have been 'eating around' a bit lately, just to see if any of the competition is really up to Mughli's standard. We have to report that no, nobody even comes close. The menu is far more creative than your average Indian restaurant. They will suggest things that are not on the menu if you let them know what you fancy, and the food is always, always, fresh and superb. We are truly staggered that other Indian restaurants in the town can even begin to compete, as so many of them seem to use bland, bought-in, tasteless ingredients. We can only suppose that people who have tried these and liked them have yet to discover the delights of 'real' Indian food.

It isn't just about the food though. The service is always friendly, attentive and impeccable. The bar is really well run with excellent cocktails and knowledgeable bartenders. We're not normally given to waxing lyrical about restaurants, but do yourself a favour - go and experience Mughli, you'll never look back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mughli Bar + Kitchen also viewed

Knutsford, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Ollerton, Knutsford
 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to Mughli Bar + Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing