We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Bottesford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

Arrive here late saturday on a motorcycle with no booking but was welcomed in . The hotel is a short distance off the motorway just outside of town , it's a turn of the century building set in its own grounds on the outskirts of town . The rooms were fresh and seemed to have being refurbished recently , the rest of the hotel was a mixture of old and modern . I found the food in the hotel very good and not over priced .The staff I encountered were very pleasant and a credit to the hotel. Overall its an ideal place to stay enroute to the highlands.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
26
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed at the Queens as a group as we were attending a wedding. We all found this hotel very comfortable and the staff very friendly.. We had the wedding dinner here, and it was of extremely good standard and value for money. The rooms were comfortable and the surrouding area is very peaceful.
Overall this was a very relaxing experience combined with good food and excellent service. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and good food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Just back from a brilliant weekend staying at Queen's Hotel, Lockerbie. Picked this hotel to stay in just by chance as my cousin was getting married in Gretna Green. (Gretna was all booked out.). Excellent choice!
What made it so good was the staff, very friendly, helpful and welcoming. For my cousin's wedding dinner one of the barmen played his bagpipes, he was brilliant!
The bar food was really good with excellent choice and drinks were very reasonably priced, £20 for a round of drinks for 10 people, we would pay a lot more back home.
The rooms were fine, the extension at the back seemed to have nicer rooms and all had been decorated recently. The gym was good and I wish I had got to use the sauna & pool.
Will probably stay in this hotel again if I'm heading that direction again.

  • Liked — Staff & friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

myself, family and friends all stayed here for my wedding. everyone commented how lovely the hotel was, the staff could not do enough and the food was gorgeous. we will be going again for our first wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — such a lovely welcome you felt at home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gillyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Queens in August, and had a lovely time. The staff were 1st class, the room was lovely (just been refurbished I would say) and the food was second to none. I would certainly recommend this Hotel in the future

  • Liked — the whole package !
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scotwaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

I would not advise anyone to visit the Queens Hotel in Lockerbie. I was unfortunate enough to dine in their restaurant recently. However, my evening was ruined by the rudeness of the staff - especially the owner / manager.
I suffered a barrage of absue after not managing to finish my meal. The owner (who was waiting in the restaurant that evening) would not leave the table until I had given him an explanation of why I hadn't eaten all of the food. He then proceeded to fetch a 'clean plate' from a 'satisfied customer' and inform me that that was what he expected. He also refered to me as a 'foreigner' (I'm English) in a very derogatory manner.
Later on that evening infront of the whole dining room, he shouted 'everyone happy with their meals?' and then walked over to me saying 'there's no point in asking you!' loudly enough for the everyone to hear.
Unfortunately this man didn't seem to think there was anything wrong with his actions, and didn't apologise. I would therefore, suggest you think very carefully before planning an evening / stay at the Queens Hotel, especially if for a special occassion.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Londongirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed here for the weekend as part of a private function. We had a number of rooms in the hotel and all were fine. Ours was very small but we were only in it to sleep so that was ok. The bathroom was nice. We had dinner in the bar before the function and the food was good value for money and the plate fulls were generous. Breakfast the next morning was also everything you would expect. The hotel building itself leaves something to be desired - its a nice, original old building with a dreadful flat roofed extension on the side that ruins the look of the place. Plentiful car parking available. Personally I thought the overall price was a bit expensive for the size and quality of room, but things like the niceness of the staff made up for that.

  • Liked — Nice staff, good sized dinner portions
  • Disliked — Our room was very small
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jakesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
13.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Annan Road, Lockerbie DG11 2RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing