We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Freedom Tour Sept 2011”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highland Freedom Tour Sept 2011”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was our last stop on motorcycling tour of Scotland & my personal favorite of whole trip not surroundings but purely as a hotel,it was near M74 but not that noisy our room was large with both bath & shower which was a first on this trip & very clean with comfortable bed.Meals also very good which were eaten in lounge area of pub downstairs & we then retired to a cosy room for drinks after all in all i was very impressed & would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
30
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel looked fabulous on arrival and the staff were helpful and friendly. The first higher priced room we were given had no shower and was dirty and full of cobwebs. The second was cleaner, smaller and had a shower but cold even in July with no heating and like a goldfish bowl with so visible to all outside. Breakfast was excellent but overall the hotel did not live up to the price charged.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m50lws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lockerbie hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I use the Queens all the time when i'm in the area on business - ok it's a bit dated and tired looking but its got more character (staff and the place itself) than your average chain hotel.
I've occasionally had problems with the rooms, not the cleanliness which is always spot on, but they always sort it out quickly and politely. the restaurant is fairly good value and i've never had a meal I didn't finish. Breakfast is at least cooked for you, rather than laid out in an unhygienic buffet style like some hotels and if you speak nicely to the staff they are usually quite happy to do you something 'off menu'.
One of the earlier reviewers complained about butter being in packets as if that was a bad thing, displaying a lack of basic hygiene knowledge or awareness of the harsh realities of the economic downturn for all but the biggest hotel chains - plus clearly hadn't noticed that on the plus side the butter itself was as locally sourced as it is possible to be, coming from the Creamery 2 miles away!
The dark-haired girl (sorry, awful memory for names!) who tends to be on reception & running the bar most evenings is brilliant and always happy to help, even when clearly busy coping with the large groups of locals who are occasionally holding meetings there (Rotarians, Forestry Commission etc..).
Unlike some of the other reviewers i've not really had a problem with the motorway noise - ok if you sit outside it does spoil the ambience, but its never kept me awake at night.
Overall, fairly old-fashioned hotel trying its best to get through difficult economic times and generally succeeding thanks largely to the efforts of it's staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistdemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stopped off at 10.30pm just for somewhere to stopover and left at 9am. Although the girl gave us £17.50 discount to £70 I have stayed in better guest houses for £30. The staff were very polite and chatty but this is the only plus point.
The bedroom was noisy as tobe expected due to proximity of motorway but we also had a bright floodlight shining in the room until midnight.
The bathroom was so small only room for 1 person and there was only a bath no shower attachment. The bathroom was in a bad state of repair. The bedroom was a good size but very old fashioned and felt tatty and the bed was very old with a metal headrest which rattled and the mattress felt that it was long overdue to be replaced.
The breakfast was laid out on a large table no imagination on presentation whilst the food was fine is was spoilt by packet butter and jams in plastic pots. Is this acceptable for a 3* hotel?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed for four nights between Christmas and New Year. We were in Lockerbie for our friends wedding. Room although not very big it was clean and comfortable with a nice ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Location was very good, just off the motorway and about a mile walk into the town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

An average to good hotel all round unfortunately spoilt by a very noisy disco that went on to 1.30am - right under our bedroom - which the staff said they could nothing about.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Stayed here a few weeks ago while working in lockerbie.I was actually stayin at the Dryesdale Hotel and moved fro 2 nights due to prior bookings making the Hotel full.Nice cheery welcome but i feel once you go upstairs,its a bit dull.Room was nice and clean but a bit small even claustrophobic,that said,it is well equipped with TV and tea/coffee faclities.Downstairs seems like a different place,2 very nice lounges,really nice bar/dining room.Good food,reasonably priced as was the bar and pleasant staff.Would recommend the Hotel although not my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rototom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
298 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
42 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Annan Road, Lockerbie DG11 2RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing