We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lockerbie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoddom Castle Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a few nights in one of the larger Pods in the middle of July. The room was large and so was the bed. Plenty of room to move around and a nice quiet location. Only minor niggle was the door to the room wouldn't stay closed without locking the door as it had no catch. This wasn't a problem, until one of us had to leave for the toilet and lock the other in/out in the middle of the night.

The service was excellent and staff both friendly and accommodating. Particularly in the Coach House (the pub/restaurant/takeaway). Food was served promptly and portion sizes were good. It was very impressive given how busy they were. It was a charity golf weekend and the site was packed which made for a brilliant atmosphere in the evening. Prices were fair and the menu seemed to accommodate a wide range of tastes and party sizes. Food tasted brilliant.

Castle grounds and local area made for some interesting walks and a quiet retreat during the day. The pub was perfect for meeting the locals and enjoying an evening out. I would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Hoddom Castle Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lady at front desk got angry when I couldn't give her a postcode (I live in hotels or campsites as I travel a lot with work). When it emerged that I had stayed a few days previously but had arrived late and paid in the bar and left before 6am for work she said I should have returned later to register (What????) Maybe she expects that I should have changed my flight...not sure. Anyway this was the last straw, here eyes got beady and she said 'I cannot help you'. So even though it was late I was forced to find somewhere else to stay. I normally stay for a while if I like the site so with bar tab and meals and laundry her decision was a costly one. The laundry has a big commercial dryer which is good for sleeping bags etc. Wifi in the restaurant. Fairly homogenous visitors, just families with small children, didn't see any adventurer types. Quiet. No traffic so safe for kids. Nice castle if you have a postcode and can cope with the dragon.

Room Tip: Find another site
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arnold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent three nights over the bank holiday weekend in a tent.It was great.
Clean , very spacious, despite the site being full.
We all took our bikes and so enjoyed numerous trips to the extensive woodland to build dens.
Lovely playground for the children and we felt that the older children were safe as they enjoyed some freedom.
Ladies shower block has been refurbished - they were fabulous for a campsite.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Very reasonably priced - we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aylwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Hi stayed in the pod for the weekend the double bed one .Great if you want away for a cheapish weekend there's also a cook pod witch has cookers .microwave and kettle .Theres a restaurant and bar witch is ok .Theres a golf course there to and the river runs bye it if you want fish .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday, the site is well layed out with large hard standing pitches , the toilet blocks and showers were always kept very clean and warm just aswell as the weather was'nt very good , there is a small shop on site which stocks your basic stuff aswell as a bar and restaurant wich has a takeaway .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank swissbird80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
12.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
2.6 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
18.7 mi away
Moffat Manor Country Park
21.9 mi away
Coastal Kippford
Coastal Kippford
#1 of 2 in Kippford
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoddom Castle Caravan Park

Address: Hoddom, Lockerbie DG11 1AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lockerbie
Also Known As:
Hoddom Castle Caravan Park Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing