We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frendly Staff, we were made most welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Arrived for a long weekend with our classic car club.
Lovely place well run and friendly.
Lockerbie is a great place to visit, fantasic scenery and very friendly people.
Ate in the restaraunt every night great food and good service.

review by Nomad Classic Car Club

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

I booked a night away for my husband and I, as we had visited the Somerton several times for dinner and we were very impressed by the place. Our room was decorated very tastefully with a gorgeous 4 poster bed , wide screen tv and ensuite bathroom. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.
We had an evening meal in the bar and could not fault it - this was our 3rd meal at the Somerton and every time we have found the food to be impeccable - especially the steak ! ....I really love the atmosphere of the place; alot of care and attention to detail has gone into this place by the owners and hopefully we will be back there sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolalu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times, breaking up a long trip from south to north. On both occasions I have been very impressed by the welcome from the staff, who can't do enough for the weary traveller just arrived off the M74. The other reviewers have praised the bar and food, and I heartily endorse their comments.

However, the Somerton House is not perfect. Most recently I stayed in a room (number 2) that could have been used as the set of Fawlty Towers. The lighting was incredibly poor (using a low energy bulb?), the wallpaper was peeling from the walls in places, locking the door required a magician's sleight of hand, and the bathroom seemed to have been done up by one of those disaster DIY enthisiasts that are featured on TV. The TV remote had disappeared and it didn't respond to random button pressing by either the receptionist or myself. I thought that I'd listen to the bedside radio instead, but I couldn't get a cheep out of it.

These sort of problems are minor if you are staying for one night, but imagine how irritating they would become during a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socratesDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

After driving too many miles in the day you get used to a solitary meal with a drink and an early night in preperation for a repeat the next day.
What a change to be greeted by genuinely warm staff,a guiness poured with care and seated for the excellent meal in a prime position at a table for more than one person,not positioned behind a column or next to the toilets.
To be included in the friendly banter between fellow guests and the staff was a very welcome change and made a relaxing end toa very stressful day.The hotel is full of character and also is fortunate to employ the best barman(Brian) I have encountered in a long time.A very friendly and warm natured man who has the very rare talent to make you feel like a valued client and at the same time an old friend despite this being my first (but you can be assured not my last) visit.If you need an hotel in the area you will do no better than to experience a stay at the Somerton House Hotel.I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelcitysalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

I have used the Somerton House Hotel regularly for business trips in south west Scotland and have made many friends in the area. This weekend we used the hotel for a reunion with friends from near and far. As usual the quality of the welcome, service and food was excellent, thanks to Brian and the staff for a memorable weekend

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lockerbiephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

What a find!

Had a tremendous stay, so relaxed and easy going.

The rooms are superb and the owners/staff are really friendly.

The food was top quality as was the service and the bar after dinner was a great fun. The locals really make you feel at home.

I would high recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bazzarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

There is nothing bad you can say about this Hotel. The staff are friendly the foods great and the bar unlike most hotels is cheap, the rooms are spaciouse and very clean. This is the warmist and most friendly hotel I have ever stayed in, and that includes the 5* ones.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrewTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
0.9 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
334 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
100 reviews
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton House Hotel

Address: 35 Carlisle Road, Lockerbie DG11 2DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range: $112 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and professional hotel that caters to all. During the week we have a regular business trade that takes advantage of all the mod cons, including full wi-fi coverage, in stylish and relaxing surroundings. We are excellently located for all local companies and just over an hours journey to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Weekends are busy with local food trade and also with small functions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Somerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing