We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Townhead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blacket House(Lockerbie)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water(Lockerbie)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$136
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hightae Inn(Lockerbie)
$139
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Lockerbie)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalene House(Lockerbie)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
274
64
13
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
274
64
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely mealchicken goujonstown centrefriendly attentive staffbig portionsplace to eatice rinkfeel very welcomefirst class servicefull scottishevening mealhis teamcooked to perfectionfantastic foodblack puddingwarm welcomekeep up the good work
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 358 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. Large, comfortable, well-decorated room. Really very good food: two smashing dinners. Thoroughly recommend steak and ale pie (unusually with a savoury shortcrust pastry) and magnificent summer pudding. Friendly bar, charming staff. Outstandingly good breakfasts. All told, really exceptional service and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. Our steak pie is one of our biggest sellers, and a lot of people do make comment on the fact that we do serve it a little different to the standard restaurant fayre.
We would like to thank you for choosing the Townhead Hotel for your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes
Stephen & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in June. Friendly staff, very good breakfast. I also ate dinner in the hotel which was nice, if slightly hurried. Room was comfortable and usb socket next to bed was a nice touch. Very good value. Lots of free parking. I had a room on the side of the petrol station which got a little noisy after about 6am with the window open. Overall, enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank monkeynonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us here.

Please accept my apologies if you felt a little rushed during your evening meal, as this is certainly never our intention. To be able to relax and enjoy good food is always our aim.

Unfortunately 3 of our rooms face the forecourt of the garage, and we would love to be able to change this, however sometimes when they open at 6 during the week they are louder than we would like them to be. I will certainly show them your review in the hope that they will make a point of reducing the noise in the future.

Regards
Stephen & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We found this hotel by chance after a very stressful car journey. We arrived at 6 pm on a Saturday night and were fortunate that they had a room available. We were immediately made welcome by the lovely,very attentive staff. We wanted an evening meal and despite the hotel being very busy and the restaurant being fullly booked the staff ensured we had a table although advised us it may wait until around 8pm. They kept us informed of the progress of a table throughout the evening and served us with drinks in the bar, brining them to our table while we waited. The hotel was cosy and the bar area was busy and had a nice buzz to the place. It appeared to be a very popular place were many of the locals went. The Dining room was lovely and nicely decorated with candle lit lighting. The food was great with a varied menu and large portions. We had a family room which was bright, spacious and well equipped with a iron and ironing board and large TV .The full Scottish breakfast was huge and very well presented. The staff at the hotel were fantastic and they made our stay extremely enjoyable especially a very lovely girl who served breakfast who smiled constantly and was delightful

Room Tip: If Dining ask for a table in the dining room next to the bar. The back dining room is not as cosy
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kay731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your kind words and in deed full review of your time here with us. It is always our aim to make our guests and customers feel comfortable, and after a long journey it is always nice to be able to relax. We also feel that it is very important to keep our customers informed if there are any delays etc in our restaurant. I am glad to read that my staff here were attentive in this way, and were able to get you seated for your meal as soon as they could.

We hope you had a safe onward journey, and we hope you will call with us again.

Best Wishes
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Just had a very nice family meal in the Townhead. Service by Honor, Toni and the rest of the team excellent. Favourite starter was the arbroath smokie fishcake, favourite main was between chicken Balmoral, sea bass or fish and chips and best dessert was the cranachan cheesecake (thanks for the recommendation Honor)
All in all a fabulous meal

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Denyse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Hi Denyse

Lovely to read your review of your family meal here at the Townhead Hotel, and we are all glad that both you and your family enjoyed everything.

Looking forward to seeing you again

Best Wishes
Stephen Montgomery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

A stop over on our journey North. Nicely decorated bar and restaurant area, recently renovated room with comfy bed and plenty of space. Evening meal good - but beware, enormous portions! Breakfast also very good and made special by the delightful Erika - we hope she enjoys her holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianPeace66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Hi guys,

Lovely to meet you during your overnight stop with us here at the Townhead Hotel.

We always love to hear what our guests say, and whether it be good or not, it is always great to have feedback. Erika is definitely as star, and she will never let you leave after breakfast if you are still feeling peckish!

We hope your journey north was a safe one, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Stephen Montgomery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews