We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch”
Review of Townhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Duns, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

After previously enjoying a lunch not long after the new owners took over,we finally coaxed our 95 year old very deaf and registered blind father to come out for lunch. Meal was excellent (sticky toffee pudding IS to die for). Friendly attentive staff made sure he was well catered for,even putting on extra lights. The prices are moderate and the quality of food is top line. This is a must visit place,(it's less than 2 mins from the M,74 but still in a quite setting).

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank moirab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    56
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
97
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had an evening meal at the Townhead Hotel and couldn't fault it. Lots of choice on the menu, great service and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. The restaurant is family friendly and caters well for children. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, good food and very accommodating when it came to changing dates which I did twice. The service was spot on and they did breakfast half an hour early for me alone. Would definitely use it again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Staying with family in Lockerbie and we decided to go out for a meal and went to the townhead which some members of my family had eaten in before. The decor is modern the service is friendly and the food was fantastic, I have to say if you do go I would totally recommend the sticky toffee pudding for desert best one I have ever eaten! Would defenitly go back. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Runforabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went for an evening meal with friends and their children. The decor was lovely, very fresh and modern. The menu provided an extensive choice and each dish was delicious and well presented. The staff could not have been more helpful-one of the owners even offered to give my friend's baby her bottle while she ate her meal, and she also took her little boy through to the room where he could play with the toys. Definitely recommend the Townhead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhant11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very friendly welcome by Marion and Rhona (owners) , rooms very nicely decorated.
Good bar service and wide selection of drinks on offer. Tony the head barman very helpful.
Excellent food , freshly prepared from a varied menu. The hotel is in a very convenient location
not far from the M74. Lockerbie itself is a very pleasant town set in beautiful countryside

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were heading South for a few days and came off the motorway in to Lockerbie to find somewhere for lunch. The first place we came to was the Townhead Hotel and it looked inviting. We went in to find the dining room quite busy and we were made very welcome. We ordered lunch and the homemade soup has to have a mention as it was delicious, as was the rest of our meal. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and we learned that the management had only taken over the hotel in March. If our experience is the norm, they will have no problem making a success of this venture. We would recommend the food served here to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
3.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
146 reviews
14.3 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
16.8 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhead Hotel

Property: Townhead Hotel
Address: Townhead Street, Lockerbie DG11 2AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Townhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Channel 4 TV program "Four in a Bed", the Townhead Hotel has been awarded the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for 2014, 2015, and 2016 for our continuous top ratings from our customers. We have also been awarded the AA 2 Star award of Accreditation, a 4 Star award from the Scottish Tourism, the Good Hotel Award for 2015 and 2016, Silver in Best Bar None Awards Scotland, and also Scottish Food and Hotel awards for 2017. These are awards which have never been accredited to this hotel before. We are a family owned and run hotel, which has been recently refurbished. Situated 1 mile off junctions 17 and 18 of the M74 motorway, the Townhead Hotel offers you a warm welcome, good food, and a friendly atmosphere. It is the ideal stopping point for Golfing and Fishing trips. We work closely with both Lockerbie and Lochmaben Golf clubs, and we are able to offer deals on B&B with Golfing included. We are also able to speak with the local fishing clubs and put our guests on the right path for exciting fishing days. Our bar comes with many beers, wines, and spirits, and is equiped with a full SKY and BT Sports package showing all major sports, including horse racing.Free wifi is also available. Our restaurant offers good fresh home cooked food, with all ingredients locally sourced and produced. All bedrooms are en-suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, along with freeview television, and a telephone. For your comfort all rooms come with a nice fluffy dressing gown for use during your stay. All our staff are fully trained, and are available at any time to assist you, should the need arise. Our aim is to maintain a high standard, and to make sure that you, the customer enjoy your stay with us. It is the ideal place to stay if you are looking for a break away from the usual city breaks, in a lovely area of South West Scotland. Our motto is: The Townhead Hotel is run by our family, for yours! Golfing Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhead Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing