We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star hotel with 0 star customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
hotelnine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4 star hotel with 0 star customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Do not stay here in this hotel unless you wish to experience unprofessionalism and have no idea of customer service.
Glen Wright the manager is rude, arrogant and has no idea how to speak to paying guests - he obviously does not appreciate or want repeat visitors.
We stayed here as part of a large party for a family wedding. I have never experienced anything like it - I have stayed in hotels with less stars and is much cheaper and received much better customer service.
The hotel is run by kids who have no idea what they are doing or are being managed properly, this is evident in the one rule for one guest and a completely different rule for another guest. They also have never been shown how to wait on guests or even look competent doing what is expected for a hotel that claims to be 4 stars.
Upon entry to my room, I had to clean the toilet myself, the patio door remained unlocked throughout my stay as it would not lock and the cleanliness of the rooms had much to be desired. Perhaps corners do not need to be hovered or furniture needs to be dusted for paying guests.
Has anyone ever heard of a hotel manager that does not take valid debit cards for payment and insists on cash only!!! Make me wonder who's pockets the money was lining - The hotels or the manager Glen Wright.
Glen Wright (manager) is terrible - I have never met anyone quite like him and I hope I never will again - This is possibly the worst case of customer service that I have ever seen - he is rude, obnoxious, patronising, has a terrible temper, has no understanding of customer service and does not believe that the customer is always right. He also threatens to chuck you out of the hotel when you tell him you do not have cash, but only a valid debit card???
This is your warning - do not stay in this hotel unless you have 0% understanding of customer service and wish to line Glenn Wrights pockets with your hard earned cash!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hotelnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    123
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
109
246
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Helens
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had our wedding reception here almost 3 years ago and it has taken us this long to recover from the incompetencies of the manager Glen. We were promised many things for our 'Big Day' but unfortunately did not receive them. For instance, the rooms were not ready for our guests to change after their long travel, as promised for 12:00pm, for a local 3:00pm wedding. We were temporarily offered a room where all the guests could change, not ideal as some had never met before. Garden rooms had been booked for all the party but some guests including parents were put in interior rooms. The bill, when checked, included items that guests had not received. I would suggest that if you are thinking of booking your wedding here get all the details in writing with a blood seal from the manager Glen. As we say don't believe the hype!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sintelliners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed overnight as guests at a friend's wedding. Overall hotel was fine and staff generally OK. Food was satisfactory and breakfast plentiful and of a good standard.
However the bar tariff is in my view overpriced. I paid £6.75 for a small glass of wine and a pint of John Smiths. I thought it overpriced at that but said nothing.
It was only when i returned to the bar to get a second round that and was charged £8.75 for a larger glass of wine and another pint of beer that i complained.
My complaint fell on deaf ears the owner or manager felt that the bar tarrif was reasonable. I won't be going back and recommend that if you book there then you take your own drink.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlisleBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We had been booked in at this hotel for a relative's wedding and had been looking forward to our trip. The room had not been cleaned properly and when I was intercepted by the very nice young staff member, on my way to reception with a very dirty cup, she did not look surpised. Coffee was not topped up and milk was off. Several of the party were unhappy with the bills received and the manager proved to be very rude to guests on several occasions. When we questioned our bill, we did not get what we considered to be a satisfactory explanation. We didn't even get to the point of querying why we were charged more than other family members even though they were in a more superior room and had booked their room later--outwith what special wedding rate?
I was a bit shocked that acting as master of ceremonies the manager did not dress more smartly--he did put on a jacket but I thought a tie would have been appropriate in a 4? star hotel. As said we will not be back and will not recommend this hotel.
I must commend the service of his young staff despite our feelings as regards the above.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

We were looking for somewhere to stay close by the motorway on our return from a tour of Scotland. Fortunately, TomTom has this hotel listed and what a find.
We had a large garden room that was clean, with all the facilities you would expect in a 4 star hotel. An excellent view of the gardens and cattle in the adjoining field.
Dinner was of a high quality with plenty of choice served in the restaurant overlooking the garden. Breakfast was of a similar quality to the dinner.
The staff were all friendly and attentive.
A decent choice of malt whiskies in the bar also added to our enjoyment.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

We were passing through Lockerbie after a gruelling trip up the motorway trying to find a place to stay and eat for the night. The kids had a long journey and needed fed.
We seen the dryfesdale and thought it looked great. It was set in beautiful gardens that the kids could run around and stretch their legs and no worry about passing traffic.
The hotel was spotless and looked to have been recently redecorated.
It was the manager that booked us in and was really friendly and helpful. Glen was his name and we felt he went out his way particularly with the kids in having a laugh with them. He even had a game of footy later that evening when it was quiet.
We had dinner there and it was really fantastic. A great menu that even the kids found something on and pretty reasonable to go with it. The waiting staff were really friendly too.
I cant praise this place enough. We will definately go back. Great place for a weekend break. Hopefully without the kids next time.

  • Liked — The Location and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Generally loved it though not near shops or pubs for older kids younger adults wanting out.
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmansam2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Wanted to get away for a nice quiet valentines weekend with my partner. Room was beautiful with 4 poster bed and everything you needed and more. Attention to detail. We received a very warm welcome and the owner Glen introduced himself as well. All the staff were very friendly and first class service and food. They all made us feel special. Liked the cosy bar and lounge with open fire. It was a cold weekend but the atmosphere was very warm. Would certainly go back especially for a special occasion. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates the nicer things in life.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
16.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing