We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility / Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Haven't been to the Dryfrsdale for a number of years and wasn't too impressed last time.

BUT I have to confirm that I was very impressed. Lovely refurbishment, great menu and good service.

Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank AussieAmy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful and kind review it was great to welcome you back and see all the new refurbishment, we hope to welcome you to stay in the near future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is tucked away just outside Lockerbie. I have only just found it after spending many a night in Lockerbie on business, but you can be sure I will now always stay there. The ground floor bedrooms have patio doors with your own table and chairs outside. The rooms are big and clean and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They are friendly, welcoming and even when very busy, will still smile and take the time to make sure everything is ok. The food is outstanding for the prices they charge, freshly cooked, locally sourced and not a tin bin in sight at breakfast.

Will definitely be back, both for business and may treat my husband!

Room Tip: Room 15 great, but any downstairs with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jca55556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a kind and wonderful review, we are thrilled you had such a great stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last weekend having returned to Lockerbie for our wedding anniversary having spent our wedding night here many years ago. What a friendly welcome we received here and it is really the owners/staff that give this hotel such a friendly welcoming feel with the right balance of service without being over imposing. We very much appreciated being given an upgraded room for our special occasion and it was totally relaxing to just sit outside in the sunshine with beautiful views and to walk around the local area. We had a lovely time and are so pleased that we did decide to return here. P.S. The breakfast and dinner was also very good.

Room Tip: best rooms on ground floor with garden access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel after so many years and thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I received the warmest of welcomes to the hotel which is really conveniently situated about a mile from the motorway in beautiful countryside.

The check in was flawless and the manager walked me personally to my room which was a superb suite with a four poster bed, lounge and seating area outside with stunning views.

Dinner was great with the staff really taking the time to give a personal service and making sure that neither my plate or glass was empty long.

Nice hotel, amazing staff and the manager could not have done more to make sure that I was comfortable. I have stayed here before on the drive from the SW to Glasgow and I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and glowing review, the team are thrilled by your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

friendly staff who could not do enough for you also with good food and drink. would highly recommend to stay here if you like quiet and romantic week or weekend. rooms clean and tidy . we are coming back in 2 weeks to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank chadwicktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Reviewer, It is always great to welcome guests again and again to the Dryfesdale and we hope we can continue looking after you again and again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Booked with Groupon, paid extra for one of the executive rooms which basically gives you a sliding door out to a little patio with table and chairs. Can't complain about the room, it WAS nice and it was a decent size, cosy, clean but ultimately nothing special. The bathroom was quite nice and the shower was amazing! First time staying at a Best Western so I'm not sure if they are all the same, but the rooms are very similar to Travelodge rooms.... just plain average. Maybe my exceptions too high having looked at the photos online and having paid extra for an executive room.

The dining room is VERY nice and the service was timely and friendly. No complaints about breakfast either.
The hotel is super easy to find as it's right off the M74. Which kinda spoiled the view when sitting outside at the patio table.

Had a minor problem when settling the bill as there was some confusion about the bar bill however this was quickly resolved.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, but disappointed that you thought we did not exceed your expectations. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I feel guilty I didn't write a review on our first visit, but the second stay was as good, if not better!
From friendly, efficient check in to the huge smiles at breakfast.
We had a garden room that allowed direct access for our dog.
One of the best fillet steaks I have ever had.
I can't fault anything. The hotel should be used as a benchmark for others to strive for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob503850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

W.O.W what a review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us on both occasions and we look forward to welcoming you many more times in the uture. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
325 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
12.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,080 reviews
15.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range: $114 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing