We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Booked this hotel for a 2nt break on a special deal having read the reviews which on a whole were very good. We have just returned home and can advise that we had an excellent stay.
The hotel is not far from the motorway making it easy to find, stands in nice grounds and is surrounded by fields. You can hear a little distant motorway noise outside at times but we did not hear any noise from it within the hotel. You really need a car as it would be a fair walk into Lockerbie.
From making the initial booking until checking out we could not have received a better service, all of the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Everyone seemed to enjoy their work and their service was attentive without been overbearing.
The hotel is well maintained throughout and we were allocated a garden room which was spacious and well equipped, we had glorious weather on 29th and made full use of the patio area outside our garden room.
The lounge and bar area are small and cosy but probably right for the size of the hotel, but can understand one of previous reviewers saying it was crowded when wedding function was taking place.
The quality of the food in the restaurant is very good, especially the cooked breakfast. We had our evening meal in the hotel on both evenings and found our choices to be of a very good standard and reasonably priced. Please note that there is a more extensive wine list available, the cards on the tables just advise of the house wines which are also available by the glass,
we weren't aware of this until 2nd evening. We also found the price of drinks in the hotel to be reasonably priced which was good as it would be a fair walk to another watering hole or a toss of the coin on who was driving and not drinking.
Glen was very helpful in suggesting places of interest within a short drive. We enjoyed a morning at the Tibetan monastery and an afternoon in Moffat.

The only thing that stops us from giving this super little hotel 5 stars is that we found the bed rather uncomfortable (could feel springs) and think perhaps it was due for replacement.
The hotel asks for constructive comments which is good and we have suggested that wi-fi be extended to the bedrooms.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and its staff to our family and friends and will stay again if visiting this area of Scotland in the future. Give it a try, we are sure you will enjoy this wee gem.

Room Tip: Do ask for a garden room to make use of patio if weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your thorough and constructive review, we are thrilled you enjoyed yourselves with us and in fact we have just had a brand new wi fi system fitted which will give a great wifi reception in all bedrooms and public areas, as we strive to constantly improve our hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 582 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband, 15 yr daughter and myself stayed at the hotel after celebrating the wedding of our oldest daughter in Cambridge. Compared to the hotel we stayed in Cambridge, Dryfesdale Country House Hotel outshone them in every way! We are most definitely going to return to Dryfesdale and we recommend them to anybody who stands still long enough to listen! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Mrs Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a kind review, all the team are thrilled when we provide our guests with a wonderful stay and hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We bought a voucher deal and really did not expect how fabulous this hotel would be. From the minute we checked in we were extremely well looked after - Lynne helped us with some requests and was very friendly. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea before our evening meal. Dinner was first class. Again, the service was superb and we had a nice relaxing evening in the lounge. Breakfast offered a great selection and again, the standard was terrific. The hotel is set in lovely grounds - we upgraded to a garden room which had patio doors out into the garden where we had our own table and chair set. Would definitely recommend - we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a wonderful review, all the team are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, now the better weather has arrived the garden rooms with patio seating area really do come into their own. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Good food although service a bit rushed. Garden rooms have excellent views but if it is a 'linked' room as 16 was to 17 then noise can be a problem. Will be more alert to that type of issue when we use the hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, rooms with interconnecting doors do actually have two doors which back onto one another which should prevent noise intrusion, but we would advise that on your next visit you request a room without interconnecting doors which should alleviate any possible disturbances. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had booked hotel using voucher deal for myself and husband but due to illness in family had to phone and explain we needed to bring grandson. Owner was fantastic moved us to room to accommodate travel cot and the staff were all so welcoming and friendly. The meals were great and hotel has an excellent menu. The grounds were great for 2yr old grandson to run around and play in plus the field outside our garden room with the cattle was his favourite place to walk to in the morning. This hotel is definitely worth a visit and lots to see and do in the area. As it's only short drive from both south/north bound motorways worth the stop for dinner to break the journey. We will definitely be returning ...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzielizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review we are thrilled we could help you with your last minute requirements and changes and that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have stopped here twice and have found the staff, accommodation and food to be of a good standard. Our booking was made on line with no problems and the Superior room on the ground floor was of a good size and the ensuite bath had an excellent shower. We dined in house and enjoyed a very nice meal, the Caesar salad which included chicken, bacon, anchovies, parmesan cheese and dressings, was, according to my wife, one the best she has eaten. My dish of chicken stuffed with haggis was also great - well done chef ! Just to mention the young ladies serving us - well done girls. All in all a good one night stop rounded off with a good breakfast. If we are travelling that way again we would not hesitate to stop here. Keep up the standard - almost forgot to mention the outstanding view from both our room and the bar/dining area.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on ground floor have great view but we were reluctant to leave patio doors open for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stix43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you have stayed with us on previous occasions and hope that we will continue to be your chosen hotel when you are on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
325 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
12.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,080 reviews
15.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range: $114 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing