We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western...Best Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western...Best Ever!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband, 15 yr daughter and myself stayed at the hotel after celebrating the wedding of our oldest daughter in Cambridge. Compared to the hotel we stayed in Cambridge, Dryfesdale Country House Hotel outshone them in every way! We are most definitely going to return to Dryfesdale and we recommend them to anybody who stands still long enough to listen! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a kind review, all the team are thrilled when we provide our guests with a wonderful stay and hope that we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    129
    36
    25
    14
See reviews for
118
250
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We bought a voucher deal and really did not expect how fabulous this hotel would be. From the minute we checked in we were extremely well looked after - Lynne helped us with some requests and was very friendly. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea before our evening meal. Dinner was first class. Again, the service was superb and we had a nice relaxing evening in the lounge. Breakfast offered a great selection and again, the standard was terrific. The hotel is set in lovely grounds - we upgraded to a garden room which had patio doors out into the garden where we had our own table and chair set. Would definitely recommend - we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a wonderful review, all the team are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, now the better weather has arrived the garden rooms with patio seating area really do come into their own. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Good food although service a bit rushed. Garden rooms have excellent views but if it is a 'linked' room as 16 was to 17 then noise can be a problem. Will be more alert to that type of issue when we use the hotel again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, rooms with interconnecting doors do actually have two doors which back onto one another which should prevent noise intrusion, but we would advise that on your next visit you request a room without interconnecting doors which should alleviate any possible disturbances. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had booked hotel using voucher deal for myself and husband but due to illness in family had to phone and explain we needed to bring grandson. Owner was fantastic moved us to room to accommodate travel cot and the staff were all so welcoming and friendly. The meals were great and hotel has an excellent menu. The grounds were great for 2yr old grandson to run around and play in plus the field outside our garden room with the cattle was his favourite place to walk to in the morning. This hotel is definitely worth a visit and lots to see and do in the area. As it's only short drive from both south/north bound motorways worth the stop for dinner to break the journey. We will definitely be returning ...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzielizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review we are thrilled we could help you with your last minute requirements and changes and that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have stopped here twice and have found the staff, accommodation and food to be of a good standard. Our booking was made on line with no problems and the Superior room on the ground floor was of a good size and the ensuite bath had an excellent shower. We dined in house and enjoyed a very nice meal, the Caesar salad which included chicken, bacon, anchovies, parmesan cheese and dressings, was, according to my wife, one the best she has eaten. My dish of chicken stuffed with haggis was also great - well done chef ! Just to mention the young ladies serving us - well done girls. All in all a good one night stop rounded off with a good breakfast. If we are travelling that way again we would not hesitate to stop here. Keep up the standard - almost forgot to mention the outstanding view from both our room and the bar/dining area.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on ground floor have great view but we were reluctant to leave patio doors open for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stix43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you have stayed with us on previous occasions and hope that we will continue to be your chosen hotel when you are on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fatastic hotel in lovely surroundings. We upgraded to a garden view room which was well worth it,with our own patio with table & chairs and a fabulous view. The weather was glorious for April and we were able to take advantage of this.
Everything about the hotel was perfect,especially the staff who pulled out all the stops to make us feel welcome. Food was really good,well presented and not expensive .Lovely comfy seats in the bar area. Would come back whenever we are in the area.Many,many thanks to your staff, you must be very proud of them.

Room Tip: A garden room is well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 810PAMELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a wonderful and kind review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will revisit in the future. Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
298 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
2.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
650 reviews
12.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing