We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on a trip around Scotland. The hotel is just off the motorway so very convenient. However the motorway is in a dip so there is little intrusive noise.
The hotel seems very popular for weddings and other events. The room we had was in the old part of the hotel and was disappointing. This was partly our fault in that we did not want a room with a four poster bed and the room given to us in substitution was small. There is a wing with more modern rooms but cannot comment on what they were like.
We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was excellent and no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast spread was ok rather than being lavish.
Overall recommended but the old rooms could do with an update

Room Tip: Ask if room has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were left slightly disappointed with the more classical rooms in the original part of the hotel but we have an ongoing renewal and refurbishment of our roomsand we appreciate your feedback and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    128
    36
    24
    14
See reviews for
116
250
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from the Dryfesdale after spending 4 days there for our wedding. Would like to say a big thanks to all of the team there. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff and the service was fantasic. The rooms were very big and spacious and very clean. The food, from the breakfast to our wedding breakfast was top notch and the evening meals were of a very high standard. My wife and myself would like to thank Lynne and every member of staff for making our special day, very special indeed. We look forward to returning next year on our first anniversary

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoggyBoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, We are thrilled to have hosted your special wedding day, Lynne was thrilled be to mentioned by name, along with the rest of the team we hope to welcome you back on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at this hotel near Lockerbie on a Groupon deal. A good place to stop if travelling en route to Western Scotland.

Rooms were excellent and food and staff friendly and attentive. It represented good value but leaked abit of character and style.

Typical Best Western standard of hotel bit enjoyed our stay in this venue in late June.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it great value for money which we always try to deliver all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This review is based on on overnight stay in a double bedded room. We had lunch in the restaurant and couldn't fault it the food was excellent and the service the same. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful and cheerful. The reception areas are lovely and look as if they have been recently done. The room was fine, clean, comfortable but in need of a wee bit of modernisation. Its a shame this hotel is right next to the busy main road, but good windows keeps the noise out quite well. All in all a good overnight stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiecurrie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thnak you for your review, our garden rooms with patio and seating area are extremely popular with our guests, thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed from 3rd-6th June 2013. I can sum up this hotel in one word - fantastic. We bought a groupon deal on a B&B basis which included an afternoon tea on arrival with a glass of prosecco. Nothing was too much trouble, they were so SO friendly and happy. We were given a free room upgrade on arrival as well!
Our room was lovely, comfy bed and nice decor, all dark mahogany. We had our own little veranda, with table and chairs which overlooked the lovely garden/putting green. Right next to the cows, which was nice. Even though the hotel was close to the M74 you wouldn't have known it.
We were there for my partners birthday, which the hotel didn't know, yet when I mentioned it in passing on our way out, we came back to a chilled bottle of champagne in our room, courtesy of the hotel! we were flabbergasted.
breakfast was fantastic, my partner said it was the best he had ever eaten, and I had to agree.
we did have sandwiches here one night but not dinner, as we found it a little pricey, but the menu looked amazing and we regret not doing so.
It isn't the closest hotel to everything but that didn't bother us.
The whiskey bar was fab, its really nice to just sit there and chill out, read or watch tv, or for a chat with the night porter (who was such a nice guy) ans they have an extensive choice of whiskies.
We will absolutely be back, best stay in Scotland we ever had, thank you to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15, it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyNixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a wonderful response regarding your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a groupon deal and we got exactly what we were expecting. A beautiful setting, excellent service and delicious food. The cream tea and glass of Prosecco on arrival was extremely good and served with a smile. Gavin on the desk was particularly helpful, friendly and cheery which all adds up to a perfect stay. Our room was very comfortable, and when we had a slight problem with the patio door it was seen to immediately ! We would not hesitate to return should we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your wonderful comments, Gavin was thrilled to be mentioned personally and he wishes to pass on his own personal thank you. we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is with great pleasure that I am writing this review.
Our stay over the Bank Holiday at the end of May was just wonderful.
We were given a room which had frosted glass and my partner has a uneasy case of confinement. We rang the front desk and moved us with no fuss. The room was just perfect, over looking fields and the lives of the cows living there kept us amused.
The staff there could not do enough for you, giving us great local information. They were all so friendly and everything was done with a smile. There was a lot going at the hotel over the days we were there, but the rooms being away from the main function rooms meant it we were not disturbed in any way. The food was good and all seemed to be local,it was also well priced.
Thank you for making it a lovely break for us and will look forward to make a return before long.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your wonderful comments all the team at the Dryfesdale have been notified of them and again thank you from them also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
291 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
16.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
2.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing