We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

we held our wedding reception here in oct 2012. we travelled from chesterfield and were joined by guests from around the country to spend the weekend here. the staff were more than friendly and couldnt do enough for us during our stay. the hotel was an excellent place to hold our wedding celebrations and all our expectations were exceeded.the food was tailored to our requests and glen helped in organising and advising us every step of the way. we can not thank all the staff enough for helping to make our wedding perfect in everyway. our guests enjoyed their stay and all agreed they would return and recommend the hotel to others. all the rooms were excellent,clean, and had everything we needed.a really big thank you to all of you!!!!!

Room Tip: we found all rooms to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Donna, Thank you for your wonderful comments, we would like to wish the two of you every happiness together in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    116
    34
    24
    14
See reviews for
107
239
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time meeting at the hotel for Sunday lunch. It's perfectly located half-way between Middlesbrough and Ayrshire for us and the in-laws. Every time we have been surprised how quiet it is, given the fantastic location and the quality of the food and service.

Three of us are veggie and both my wife and her mother are great cooks and very 'foody'. We have never been disappointed by either the quality of the food, its ingredients, flavours or presentation. My wife and I shared the brie bruschetta which was light and tasty. We all had the nut roast which, under normal circumstances, would have us howling with laughter at the lack of imagination, but this was packed with flavour and the accompanying asparagus and side salad were fresh and crisp.

Two very minor quibbles were the dire music (Adele, *shiiiver*) which was both unnecessary and loud, and the stale rolls which came to us. But given the tremendous service and yummy food we were happy to overlook these. We just left the rolls and shouted to ne heard!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reveiwer, Thank you for such a glowing review regarding our food and hotel, we have now addressed your issues regarding Adele and bought "Adeles sister album" only kidding !
We now cook freshly baked bread everyday to ensure the highest quality in fact on several occasions it is still warm straight from the oven. We hope you continue visiting many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed on the weekend 8th feb and found the hotel to be very welcoming and friendly. Groupon deal was fab value for money. Room was small but fine for our purpose, hotel full so no upgrade available. 4 free whisky's went down well. Food was good. Location was perfect, no motorway noise despite being close by. I would definitely recommend and as the title say's......return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room if you are going to spend any length of time in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaisleyBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on a Wednesday night as we were on business. The hotel has a great location, right off the motorway at Lockerbie, yet has a rural feel.

The rooms were well equipped & of a high standard. Everything you would need and expect. My only complaint about the room - it was far too warm throughout the night, even with the window open. Some of the rooms have a patio door out to a lovely seating area which was a nice addition, even though the view looked over the motorway. Very little noise from motorway when door/window closed so not a big issue.

The service was not would you would get it a busy city hotel with somewhat limited staff (we had to find someone to order a drink at the bar for example) however, the staff were warm, helpful & friendly.

The food was very nice, although we felt the menu was somewhat limited & a little over priced (average £16/17 for main course).

We will definitely use this hotel again when on a business trip - very enjoyable & pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night stay here via Groupon, it was a fantastic deal. We upgraded to a luxury room which had a 4 poster bed and a patio. The room was huge, it had a living room area with a sofa bed, the bathroom was modern. Flat screen tv in both areas of the room. Breakfast was included everyday and it was superb, my hubbie enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast, there was plenty of variety on the cooked or buffet menu. Our first evening meal was included in our deal and the food was fab, 3 courses, the servings are large, the chips were lovely. We decided to have our second evenings meal there too, excellent value 3 courses each & a bottle of wine for £49.99. Also included was whiskey tasting of 4 types each, not being whiskey drinkers my husband tried a couple but decided against the rest, this was then discounted off our final bill- a very pleasant surprise!!
The location for us was key and this hotel was good for getting to Dumfries and Galloway forest, ideal for star gazing (geeky I know) we were about 45/50 minutes away. Closer by were the Gretna Gateway retail outlet, ideal for a bargain about 20 minutes, Lockerbie was 5 minutes away and Dumfries was about 20 minutes. Overall highly recommended especially if you can find it on a groupon voucher.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, large comfortable room with a huge bed! Ground floor rooms have sliding doors to a patio/seating area which would be excellent in summertime. Some blinds or screen curtains would be good though to enable curtains to be left open so view of countryside and grounds could be enjoyed while maintaining privacy.
Restaurant meal was excellent, and all three courses couldn't be faulted. Breakfast was also high standard and service was prompt and efficient. The hotel is quite near the motorway, but was so quiet you would never know. Staff were helpful and friendly, and the real fire in the lounge was a great place to enjoy an evening drink.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to patio/seating areas through sliding doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIndaC548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with really helpful and friendly staff. The garden "suite" that we stayed in was really a room with access to outside space that might be used more in better weather but not really worth paying more for when the weather is poor. The room itself was adequate having iron, ironing board, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. It also had a nice flat screen tv but no access to sky sports etc.
Dining was acceptable but I felt some of the food was overdone, however steaks were nice.
Top marks have to go to all the staff who were very friendly and are this hotels biggest asset.
The main downside was noise from the motorway that could keep some people awake at night, however that is outside the hotels ability to change and I wouldn't mark them down too much for that.

Room Tip: In good weather a garden room would be a bonus but not really useful when the weather is poor such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
15.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing