We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Decline?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hotel in Decline?”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Having stayed at the Dryfesdale several times before, when I was very pleased with my stay, I was disappointed this time. The room was slightly jaded looking, and the food was very poor. The salmon and monkfish stir-fry was awful and the creme brulee was tasteless. Even the bacon at breakfast was dry and tough, as if it had been left on the hotplate for a couple of hours. Was it the chef's night off?

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JamTarts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    128
    36
    24
    14
See reviews for
116
250
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Hotel in lovely, rural setting very close to A74(M). Staff were welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The ground floor room was pleasant and spacious and had a lovely patio window leading onto a terrace (although net curtains/blinds would have given us some privacy@). Dining room service was excellent, as was the food.

The only nits I would pick are that, as we stayed for four nights, some extra drawer space was required. Also, the menu was the same on each night and that meant that after 3 night we were having to repeat .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Having travelled some distance to get here, we thought we would be met by a relaxing atmosphere, how wrong could we have been. There was only one way to get to our room, and that was through the main function hall. There was however a wedding on there and so we were ushered around the back and let in through the fire escape in the rear car park.
The manager, Glen was rude to guests all he seemed to care about was himself. All of the other staff seemed to be working in fear of him, as he strutted around the hotel. When we raised a problem with him he shouted at us that he didn't want to listen to us as HIS hotel did not have problems. He showed a complete lack of respect for customers property as we witnessed him pull a table cloth out to clear a table, throwing the items onto the floor.

Quite frankly there are loads of great hotels in Scotland, The Best Western, Lockerbie is not one of them

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank laptop456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfax Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Excellent weekend spent attending a wedding which was brilliantly organised and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone thanks to the attentiveness of the staff and the fine quality of the food and accommodation. The only downside to this wonderful event was at "check-out" when the wedding party price agreed via telephone of £89 per room, bed and breakfast for two people wasn't honoured and £100 was charged. Management were adamant that they would only honour the £89 if the price had been stated in writing. So any special rates agreed by telephone need to be confirmed by the hotel in writing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwhcah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This is the second time we have used this hotel foe an overnight stay on the way to north West Scotland and it makes a really good start to the holiday. The food is always excellant and the service very proffessional, but in a relaxed and friendly way. It's also a no hassle hotel if you are travelling with dogs. Probably the only downside, is that if there is a wedding, etc on, then there can be some noise.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandBarb020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My daughter held her reception at hotel, staff were brill helping were they could arranged vidio as the man we hired didnt show. Food was fantastic thanks to the chef and all the kitchen staff. The whole day was fantastic the rooms were great and i would love to do it all again thanks to everyone for a wonderful day i will never forget

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madison1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Cannot fault staff - good choice of whilsky for a night cap. No taxis from Lockerbie Station although owner said he would have collected us. Room backed onto field overlooking a busy (and noisy motorway). Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
291 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
16.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
2.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing