We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of The Hightae Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hightae Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed in the Hightae early June, after checking out the Trip Advisor reviews - was working on Business in Dumfries, a real gem .... everything from the welcome, the food, the standard of accommodation was fantastic. If you are travelling on business, or need a stop over, or are touring round Dumfries & Galloway - The Hightae is an absolute must, don't think about it - just book, you won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 383 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

This was a last minute booking for us as we were on route to Edinburgh and decided just before we went to break the journey on route. So glad we did as this has to be one of the nicest places we have stayed. Mark is an excellent host, very friendly and Morag is an excellent cook as well. The Inn has obviously been refurbished to a high standard and everything was spotlessly clean. We felt instantly at home and relaxed straight away. The evening meal was spot on and so was the breakfast next morning. All in all we cannot recommend it highly enough. Thanks to you both for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

What a fantastic find this place was, from the moment we arrived at the Inn we were greeted by Mark the owner who straight away made us so welcome and at home, this was a real taste of good Scottish warmth and hospitality. The Inn has been decorated and updated to such a high standard with some beautiful local art work and the decor was warm and very stylish and homely. Our room was warm well decorated and very clean and well presented. This place is small but has bags of big character and fine touches that Mark and Morag have added throughout the building. So with us warmly settled in we came down for our evening meal. Morag our chef for the night could put some top class London chefs to shame as her cooking was sublime. I have never had a better cooked Sea Bass, all locally sourced food cooked to such a high standard and the puddings are to die for, a beautiful choice of menu all served with Marks warmth and charm and some great humour mixed in. You can always tell when a place is going to be good when it has lots of local customers who obviously regularly return, if I lived nearby I would be in there every weekend ! I cant recommend this wee Inn highly enough, we used it as a mid way stopover from holidaying in Scotland and it was so handy being 10 minutes from the M74, we will definitely be back, what a wee gem of a place !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

An enthusiastic landlord who is eager to please guests awaits you in this quiet and lovely little village pub, wonderful food and room with the most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in. What can I say, less is more regarding size of establishment, I would highly recommend this location for the peace and quiet alone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_From_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Having only been acquainted with the Hightae Inn in the last few months, we were delighted to find this exceptional venue. Running our own Hotel in the region offers us very little time off, and to find someone else that has the same level of commitment and dedication to their chosen field is rewarding for the times we do venture out.
Mark is a credit to our profession. The place is run exceptionally well, with very good food and a level of service that we would be proud of in our own staff. This is the kind of place that the area needs and will be highly recommended to our guests. Usually I am highly critical of others in this field, this venue is an exception.
I only wish more people ran businesses in this way in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comlongon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This place is a fantastic little inn just off the M74 near Lockerbie. 10mins drive from the motorway, you feel like you are in the middle of no-where with rolling hills surrounding. A very relaxing place.

The Hightae Inn and its owners, Mark & Morag, were welcoming as soon as you arrive. The room we stayed in was clean and beautifully decorated. The bar was warm and rustic and it really felt like a home away from home. Morag's cooking is sublime and Mark was fantastic behind the bar/hosting.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough - ideal for a stop off on the way North or South, or for a romantic getaway. I am already looking forward to booking in for our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Mark & Morag are the perfect hosts and have obviously found their vocation in life. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we were treated like old friends and nothing was too much for them. Great food, great accommodation and great welcome.
If you are looking for a cosy small hotel/inn just north of the border, then there cannot be anywhere better. Forget those 'bed-factories' close too or on the M74, take the extra couple of miles of country roads and you will find the perfect spot.
We shall be recommending this place to everyone who cares to listen.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lem_jpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
2.8 mi away
Somerton House Hotel
Somerton House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lockerbie
185 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
3.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lockerbie
338 reviews
0 mi away
Kirkwood Cottages & Fishings
6.8 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lockerbie
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hightae Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hightae Inn

Address: High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range: $113 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hightae Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hightae Inn is a delightful small restaurant with rooms just 10 minutes from the A74(M) at Lockerbie and is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday. We're also pretty popular in the area for evening suppers with our fresh home-cooked evening meals served from 6.30pm to 8.30pm using locally sourced produce where possible. B&B Accommodation of 5 en-suite bedrooms - all recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hightae Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hightae Inn Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing