We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a quaint village”
Review of The Hightae Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hightae Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, but were bothered by noises from the room above. The Inn is old and as a result the sound of footsteps, etc were a bit of an annoyance. The owners were very hospitable, but don't try to check in before 500pm. We were turned away when we showed up at 400pm, so we sat in the parking lot for an hour. Breakfast was very good, you can order whatever you want. We did eat dinner here and it was especially good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review - we're sorry it wasn't a perfect stay for you. You're right - it is an old building and as you went to bed early, you heard the occupants of the room above settling down at night.

With regards to arrival times, we do state on our website and via all booking agencies that as we are closed during the day and don't open until 5pm, check-in is anytime after this. We also send personal emails during the booking process advising all our guests of this. Although we can normally accommodate early arrivals on a pre-arranged basis, we couldn't in your case as we were still servicing the rooms and public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for The Hightae Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 377 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

While browsing Trip Advisor we couldn't resist booking here. It was ideal - a few miles from the A74.Located in Hightae, a small, pretty village between Lockerbie and Lochmaben. Booking enquiry was handled well including our need for a ground floor walk-in shower. This had been a failing pub but Mark and Morag have breathed new life into it as a boutique, residential inn.

Bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed. The bar is well stocked and although the menu is limited it's inventive, locally sourced, freshly cooked and elegantly presented. Check-in is from 5 pm onwards. And the evening meals are styled as supper. That means you need to book for no later than 8.30 but the table is yours until you leave. In our case that was closer to 11 pm! Nice to be able to sample some incredible whiskies and more than a few "rare" gins and other spirits. Even the draught lager is sourced to match the "boutique" atmosphere.

Being offered scrambled eggs with smoked salmon as an alternative to the full English (sorry Scottish) was something I would more normally associate with a four or five star hotel.

A great welcome; lots of nice touches like fresh milk for your room and individual bottles of cold water for the journey home. And even a follow up email to remind me of the name and an on-line supplier for the speciality whisky I'd so enjoyed.

If you're travelling north or south, this really is a super place to stay without it costing an arm and a leg. I normally pick a Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza close to the A74 but guess where we'll be staying next time...

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are helpful for those with limited mobility as they have walk-in showers.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a one-night stop-over at the Hightae Inn on our way south from Glencoe.Quiet location, lovely room, not huge but nicely decorated and good bedding. It is also worth having your evening meal here which was excellently prepared and good value. The breakfast was also good and service was just right. It was well worth the short detour and the lived up to it's high rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from the Isle of Mull. We had a warm welcome from Mark and were shown to a room which was small but very well furnished and had fresh milk which was a lovely change in a B&B room! The Inn cannot be faulted for its food and service, we had a good nights sleep in a quiet room and an excellent breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Breaking our journey to the Lake District The Hightae Inn web site attracted us for B&B for one night. A table was booked as we were not arriving till about 8pm
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Mark who showed us to our room prior to providing an excellent evening mealin the bar.
After a very comfortable night we enjoyed an excellent breakfast before departing. Have no hesitation in recommending Hightae Inn where we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent inn. Spotlessly clean, lovely room and bathroom, very large and comfortable bed.
The welcome is warm and friendly and the home cooking delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our two days there. If you like whisky you will find Mark very knowledgeable and he has a great selection.

Room Tip: We had room four
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SqueakLoches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our holiday. We had been up from 5am that morning and when we arrived we just wanted somewhere to relax and have a good meal. Hightae did not disappoint. We were arrived to a great warm Scottish welcome and immediately felt at home. Our room was great with everything you would need and was meticulous clean. We were able to have a lie down before having our evening meal and were told not to rush ourselves a our table was ours for the night so there was no big hurry which we appreciated after being on the road for twelve hours. The evening meal did not disappoint either. It was really delicious, full of flavor and beautifully presented. You should definitely go and try it for yourself. Its a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castle-holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
314 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hightae Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hightae Inn

Address: High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range: $114 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hightae Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hightae Inn is a delightful small restaurant with rooms just 10 minutes from the A74(M) at Lockerbie and is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday. We're also pretty popular in the area for evening suppers with our fresh home-cooked evening meals served from 6.30pm to 8.30pm using locally sourced produce where possible. B&B Accommodation of 5 en-suite bedrooms - all recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hightae Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hightae Inn Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing