We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$132
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blacket House(Lockerbie)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhead Hotel(Lockerbie)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Lockerbie)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water(Lockerbie)(Great Value!)
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
396
25
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
396
25
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmark and moraghome cookedwarm welcomeexcellent hostsevening mealsmoked salmonlittle gemvery comfortable roomexcellent foodlocal produceold friendshigh standardpuddingquiet villagesat navstayed for one nightgreat stopover
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 422 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Completely unexpected. Hightae Inn exceeded every aspect of the hospitality business.
The room was comfortable, large, and very private with all the modern facilities blended into the luxurious designs of days of old.
Mark and Morag Cuthbertson are perfectly matched with their talents, skills, and they generously give attention to each guest, providing them with a lasting memory of a wonderful vacation in this part of Scotland.
The breakfast is superb, and the dinners are heavenly. They know quality and can certainly cook to anyone's satisfaction. Included in their interests are wines, scotch(s), and travel. Conversation flows easily, naturally, and is inclusive, with enough levity to leave a smile on your face all day.

Room Tip: You must have a car to get into and out of Hightae which is beautifully isolated, with a cheery pub and a wonderfully relaxed restaurant that you hesitate to leave.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beverley1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a great place to stay,spotless,comfortable room,and a really warm welcome.Mark and Morag were the perfect hosts.As well as a great breakfast they also do evening meals and would strongly recomend trying one ,you will not be disappointed .You may have wait as meals are cooked to order but Morags cooking is outstanding. We had lovely stay and will be returning the first chance we get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick14_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hightae Inn midd august for three nights. A warm welcome when we arrived on the Friday early evening. We booked dinner in the restaurant which was just lovely, Morag certainly can cook with flare so well presented. Mark served us and kept us topped up with Beer and wine, even a tipple of the old whisky later that evening, has rather a large selection to choose from. Make sure you try some even if you are not a whisky fan, he will have one there that you will enjoy. Breakfast was just fab, so well presented got a few tips will use myself when I have visitors to stay. Our room was so clean and cosy, not a speck of dust in sight, not that we went around checking mind, but you just knew when you entered the room. Settled in straight away.
We took time out travelling around, visiting the country fair, and nearby villages, coastal drives during our time there. Lots to see and do Mark even gave us directions to take with us with things to visit see and do. Yes we enjoyed it very much and would certainly recommend a visit to the (Hightae it is the Inn to stay why not get away)... Enjoy....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Woodhead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a great find! Mark and Morag are great hosts, providing a very warm, friendly welcome, a relaxed, humorous atmosphere, comfort and delicious home cooking. I am so glad I changed our stay from 1 night to 2. We were able to enjoy a relaxed Friday evening in the cosy bar, after a hard day at work, knowing we'd have a full Saturday to explore the area, then return to the comfort and welcome, plus a delicious, hot, home cooked meal. What more could you ask for. How about a very comfortable king size bed with a proper feather duvet, pristeen white cotton bedding and getting up to a delicious cooked breakfast. Suited us to a tee.

For whisky lovers, there is an extensive range in the bar, including some international options from the likes of South Africa and Japan. For those with a liking for beer, try some of the West, St Mungo for a Scottish brewed beer (Glasgow based independent brewery) with German know how. Mark's knowledge will guide the uninitiated, so give the whisky or beer a try.

Morag's home cooking is wholesome, very tasty and worth the wait, as she prepares to order. Wise to book a table in advance, as the Hightae Inn meals are very popular with the locals and those coming from farther afield. For those staying overnight, or longer, book dinner at the same time so you don't lose out.

All in all, a great place with the best of Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Mark & Morag are probably the most perfect B&B owners we've ever had the pleasure to stay with! Upon arrival we were welcomed by name rather than having to be looked up on a pc. Morag's food was incredible & Mark was the perfect front of house host. The room was spotless & extremely comfortable. Just what we needed after the long drive. The stay was made all the more special by having multiple cuddles with Thomas the Welsh terrier. He's simply gorgeous! Many thanks for a wonderful stay from Doug & Lisa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessFlaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews