We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise, surprise”
Review of The Hightae Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hightae Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hightae is a non-scenic village in the middle of nowhere. We arrived to a rather boring building with an empty car park and I feared that I had made a big mistake.

I couldn't have been more wrong. The welcome was friendly and our room comfortable and spotless. Initially we had said that we wouldn't eat, having eaten at lunchtime. By the time we got back to the bar we had changed our minds to find that Mark had given away our table! "Don't worry, we'll sort you out in half an hour - just have a drink and relax!" And half an hour it was and the food was excellent, not good for out diets! We were the only ones at breakfast the next day and had a great chat with Mark and then met the other half as we were leaving. We felt that we were leaving friends rather than a hotel and will certainly go again if we pass near.

Room Tip: Vodafone works at the top of the steps into the garden from the car park - nowhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review with TripAdvisor - we’re really glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon.

Just a quickie for folks thinking about staying with us (and without getting Fawlty-esque about Hightae) – we’re in a pretty, well kept wee village - a haven from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Check-in anytime after we open at 5pm, so plenty of car parking space early on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 383 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Wow..... loved our stay with Mark and Morag we felt very welcome.The food by Morag was fresh, local and cooked to a high standard, with great choice and quality. Accomodation was modern, impeccable and very comfy with no noise AT ALL!!! Loved Mark!! what a star kind, welcoming a great host and very funny. We' played golf a nand were rather wet when we landed so Mark helped us dry our gear for next time. M & M made our stay easy enjoyable and great advice on places to visit off the beaten track.

Room Tip: perfect for quiet, comfy night sleep!!!! Ideal for golfing base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djgolferKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Mark and Morag did a wonderful job in providing great experience to all the guests. My fiancé and I stayed in Hightae Inn for a night before heading back to London from Scotland. We were both highly impressed by the exceptional quality of food and accommodation. The room was spacious and bed was very comfy. The meals were fantastic and we both enjoy the cosy atmosphere a lot. I have no hesitation to recommend this Inn to everyone.

P.S. Indeed I lost my laptop charger in the Inn without realising but Mark kindly send it back to me quickly :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Ten members of our families stayed here as a base for our wedding in a nearby castle. It was perfect for our needs. Mark and Morag went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The bedrooms were all of a high standard, the meals were excellent as was the service. I would highly recommend this hotel as a base to explore the Dumfries and Galloway area or as a stopover and would certainly use it again should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Ring Mark and explain your needs. He will give you his honest opinion of what is available to suit y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hightae Inn for my father's wedding in a nearby castle. The whole weekend was excellent.

Rooms were spotless, spacious and decorated in a lovely chic style. Room freebies were a lovely surprise as they were locally sourced. Bed was really comfy.

Food in the Inn was absolutely wonderful, I was shocked to be honest at the how high the standard of food was, being such a small place. Food was also locally sourced, well seasoned, perfectly sized portions and a great choice available. I chose the rib-eye steak and it was the best I've ever had, top marks to the chef (Morag). We ended both evenings with a selection of whiskeys and there were a fantastic range to choose from. Breakfast also exceeded our expectations.

Service at the hotel was friendly, efficient and we felt it couldn't have been better. Mark and Morag made us all feel at home, catered for a vast range of needs within our large group and really did their all to make the weekend special.

We would all recommend the Inn and happily pay them another visit ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallulahboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Mark & Morag obviously take a genuine pride in running this cosy restaurant with rooms, and so they should. The Hightae Inn has an understated elegance that makes it special, whilst still feeling relaxing and homely. We initially decided to stay because of the superking sized bed & the down duvets and pillows, and it's this attention to detail and quality that makes the Hightae such a lovely place to stay. Tasteful furnishings, cotton sheets, simple home-cooked gorgeous meals (including really good quality sausages at breakfast), Arran Aromatic toiletries, a great range of whiskeys and even a gin from Islay!
We had a great time chatting to Mark & Morag and were made to feel extremely welcome throughout our 2 night stay. We will be back. Oh yes, we will be back!
P.S. On our second night at dinner we were very amused by the table next to us who had been chatting away and then were suddenly reduced to complete silence whilst they ate their puddings and then told all the other tables that they all MUST try the Marmalade bread & Butter pudding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

first stopped with mark and morag in 2009 and have stopped many times since whilst travelling and have never received anything but first class and warm friendly service along with my fellow travellers. the hightae is situated nicely just off the beaten track to create a nice relaxed atmosphere with a fine dining experience to be had due to morags cullinary skills, having a menu that suits a wide range of pallates, add to this a nicely stocked bar which is attentively manned by mark. the rooms are finished to a high standard with clean modern lines all ensuite and are spacious. rounded off nicely in the morning with a good breakfast and a bon voyage departure the hightae is far more than a b&b, its a pleasure to part with hard earned cash as you feel you haved more than your moneys worth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
2.8 mi away
Somerton House Hotel
Somerton House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lockerbie
185 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
3.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lockerbie
339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kirkwood Cottages & Fishings
6.8 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lockerbie
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hightae Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hightae Inn

Address: High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range: $113 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hightae Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hightae Inn is a delightful small restaurant with rooms just 10 minutes from the A74(M) at Lockerbie and is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday. We're also pretty popular in the area for evening suppers with our fresh home-cooked evening meals served from 6.30pm to 8.30pm using locally sourced produce where possible. B&B Accommodation of 5 en-suite bedrooms - all recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hightae Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hightae Inn Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing