We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes Lockerbie famous for something else”
Review of The Hightae Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hightae Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Absolutely delighted with this hotel, and its proprietors Mark and Morag. Mark has a phenomenal talent for names; I was greeted by name on arrival, and again at when he took my breakfast order. Breakfast being, by the way, spectacular, including limitless tea and toast and freshly squeezed orange juice. (Just don’t refer to it as a ‘full English’ on that side of the border.)

The hotel itself was so stylish it made me want to go home and redecorate immediately, everything from the French style triple mirrors to the pile of vogue magazines on the landing to the delicious toiletries in the bathroom – the tartan bedthrows adding a little macho. Whatever, awesome – love to go back, from now on when I think of Lockerbie an aviation disaster won’t be the first thing that springs to mind.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiddlypiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was my fourth visit to the The Hightae Inn and I have yet to be disappointed in any aspect. You arrive as guests and Mark and Morag make you feel so welcome that it feels like you are leaving friends behind when you leave.

The service and food are both excellent and the beds very confortable.

This is now a very welcome stop on our trips to the north of Scotland and I would throuoghly recommend. This trip we stopped an extra night to discover a bit more of the area and Mark could not have been more helpful pointing us in the right direction.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGM1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Hightae Inn is set in a pretty & peaceful village. The genuinely warm welcome from Mark & Morag on our arrival was much appreciated & throughout our two night stay we could not have been made to feel more at home.

The Inn is a solidly built, stone building and a separate, yet adjoining wing houses four of the five available rooms. Our room (No 4) was located on the first floor and was well appointed, bright, immaculately clean & airy, with a super comfortable bed. There is no noise at all in the village and we had two very peaceful night’s sleep.

The food is exceptionally good. Breakfast is excellent, with cereals, juices, toast, full ‘English’ etc. We enjoyed the most delicious smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. However, we must make special mention of dinner. A selection of meat, fish and chicken options, followed by a range of unusual desserts was available. All produce is locally sourced, high quality & freshly cooked and arrives piping hot and well presented. This is not the ubiquitous ‘pub food’ so often encountered; rather it is excellent food, carefully prepared and lovingly presented. Our family group, including our 14 month old granddaughter had a truly memorable dinner.

Overall, a great stay. Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending our friends wedding at Comlongon Castle. I can't speak more highly of Mark and Morag and of the service they provided for us. We really felt welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. The food was first and Mark's whiskey education for the lads the night before the wedding was excellent. Thank you for making our stay so good. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here after a friends wedding at Comlondon Castle, as we wanted to explore the Dumfries and Galloway area a bit further. The room was spotless and very comfortable, and the owner very friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely meal in the pub downstairs and there was live music that evening which was great. Altogether a very good place to stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stopped at The Hightae Inn on the way up to Fort William, merely as a place to catch some sleep as we broke up the journey North.

What we found was a lovely couple who could do everything to make you feel welcome. Mark and Morag have fantastic personalties which really make this place special, combined with some fantatic food and drink, it was such a shame to be leaving again in the morning.

They even sent a refund to us in the post for £1.25 they found they had overcharged us in error, not many places would go to that kind of effort.

Anyone looking for a place to stay in this area for a few nights shouldnt look any further than here.

Thanks for a wonderful time.
(PS we finished the 3 Peaks, 2 in under 24 hrs and two in 25hrs)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianjlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Evrything about this Inn is great. We arrived at about 8.30 in the evening and we had the warmest welcome from Mark, a wonderful, unhurried meal and a really comfortable nights sleep. If you are on your way up to , or coming back from Scotland, break your journey here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hattie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
325 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
67 reviews
3.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
99 reviews
11.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hightae Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hightae Inn

Address: High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range: $115 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hightae Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hightae Inn is a delightful small restaurant with rooms just 10 minutes from the A74(M) at Lockerbie and is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday. We're also pretty popular in the area for evening suppers with our fresh home-cooked evening meals served from 6.30pm to 8.30pm using locally sourced produce where possible. B&B Accommodation of 5 en-suite bedrooms - all recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hightae Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hightae Inn Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing