We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure at the "centre of the universe"”
Review of The Hightae Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hightae Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A last minute booking for a stopover, but would definitely recommend staying at least a few days to work through the menu and explore the area a bit rather than just passing through. Very warm (and entertaining) welcome. Room clean, comfortable and quiet despite being ground floor and onto the 'high road' - one tractor and the occasional pushbike? Spoilt for choice on the evening meal, breakfast was also really good. Pity we couldn't stay longer, I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamasamaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 382 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

Exceptionally warm welcome from Mark and Morag. Very comfortable room, spotlessly clean. Delicious evening meal in convivial atmosphere and excellent breakfast the next morning. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iancooper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hi
we stayed at the Hightae inn at the beginning of may and recived a warm welcome from Mark and his wife. The rooms were clean and comfortable with fresh flowers. The food was all freshly home cooked and the atmosphere was excellant.

The inn is tucked away from the hustle and bustle and we had a lovely visit.

thank you

Bridget and Paul

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 001Bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The Hightae Inn was a real find. We stayed for one night enroute to our holiday cottage on the Ardnamurchan pennisula. Mark and Morag greeted us like old friends and made us feel really welcome. The room was lovely and comfortable and the food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent. We will certainly visit again and would recommend to friends. Thank you for a relaxing and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueking116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

nice quiet country inn well run by nice couple,very clean,food good

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The Hightae is a traditional family run pub / b&b located in a quiet hamlet (Hightae) close to Lockerbie. My room was a double on the ground floor. Spotlessly clean with en suite facilities. Dinner was taken in the bar and I had a great meal - all home cooking; great presentation and excellent quality - no microwave cooking here! Breakfast the same - all very good. Mark & Morag that own and run the Hightae are great hosts and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

08.04.11 First but hopefully not the last visit to the Hightae Inn, arrived to the best welcome we have every had anywhere. Mark was behind the bar and welcomed us as old friends. We were shown to room 3, lovely room big bed and on suite shower room. A big thank you to Morag for the superb meal, it was outstanding.
Mark & Morag's customer service is outstanding by the time we left it was like leaving friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
3.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
327 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerton House Hotel
Somerton House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lockerbie
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hightae Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hightae Inn

Address: High Road, Lockerbie DG11 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range: $116 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hightae Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hightae Inn is a delightful small restaurant with rooms just 10 minutes from the A74(M) at Lockerbie and is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday. We're also pretty popular in the area for evening suppers with our fresh home-cooked evening meals served from 6.30pm to 8.30pm using locally sourced produce where possible. B&B Accommodation of 5 en-suite bedrooms - all recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hightae Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hightae Inn Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing