We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its all about the food!”
Review of Paul Leary @ The Woodhouse - CLOSED

Paul Leary @ The Woodhouse
Price range: $50 - $198
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“its all about the food!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, attentive waiting staff. Bu the food, stole the the show. Top marks to the kitchen team. No issues recommending your food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lou w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    24
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
193 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Four of us went for lunch recently. We chose from the set lunch menu. The 2 types of bread were quite interesting but not exciting.
The smoked haddock kedgeree with poached egg starter was underwhelming. Nothing special about the presentation. The egg was hidden beneath a mound of yellow rice. This tasted of smoked haddock but no flakes of fish were in evidence. The rice was undercooked, still hard in places.
The main course of duck breast with spring roll and black kale was small, a slice of duck breast, a very small spring roll and 2 kale leaves and what appeared to be shredded kale in a sauce. The sauce around the plate seemed to be rather strong for the more subtle flavour of the duck and kale.
One of us had a different dish that he enjoyed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2pomsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impossibly good!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We visited for our Valentines Day meal. I always try to select somewhere special, but having moved house and city, this was more speculative than in the past. But wow! This, we both agreed, was the best Valentines meal we had ever had. The beef medallions simply defied description; I have never had better, and I'm not convinced I have ever had its equal. The service was excellent (apart from the slight faux pas of not offering a taste of the wine first), and the wine was better than we usually find, even in the very best restaurants in London. In fact, that one little faux-pas was the only blemish in an otherwise breathtaking evening.
Perhaps the best recommendation I can make is that we have earmarked this restaurant as one of 'our' places now, and we intend to return on the next occasion we can squeeze from our calendar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TandT59and51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larino
2 reviews
“paul Leary restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I very dissipoint about the food I eat last nigth, on the 10 course menu`, the food was cold, the portion very small, for the price we paid , the menu`not mach the price we paid.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeslarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fireblade4, Owner at Paul Leary @ The Woodhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Very sorry to hear you didnt enjoy it, I must say its the first ever compliant about the ten course taster being small! As you asked us to stop serving twice for a breather i assumed it was because your table was full. As for the food being cold - we never serve the food piping hot as it would over cook the lamb - Venison - Salmon etc. Also you were a party of 10 which is quite difficult in a fine dining restaurant to send out. You also had plenty of bread to start which makes it 11 courses for £60 which in the current market is quite cheap. My wife stated your party was really enjoying the meal and couldnt thank us enough for a wonderful night so you can imagine we are quite shocked and very sorry for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend to the woodhouse on a Saturday a few weeks back as a surprise/treat and we were not disappointed. Staff were incredibly attentive! We were greeted by a male member of staff who took us straight through and made sure we were all ok before he left, after ordering we received some 'home made bread' which was remarkable! If I could go to the local shop and buy any bread it'd definitely be a loaf of the stout and treacle that the restaurant serves. Throughout the night we were served by three staff in total but one particular waiter, I can only describe him as having interesting hair, served us for the majority of the night. He made sure we were ok for drinks and when our main courses came out he asked if he could do anything else for us whilst he was there, whilst we did not need anything the notion was much appreciated. The same waiter then cleared our plates and asked if we'd like a 5-10 minute break before ordering our deserts...this was much appreciated as the courses we ordered, on top of the complementary amuse, had been quite filling. Once our desert order was taken we were AGAIN surprised by a 'pre-desert', another complimentary course that adds to the novelty of the evening. Once all was done we payed and left an appreciative tip. So, overall? Food amazing. Staff amazing. We'll be returning soon without a doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Restaurenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Leary @ The Woodhouse also viewed

Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Burton on the Wolds, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing