We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal experience”

Browns Lane Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 257 Restaurants in Loughborough
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Browns Lane has a stylish bar with a relaxed feel, and a restaurant that offers high quality freshly prepared cuisine. Imaginative cocktails to perfectly chilled champagne, freshly prepared lunchtime snack menus to the sumptuous specials board, create a perfect setting for any social occasion - coffee with a friend, a romantic meal for two or a big celebratory meal. The upstairs restaurant offers an a la carte menu of modern English 'with a twist' which changes monthly. All dishes are cooked to order using fresh, seasonal, local produce, by chefs who insist on a very high standard of cuisine. Our food is served until 10pm Monday to Saturday
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely meal experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had been recommended to go this restaurant and were not disappointed and now want to recommend it to you. We ordered from the a la carte menu, which ranges for a main course from £12-£22 so you might prefer to come here for a treat or self-indulgence. However, it is a very innovative menu and an opportunity to try dishes you may not have had before. The food is good quality ingredients, presented beautifully and plentiful. The ambience is lovely. The service is attentive, helpful and comes with a smile. We will certainly be coming back here again. Why not give it a try and see for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    116
    46
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Value”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I visited Browns Lane for a leaving do. We all ate from the party menu - I had two courses which comprised a delicious mackerel pate and a very tasty risotto. For the price, the food was very good, the atmosphere is buzzing and it would make a good place for large parties to celebrate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank everythings_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here several times in the past...always good and often excellent. This weekend we went as a group of 17 and chose from the fixed price menu on a pre-order basis.....the price was excellent for such a large group and I have to say the food was of a quality that you would ordinarily be happy to pay more for. Staff were fabulous, the service was efficient and friendly and we all had a fantastic time. This meal was for a big family celebration ....my mum and dad's 50th wedding anniversary! Browns Lane didn't let us down in any way...thank you for helping us to have a really great celebration!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice to be proved wrong”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We last visited Browns over 5 years ago and were disappointed by the food so have stayed away since.However, after constantly reading good reviews, we decided to give it another go. I have to admit the food was as good as I have eaten in Loughborough. The service was attentive without being in your face, and the atmosphere we found lovely. A very good dining experience and Browns lane is now back on our rotor of good restaurants

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CchrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have had several meals at Browns recently, mostly with work, and I cannot fault them. The food is always excellent, the service is professional and friendly, and they have been extremely helpful in accommodating a range of (sometimes quite curious) dietary requirements. I must commend the management for their helpful and courteous organisation. Nothing I have asked has been too difficult, and they helped to make what can be quite a stressful task, very straightfoward. The setting is lovely. The old building with the lovely decor lends itself wonderfully to an atmospheric experience.

Most recently I took a large group of 25 people for dinner, which we had pre-ordered from the party menu. The food arrived, to the correct people, on time, and tasting delicious! The staff were brilliant in remembering who had ordered what, and where they were sitting which eliminated the awkward 'whose meal is this' scenario and making my experience much more enjoyable. There were several (very) last minute additions and complications, none of which caused even the slightest ripple of confusion. They were, in short, amazing.

I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Looby83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Lane Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Browns Lane Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing