We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money in a convenient location close to the town”
Review of Forest Rise Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loughborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Rise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2010

A group of 12 of us stay here on a regular yearly basis. The hotel is well situated and only a few minutes walk from the extensive market (which offers amazing bargains at closing time!). The accomodation is spotlessly clean and comfortable and reception staff are both friendly and helpful. Its most memorable feature is the English Breakfast
(preceded by choice of 13 cereals, grapefruit, yoghurt, dried fruit, juice etc!), with two eggs and eight other items, (served, fellas, by a waitress who looks as though she has just stepped off the cover of 'Vogue' magazine!),unlimited toast and beverages.
'Forest Rise' is a consistent model of excellence and very well worth a visit.

'The Sixties' Gang'

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1749673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

I would not stay in the old wing of this hotel. Very dingy and dead flies on the floor, lights that need cleaning etc. Staff were great, very friendly, dining area is lovely. Other reviews say new wing is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PABSCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback.
We were pleased to hear that you were made to feel welcome during your stay at the "Forest Rise"

Unfortunately the bedroom facilities did not meet your expectations on this occasion for which we
are very sorry. Since your last visit the bedrooms in the main part of the building have also been refurbished. We also do our best to ensure that the rooms are adequately cleaned.

We would love to see you again if you are ever in the area.

Kind Regards

The Forest Rise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We have been using the Forest Rise Hotel as a starting and ending off point on our travels for many a year. It originally is an old building converted into hotel and had a very antique feel to it. Recently the "old lady" has had a face lift or rather a very fashionable accessory attached to it! A new wing has been added to the hotel. The new side is very posh and all you could ask for in a comfy hotel room. New decor, new baths and new TV with a range of satellite channels. It breathes new life into the hotel.

The Hotel finds itself very close to the town centre (walking distance <5min) so pubs n grub are never far away. Loughborough is a university town so beware there are students there....everywhere (during term)! However I find Loughborough in a quite a central loation in England and use it to start my car hire from and a springboard to my travels in the rest of the UK and even some parts of Europe (East Midlands airport also very nearby).

Back to the hotel.....The older part of the hotel is still there....just beware its face-lift is only now starting (May 2010) and will take a while to get up to the same standards as the new extension. There are differences in prices for the old vs new side and beware there are also major comfort issues to compare as well.
However serice wise...you are treated as family and there is even Coco the dog to greet you with a wag of her tail. Breakfasts are fab and the staff very obliging and friendly.

if you can...get a room in the new wing...its worth the extra pounds!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IldiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed in the Forest Rise Hotel for 18 days and will never forget it for all the wrong reasons!! Like many other people have noted the manager was the rudest person I have ever met, so much so that her staff even apologised to me for how she had acted. There was 5 of us staying and we got a cheap price due to the number of nights we were staying, however in the managers opinion "I don't need you here, I can fill your rooms in a second!" lovely thing to say in person to me!

A word of advice, don't ask for the bar to be open because if your a student you may get this comment: "if I had known you were students I wouldn't have given you the rooms!".

Total disgrace of a hotel (except for the night porter who was a good laugh!)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hooper2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is a family run business with basic and slightly tired rooms, but excellent breakfast and very friendly service.

Pros:
Spacious rooms with large beds
Excellent breakfast
Friendly staff

Cons:
Rooms need renovation (very mixed styles, shower fitted into corner of room, old furniture)

Value and friendliness were ok, so I would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed here with a friend for three nights and was delighted with levels of cleanliness, professionalism and service that are kept at the forest rise. Adele, the chef and receptionist was most polite and has a wonderful sense of humour, making our stay a memorable one!!

Couldnt praise enough, Diane, is great with local knowledge and always happy to help.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenixinthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I visited the hotel when my uncle was a guest and was amazed at the quality of the upgrade. The younge receptionist on duty was professional and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The whole place had a really good feel to it and although the furnishings were modern it had a really warm and cosy feel to it.

I would think that this has got to be one of the best hotels of its kind in Loughborough and I would recommend it highly to anyone

The word needs to get around now as it had such dismal reviews in the past.

Thankfully someone has clearly taken the criticism on board so now its reputation should soar very quickly.

Well done to all those concerned - Loughb orough needed just such a hotel

Could not fault anything about it and I stay in quite a number of hotels across the country on leisure breaks.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
882 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Rise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Rise Hotel

Address: 55 Forest Road, Loughborough LE11 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Loughborough
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel closes for good end of January 2018. we would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who stayed with us at the hotel during the many years we have been open. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Forest Rise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing