We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better than it is”
Review of Forest Rise Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loughborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Rise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a B&B dressed up as a hotel. There is much to like - good staff in reception, lovely bathroom, well decorated dining room, but much to be disappointed in. But don't be deluded by a nice looking website. My daughter stayed with us in the room and was given a camp bed, not a 'proper' folding bed. It was freezing cold until we put a duvet on the top as a mattress. A tiny TV perched up too high - this is not acceptable these days - and, most irritatingly, a poor breakfast. I arrived just before the closing time of 9 am - on a SUNDAY? Come on people... My family were to follow and I was told very snippily by a grumpy waitress that they had better hurry up. The choice is limited - no danish pastries for example, limited cereal choice - so I had a cooked breakfast with was warm not hot, greasy and not worth persisting with. My wife went into the bar and it was made very clear by the barman and the only other guest that they did not appreciate her presence - she was waiting for me. Mind you there was a delightful young lady in reception studying for her Master's who was uncommonly helpful. Return? Not anyime soon. Anyone know of a decent hotel in Loughborough? A waste of £90.

Room Tip: Its a quiet area, to be fair, so I can't imagine that any room is noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the staff and decoration of the hotel. However we do feel that some of your comments were a little unfair.

On the rare occasions we do use a camp bed (when all of the triple rooms are booked), we do advise booking two rooms if the camp bed solution is an issue and we always inform guests when this is the only option left.

With regards to the heating, our welcome packs detail on how to change the temperature on radiators and thermostats in the room. We also have 24 hour staff here who are always to help with any issues.

Our breakfasts do finish at 9.30am on Sunday and we believe you arrived at 9.30am for breakfast which unfortunately is our closing time.
We did stay open to ensure that you received breakfast from the kitchen.

The breakfast also includes 12 bowls of various cereals, all of these were available at the time. We also do provide croissants and warm bread rolls, but do not provide danish pastries.

We do apologise for any confusion caused during your stay, however I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you our high level of service on your next visit to Loughborough.

Kind Regards

The Forest Rise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Forest Rise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Forest Rise is a lovely welcoming hotel very close to Loughborough town centre with its own free car park. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable with every thing you need. Fluffy towels, hairdryer, toiletries, wifi etc. The breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. We stayed to visit our daughter who is at Loughborough Uni and ate at Browns Lanes restaurant just down the road, another wonderful find. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi,

Many thanks for staying with Forest Rise, we are glad you had a fantastic time at the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards

Maria Crawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Forest Rise is a really lovely and luxurious hotel to stay in. I can't recommend it enough. It's unassuming entrance is lovely and it is not grand and imposing. However, the furnishings throughout are modern and bright, the staff are friendly and accommodating and breakfast is tasty and served by friendly staff. Also, not only does it have its own car park but it's handy to get to Loughborough uni, which is very close by, if like us, you want to visit your youngster while they are at the uni. Don't miss out on this find because it really is very good and well worth a visit, which in our case will be again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park may be a little quieter than if they overlook the road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hello,
Many Thanks for your lovely comments about "Forest rise"
We hope that you will return again soon.

Kind Regards

The Forest rise team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in October 2012.
The room was very good and economical too.
Hotel staff is helpful and nice.
Hotel is located in safe and quite area, close to town center with good public transport connections.

Room Tip: They also have economical single rooms which are not listed in their website. Call the hotel desk fo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Forest rise. We appreciate your positive comments and hope that if you need to visit Loughborough in the future you would consider returning to Forest rise.

Kind Regards

The Forest rise Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Best hotel I have ever stayed in. Excellent Room, excellent food and great staff. Don't go anywhere else. Wifi is free and I could even use my laptop at the breakfast table. Great location for Loughborough College and the University.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14. If you cannot sleep (not the hotels fault) you can watch the fox playing in Forest...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandMan1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate all your positive comments and hope that you may return in the near future. Hopefully the foxes will also put in an appearance!!!!

Kind Regards

The Forest Rise Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've been stating in forest rise since 2003 and have seen this establishment develop from a good friendly traditional B&B into a truly great hotel. The owners have reinvested in the business and now the rooms are simply the best you can get. Modern, stylish, clean, friendly, affordable, great value are just a few ways of describing Forest Rise.

I work for one of the UK's leading Sports Governing Bodies who's head office is based in Loughborough and we always return to Forest Rise as the service is impeccable. If anyone has anything negative to say then I'm not sure you've stayed in the same hotel!!

Gold Medal Standard Accommodation!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel. It is always good to hear from our regular customers and get such positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

The Forest Rise Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

thanks you Maria and all Forestrise team ,my friends and i stayed here while training at loughborough Uni, comfortable beds,great rooms loads of parking and so easy to get to the town or Uni, ps love your two chocalate labradours

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graig j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaForestRise, Owner at Forest Rise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your review of your stay at "Forest rise" We are pleased that you liked the bedrooms
and also our location close to Loughborough University.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Forest rise Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
2.9 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
167 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Rise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Rise Hotel

Address: 55 Forest Road, Loughborough LE11 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Loughborough
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel close to town and The university is just around the corner. Our aim is for a home from home atmosphere. Well behaved family pets are very welcome. Large free car park available when staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Forest Rise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing