We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for the deal we got”
Review of The Hunting Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hunting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for the deal we got”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Staff really friendly & helpful. Loved the room styles and comfortable bed.
Good night sleep - nice & quiet after closing.
Food was great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    39
    21
    18
    17
See reviews for
42
58
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have recently experienced a last minute fantastic value for money stay at the Hunter's Lodge! We stayed in the large,clean lovely Louis room and from start to finish our short stay was really relaxing and memorable.This was due to the ambience of the bar area late afternoon, the buzzing Saturday night feel of the restaurant, the extensive high quality menu on offer and thanks to their charming staff -Chantelle who helped us secure our booking, Gavin, Laura and Wayne - who were all friendly, personable and helpful - essential qualities which should be the norm in this industry but are so often absent!Fabulous team effort,would love to go back!Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinhorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

What a lovely hotel! We stayed in the YoKo room and it was lovely, large room, large bathroom and very clean with lots of lovely little touches in the room. We had a few drinks in the bar and the staff were really lovely and couldnt do more for us. Breakfast was equally nice, cereals, fresh fruit, toast and fresh pastries. Fantastic value for money and we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

First stop in Loughborough, great atmos pub and nice room, if a little small than we were expecting. However the zebra throw was a bonus and the extended lie in was a definite boon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IfritJinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We booked on-line, and then called them to enquire about breakfast times etc
. 2 days later they just sent us an e-mail saying they had cancelled our booking due to prior arrangements. Seen as we were due to be going within the next 5 days this caused us a lot of inconvenience in finding somewhere else

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loughborough hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed at the Hunting Lodge for one night at the end of August this year. As stated in a previous review, it is a large pub rather than a hotel with our room - the Yoko Room - costing £90 which included a continental breakfast which we decided to upgrade to a "full English" for an extra £7 each.
The room was large and airy and the bathroom was spotless. The top covers on the twin beds were stained. The whole was placed on a plinth with a wooden frame around it - this was to give the impression of "peace" and "tranquility" going on. Unfortunately, my husband fell off the plinth during the night and the whole thing creaked every time we turned over in bed!
The pub emptied at around midnight. We had had returned at about 11 from a function. It was very noisy outside our window until everyone left.

In the morning, when we left the room, we were greeted with the smell of cooking fat. Having previously agreed that we would come down to breakfast at 9.30, we entered a huge empty dining room and sat at a table which was set for dinner - complete with wine glasses.

I have to say the staff were very friendly and obliging but I was left reeling when, having asked if we wanted tea or coffee, our waitress said "I'll go and see if your breakfast is ready". Having had to ask for orange juice, we looked around for the usual trappings of a full English i.e. cereals, fruit etc. Nothing to be seen - not even a menu for us to choose our breakfast. Within a minute, two plates were brought to our table which were full - but full of items I would not necessarily have asked for, including fried potatoes (hence the smell of cooking fat!). The whole thing was very hot with the baked beans congealing and stuck to the plate. We ate hardly anything. The toast came later as the chef "had burnt the first lot" and this was cold and anaemic looking - obviously the chef wasn't taking any chances with the second lot of toast!

We have a vast experience of hotels, both as a couple and separately in our jobs. I can honestly say that breakfast was the worst one I have ever had. Never again..... Totally overpriced and the whole experience was not good.

  • Liked — the large room
  • Disliked — the awful breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubyslippers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed here on New Year's Eve because the location was very close to where we were attending a function. It is really a pub with rooms, as opposed to a proper hotel. You enter straight into the bar and there is no reception, so someone comes out from behind the bar and searches through a big box for your key. The room was large, but very very cold, especially during the night, I was absolutely freezing. This is not helped by the fact that the beds do not have duvets, but only inadequate blankets. The bathroom is rather basic, with a grubby shower curtain. The cream carpet is in dire need of cleaning, and the fact that the tiny tv is placed on top of the wardrobe makes it uncomfortable to watch. Apart from this, the room is adequate, with nice blinds and curtains. We returned from our function at 1:30 to find a New Year's Eve party going on at full blast until 3:00, making sleep absolutely impossible, it was like having a disco in the same room it was so loud. Whilst I appreciate it was New Year's Eve, I do feel that we should have been warned about this when we booked, as 3:00am is quite late by anyone's standards. Apart from this, staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast (included) was fine - choice of cereals, one piece of toast and a warm croissant each. However, I do feel that £90 was expensive for what we got, I do not think we got value for money, especially as we only had a few hours sleep due to their party! I would not stay here again, I feel it is way overpriced for what it is.

  • Liked — Attractive beds
  • Disliked — Cold, cold, cold....................and noisy!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cruella55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
0.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
355 reviews
4.0 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
567 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
642 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Property: The Hunting Lodge
Address: 38 South Street | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough LE12 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing