We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely decorated pubs with a nice outdoor area”
Review of The Hunting Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hunting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nicely decorated pubs with a nice outdoor area”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been visiting the hunting lodge for years and have always enjoyed it.

The service is always good, and you can relax inside on the vintage furniture or enjoy sitting outside in the large garden area with friends on a hot summers day.

I am not overwhelmed by the food, some of it does not seem to be home cooked... But I love going their for a drink with friends.

It is good for occasions - we often go for Halloween and it is brilliant, everyone is dressed up and the place is decorated top to bottom! Really get into the spirit of things!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkdunn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoy coming to The Hunting Lodge and will look forward to seeing you at the next Halloween party on the 1st of November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    21
    18
    16
See reviews for
40
58
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited with friends for Sunday lunch at the pub/restaurant part of the Hunting Lodge and although we had a bit of a mix up at the beginning with the time of our booking, we were accomodated in the big bar area of the restaurant which was actually really nice (the main restaurant was also a large space and totally full of diners) The decor was modern rustic with wooden floors and the whole pub area looked very nice too. The staff were encountered were lovely especially the gentleman who took our order and looked after us.We were given a bottle of water free of charge and asked for sauces for our roasts and a veg top up which was appreciated although we were all full!
The food quality was good and there was plenty of it so we thought Sunday lunch was good value for money.

The menu was actually very extensive and I am sure that we will come back and sample some more of it in the future as it all sounded really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited for an early eve Sunday meal. Great menu, plenty of choice, not too pretentious. Very good attentive service, knowledgeable staff and nothing too much to ask.
We opted for chicken roulade and a braised beef. Both accompanied with potatoes and vegetables. For dessert, a traditional apple and rhubarb crumble with custard. All the food was freshly prepared. The veg steamed and not over done. All served on hot plates. The attention and details was very good.

What makes the experience is the attention to detail. A complimentary bottle of filtered water is provided together with a"top up" service on the vegetables. This really made it for us. Actually sets it apart form other gastro pubs in the area.

Again i cant praise the establishment for friendly attentive and courteous service. I will be returning sooner rather than later!

The place also offers accommodation too, individually styled rooms. Take a look at the website. Themed nights and live music as well!


Well done to all at The Hunting Lodge!

Room Tip: Looking at the rooms id go for The Fagin or The Dali
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Can't believe people are saying the food is rubbish, what are you talking about!?! We went to eat on a Tuesday for the early bird menu (2 courses for £7.95, before 6.30pm). We were not expecting large portions for the price. However, we could not have been more pleased with the food. Absolutely delicious, tastes homemade. Generous portions for the price. Not just frozen veg either. Piping hot. Lovely pub, nice atmosphere and friendly waitresses. Really pleasantly surprised and will definitely recommend and return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharityPalmer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
301 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed as part of the annual reunion, the food was terrible and I couldn't eat it. The room was fine and we slept quite well until woken very early by noisy heating, but the breakfast was also disappointing and not up to their usual standard.

I also agree about the packed bar, unfortunately due to the bad weather, but you only had to see the forecast to know and put contingency plans in place - poor organisation and management. I did hear a few whispers about moving the venue and think this might be a good idea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishboneWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loughborough hotels

St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Attended our annual reunion on Saturday which was a fantastic event as always.

As a venue this works really well when the weather is fine as the large beer garden allows everyone to spread out and circulate. However, on this occasion the weather was cold and showery which meant that the @300 guests were all packed into the bar area which is just not up to this volume.

Rather disappointingly was that despite the reunion being held here every year since at least 2007 with the owners knowing the numbers attending, only had 4 bar staff on duty for most of the day, which was totally inadequate and pure bad planning.

The packed bar made it virtually impossible to circulate and there were many, many old friends I did not get the opportunity to see.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for you review. I can only apologies that you didn't receive the level of service you expected at The Hunting Lodge on the day of the Army Reunion. We do try our best to make sure all our guests leave happy and this occasion we have not. On the day in question we did have 6 staff on the daytime and 11 on all evening from between 5 / 6pm but were caught unaware when quite a lot of our guests arrived earlier than we expected as normally people seemed to arrive later afternoon. We have noted this and next year we will be making sure we are fully staffed from an earlier time. Hopefully next year the weather will be nice and if not we will make sure the Garden Gazebo's are sign posted so people can go and relax outside and circulate a bit more.
Many Thanks
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

When booking B&B in England, one presumes full English, especially at these prices. It is not made clear on the website that the breakfast is continental.Even the member of staff who served us at breakfast said she couldn't see any mention of it just being continental. Wood chip on the ceiling in the Feng Shui room along with poorly plastered walls and horrible dirty blind in the bathroom. Cold rooms. Disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChHHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.0 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Property: The Hunting Lodge
Address: 38 South Street | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough LE12 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing