We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”
Review of The Hunting Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hunting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We visited the Hunting Lodge on a Groupon Deal and had a really lovely stay. The themed 'Biko' room was spacious and comfortable with a great high ceiling. The menu was extensive and the 3 course meal was really enjoyable. The restaurant was full and I would definitely go back for a meal if in the area. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Jenny who really made our stay extra special. The Hunting Lodge is a lovely pub / restaurant / hotel with a very relaxed and warm atmosphere... i would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_Fifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    21
    18
    17
See reviews for
42
58
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I visited this place on the Groupon deal so was a bit sceptical as to what it would be like, I thought the deal was too good to be true. Upon arrival I knew it was going to be worth every penny. We were shown to a nice, clean room albeit with a very quirky theme, not that this was a negative. We had a great dinner in the evening, and everyone in the restaurant seemed to be enjoying the food too. We also had breakfast included which again was superb. I would certainly recommend this place and wouldn't feel aggrieved by paying full price for the the fantastic food on the menu. Well done to the staff and everyone involved with this place, don't change anything it's working brilliantly

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed for one night with the Groupon voucher, what a wonderful place the staftt were so welcoming and helpful. the evening meal was lovely , the veg was a little overcooked but the steak was well cooked, we stayed in the Dali room lovely and clean and big bathroom. We could not have eaten a cooked breakfast so ceral/toast and fruit and jams were just enough. would def go back,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed here as part of a Groupon deal with accomodation and 3 course dinner included.
A warm welcome , friendly staff, and a relaxed feel about the pub/restaurant, The room (Chopin) was clean and again had a chilled out relaxed ambience. Shower was wonderfully powerful to releave all the stresses and aches. Evening meal - Starters were poor (mussels tiny and microwaved, as was chicken in cajun spices) but more than made up for by the fillet steak Napoleon, cooked perfectlyu medium rare , full and juicy .
Overall a lovely pub/restaurant in a nice village with the added benfit of excellent accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamMichelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2010

A very nice , extremely friendly Hotel . The Manager and his Staff were all genuinely friendly . Room, Food 100% . Thank you .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentlandk940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Staff really friendly & helpful. Loved the room styles and comfortable bed.
Good night sleep - nice & quiet after closing.
Food was great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have recently experienced a last minute fantastic value for money stay at the Hunter's Lodge! We stayed in the large,clean lovely Louis room and from start to finish our short stay was really relaxing and memorable.This was due to the ambience of the bar area late afternoon, the buzzing Saturday night feel of the restaurant, the extensive high quality menu on offer and thanks to their charming staff -Chantelle who helped us secure our booking, Gavin, Laura and Wayne - who were all friendly, personable and helpful - essential qualities which should be the norm in this industry but are so often absent!Fabulous team effort,would love to go back!Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinhorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
0.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
358 reviews
4.0 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Property: The Hunting Lodge
Address: 38 South Street | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough LE12 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing