We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Burleigh Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Burleigh Court
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Booked two rooms through Laterooms at separate times, both at £55.00 - a considerable discount on the Rack Rate of £131.00 or the more usually quoted £98.00. I should add the cheapest rate tends to be only available at weekends, and obviously not then if they have a large conference or wedding booking. I mention this because the rate available gives a clue to the number of guests staying and from other travellers' reviews the service seems to be better when occupancy is low!

The accomodation is excellent, similar to other good four-star business hotels. Food too is very good, much of it from local suppliers. Like several other guests though we found service very slow, particularly at breakfast, where we had to wait for coffee, bread for toast, butter and so on. Bed was comfortable and the room well equipped.

Service (apart from meals) was excellent - help offered with bags both in and out without any prompting. A request for fresh milk brought a large jugful in minutes! There is free wi-fi - this can also be accessed through the TV but this is extremely clunky as there is no mouse, only a very slow joystick. Reception was helpful and professional. One snag, common to many modern hotels, is that the bedrooms are very stuffy in hot weather as there is no through draught. A fan was provided but to my mind this smacks a bit of desperation. If I was paying the full rate I would expect air-conditioning or a least through ventilation.

A couple of tips. Only part of the upper floors have lift access, so if stairs are a problem make sure they know before you arrive. I also understand rooms above and adjoining the Spa complex can be noisy late evenings and early mornings, so avoid these if you want a lie-in! I didn't use the Spa but my daughter swam a couple of times and pronounced it excellent.

Certainly would recommend this to friends, and hope to stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluecaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and interesting observations which are extremely useful. Our apologies for the slow service at breakfast, this is an uncharacteristic lapse in the standards of service we strive to achieve and your comments have been raised with the restaurant team.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    268
    107
    37
    17
See reviews for
100
150
41
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We arrived at 11.30 check in was not untill 2pm which was fair enough. At 1.45 I asked if room was ready and the reception told me rather curtly that check in was at 2! So at 2.15 I asked again and was told room was still dirty and she did not have a clue when it would be ready and we were to sit and wait! We finally got into our room at 4pm so a complete waste of a day. The wine that was supposed to be in our room as part of the package was no where to be found either.
At 4.30 we finally got down to the "Spa" We were hit by the stench of stale urine from the Ladies changing area. There were only 2 pool side loungers which were covered in towels, so n where to sit and relax. And I suspect that the Sauna/Pool area had not been cleaned in a long time. So all in all a very unrelaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and our sincere apologies for such a poor experience. You were clearly subject to an unfortunate and uncharacteristic lapse in the standards of service we strive to achieve. Your comments have been discussed at length with those concerned in order to ensure that we have learnt from our mistakes on this occasion.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Welcoming and peaceful hotel, the facilities were great and breakfast was lovely too. Just what we wanted for a relaxing break! However, whilst getting ready for dinner we noticed an irritating thudding noise that seemed to be coming from the Spa area, when we came back to our room later the noise had stopped and we thought nothing more of it. Until 6am when the noise returned, waking us and ruining our relaxing break! A basic requirement of any hotel is a good nights sleep!
The reception staffs response was poor and has put us off ever wanting to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback which has been most useful. We have managed to identify the source of the noise (dosing equipment for the steam room which is next door to the room) and have taken the bedroom off status until we are able to rectify the problem. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and the poor response from reception.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Liked convenient location on campus and secure parking. Hotel and leisure club staff all very helpful and facilities quite adequate. Complementary internet good (although login and password long winded).
Really not keen on breakfast experience in a hotel of otherwise excellent standards - eg:
1. Long queues on entry and need more staff to seat guests.
2. Only one smallish toast machine is not adequate for large numbers.
3. Coffee served by table staff is slow and irritating - why not give guests 2 cup pots?
Bar reasonable although wines were rather insipid.
Overall experience was satisfactory for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. It is not very often we serve 300 breakfasts and we have learnt from the experience. Constuctive feedback from guests like yourself is also extremely helpful and much appreciated.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

very friendly, helpful receptionist; great room with everything you could need - we took advantage of the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which was very welcome after a long drive. Bed very comfortable, shower great - the breakfast ..... what can I say?! I was amazed at the quality considering it was a buffet breakfast. It had everything you could want from fresh fruit, nuts seeds and smoothies through to full English, perfectly cooked, with different varieties of sausage, bacon, tomotoes and eggs - they will even cook you kippers, smoked haddock etc - couldn't fault it :D

we even left our jackets in the room which are being posted on to us - excellent service !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback which has been relayed to the team. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience with us and are grateful you chose to share it on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We arrived on Fri 8th July and were welcomed really well by the receptionist at about 8pm. She told us everything we needed to know and assured us we could use the spa the next morning. We then ate in the restaurant where the staff were very helpful and polite and the food was good. We also enjoyed the free pimms!
After a good nights sleep and a great breakfast, we really enjoyed relaxing in the spa and pool.
Thankyou so much for a perfect short stay.
Heather

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hstaniland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback which has been relayed to the team. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience with us and are grateful you chose to share it on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Having graduated from Loughborough University of Technology in 1974, I was amazed at how much the place has changed.

I attended a meeting at Burleigh Court associated with one of the departments and was blown away by the facilities. My bedroom was clean, comfortable, well equipped with kettle, ironing board, iron, hairdryer etc., quiet . . . everything one hopes for. The only negative was an excess of cushions & pillows, but there was plenty of room to stack them out of the way.

Internet access from the bedroom was by means of a hard-wired connection, but it worked fine. Better that than the intermittent Wi-Fi link suffered in so many other places. Also, the desk space, unlike many hotel rooms, was actually usable without having to rearrange the whole room!

At the private dinner for a couple of dozen people or so, the food was good and the service unobtrusive yet efficient. The bar area was pleasant and comfortable.

Breakfast was good - although I am sad that fried bread seems to have been removed from the menu everywhere I go now. Still, it's a reason to go home.

Staff were very helpful - especially at reception. Meeting facilities were excellent. Didn't get to try any of the other amenities; perhaps another time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager07, Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback which has been relayed to the team. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience with us and are grateful you chose to share it on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.6 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court

Property: Burleigh Court
Address: off Ashby Road (A512) | Loughborough University, Loughborough LE11 3TD, England (Formerly Imago at Burleigh Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#3 Family Hotel in Loughborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Court 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh Court is one of the Midlands' largest 4 star accredited conference centre and hotel, combining outstanding meeting facilities with first-class accommodation. Voted VisitEngland Large Hotel of the Year in 2014, The contemporary venue offers 225 quality en-suite bedrooms including executive suites, accessible rooms, twin rooms and spacious double rooms. Adjacent to the main hotel is Burleigh Court Lodge, which provides 40 high quality en-suite rooms offering exceptional value and comfort. The Hotel has a recently refurbished restaurant, bar and lounge area which provide the perfect backdrop to tuck into a wide variety of cuisine, which is made with locally-sourced produce. Guests can also enjoy our spa facilities which includes a well-equipped gym, swimming pool, whirlpool spa, steam room, and sauna.What's more all guests can take advantage of free parking and free Wi-Fi during their stay. The hotel is located just one mile from junction 23 of the M1, three miles from Loughborough's Intercity railway station and eight miles from East Midlands Airport, altogether making us the perfect backdrop for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Burleigh Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imago At Burleigh Court Hotel Loughborough
Imago At Burleigh Court Loughborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing