We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not brill” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
Ranked #95 of 255 Restaurants in Loughborough
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Indian restaurant
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not brill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not your typical indian restaurant i was very confused with the menu and the sevice was poor

wouldnt go back there again as there is a nicer one near syston

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    30
    11
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“no no no.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A fact before i begin:
This is not an indian restaurant. They serve Bangladeshi food, just like every other "Indian" in Loughborough. If you want Indian you will have to go to Leicester.


My wife and I went on saturday 20th October, just before 8pm. They were busy.
We were met at the door with no smile or greeting, just a bland "table for two?" enquiry, and left standing there while a table was prepared.
We were seated and offered drinks. The beer came in fair time, one headless and completely flat, the other limpling it's way in the same direction. We had to wait for the jug of water we ordered, which finally arrived in an empty wine bottle a little while later.
The menu could have been from any bangladeshi restaurant anywhere. All the usual suspects. I ignored it for the most part and turned my attention to the 'specials'. Nothing special there. In due course our order was taken. One main, a lamb dish with an unfamiliar name, and two starters to be served at the same time, garlic mushrooms and mixed kebab. Eight o'clock exactly. We waited.
The floor covering is cheap worn out cracked laminate, uneven, blackened grain, and blown at the joints.
The urinal in the mens toilet did not drain properly, so I had to stand and watch it accumulate in the hope that I would finish before it overflowed. The u-bend under the urinal leaked anyway, making it almost a moot point. The hand dryer in the ladies did not work. There are a couple of nice and visually rather interesting wall hangings though.
The unsmiling service continued with the presentation of popadoms we didn't order. "We didn't order these." A reply was mumbled incoherently, and the waiter left us deciding to eat them in the assumption that they were an apology that the food would not come quickly. Fair enough, it was a busy saturday night. We each spooned some onion salad and condiments onto our plate, and ate using our knives.
When we had finished, the still unsmiling, rushed waiter came and dumped our knives back on the table and removed the plates, leaving the pickle tray behind. We looked at eachother in astonishment. I decided to take a closer look at my fork. There were traces of dried-on debris between the prongs.
Forty eight minutes after we ordered, our food arrived, and we asked for a change of cutlery. At this point the service changed from frankly terrible, to "oh crap, we've made a right mess of this cover."
The lamb dish did not contain lamb. Well, it may have been the cheapest lamb available, but it sure seemed like mutton to me. Thin slices of leather. The dish was otherwise as advertised, sweet, sour, and slightly hot. Not terrible, not amazing. Rather more like a base-standard pathia than anything 'special', but certainly not freshly cooked within the last five minutes or less. The two starters came on the same plate. Fine, but they were cold. Barely luke warm. Another complaint, met with profuse apologies, the plate left there, while a replacement was hurriedly prepared. Within five minutes the hot version of the order was presented, the kebab smaller in portion, the mushrooms a totally different colour. Disconcerting.
We paid and left, no tip obviously. What for?
In addition to never going back there, and this review, we will be telling everyone we know about the 'experience'.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Food very good, service not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

OK so it was a Saturday night and very busy. I don't think the staff actually saw us! No eye contact, no welcome, we were just a couple amongst many others. We had to catch their attention for everything we wanted. We did not feel welcome, we felt we were an imposition.
Food on the other hand was excellent. Very fresh, good quality and beautifully cooked. Highly recommended, but not on a Saturday night!!

Helpful?
Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Delicious food, fantastic service. Staff are very attentive and food was hot and tasty.Good choice of dishes and nicely presented.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaynesnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impeccable service seperates this from the many other curry houses...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Finally get round to writing a review to a place I have been eating for many years now, the simple reason is the service. Around anywhere in leicetershire you are bound to get a good curry, you can hardly go wrong apart from the odd exception. Setting the Indian Ocean apart is the quality attention to service, and friendliness of the staff. Always welcoming, take your coats, complimentary poppadums to start, and speed of service is top notch. Ever since I first visited 3 years ago it hasn't changed right to my last visit last week. A cut above other curry houses just by offering that more personal and attentive touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lancslestat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing