We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Evening Very Relaxing”

Great Central Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Evening Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were given an tickets for The Charnwood Forester as a christmas present.

We can recommend this for anyone wanting something different .
It was a lovely meal, everyone was very nice and friendly.

It was very relaxing travelling along and enjoying a nice meal and a bottle of wine.

Being early in the year (we went on 2nd February) it was dark when we were on the train for our meal, but as you can use tickets all day if you want we did take the round trip earlier in the afternoon so we could get a feel of where we where in the evening.

All the staff at The Great Central Railway were lovely, very friendly and very helpful. We will certainly return and take the grandchildren.

It is well worth a visit even if you don't have a meal you can just enjoy a ride on a steam train.

Wonderful !!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stroppycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    197
    36
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Winter Spectacular and Forties Weekends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the 3rd year we have visited the "Winter Steam Gala" and have not been dissapointed , we usually base ourselves at Quorn Station, it has a great Tearoom under the bridge arch, it's done out in 40's style with a roaring open fire in the winter, and lovely mug of tea.There is always something coming through the station, passenger as well as goods, it's a massive bonus as they have a dual line, the Royal Mail Train comes rattling through and does a demonstration of the post pick-up, there is also a turntable demonstation very impressive to see.
The staff are cheerful, enthusiastic and helpful and all volunteers giving up their time for free.
Look out for 40's re-enactment week-ends when all the stations on the line are done out as Allies and German, it's great to see so many people dressed for the part, so realistic it's like stepping back in time, also at Quorn Station there is a Spitfire flypast, well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank classycaslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goathland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter Gala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went here with a few friends for their winter gala. Arrived on the Friday planning on going to spend the afternoon looking round the engine sheds, however this wasn't to be as there was a £5 charge to enter the platform. This seemed expensive, so, as we were planning on traveling there on the Saturday we didn't bother with the trip round the sheds. On the Saturday the staff at the ticket office were friendly and gave us all the information we needed. The coaches were clean inside and warm! which isn't always the case on some railways. The stations looked good and station staff were friendly. The ticket price was reasonable, and there was many trains running over the day including a TPO demo and freight trains.

A good weekend altogether, and a nice railway.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank luk3taylor95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter Steam Gala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent the day hopping from one train to another. had a lovely breakfast in the Griddle Car. Loads of steam engines being used. Lovely helpful staff. An amazing day

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a great Sunday lunch despite the snow and the cold weather, the food was excellent, service great and a really nice experience, well worth the money. We would like to go again In the summer when the weather is dry (hopefully).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Central Railway also viewed

Newtown Linford, Leicestershire
Leicestershire, England
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Great Central Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing