We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveler rating
118
198
171
78
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
198
171
78
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cul de sac hour bar steam train the great central railway stay there again quiet location comfortable hotel loughborough town centre one night stay twin room overnight stop plenty of parking college
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 646 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Let's start with the negatives as they are only minor, the bedrooms could do with modernising and decorating, however, they are clean and all the basics are there and for the price you pay... Mustn't grumble.Now the good bits, the bar is well stocked, the staff are not just polite but also friendly, the restaurant menu is concice but varid and the chef is a guinius, you have to try one of his burgers or curries, we ended eating in every night.We had a good 3 night stay

Room Tip: Don't get room 10.......I don't know why but that's what a lot of reviews I read said
Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sm0seley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

The hotel was quiet and comfortable, but a little disappointed that I couldn’t rebook at the price I paid. It was more expensive to stay there for further nights! Very friendly staff and food was good.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anonymousX1042BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend as we'd booked to have a Steam Train Dining Experience at the local station (15 mins walk away). On arrival we were a little disappointed as it was not what we expected from the pics. Our room was definitely dated, probably the worst in the hotel and looked a bit dirty and aged. We oddly found some 'carrots and houmous' from about 4 weeks ago still in the room. The bar was great, and the food was nice. We couldn't had dessert as the kitchen staff had left before we finished our meal. The beds were comfy. Breakfast was hit and miss. One morning was fine, delicious and how I would expect it however one morning there were no clean cups for hot drinks, no glasses and the juice has run out. There were no clean tables and no staff to be found. After a little wait all got sorted but it was quite odd! All in all, the location is good and if you intend to use it for a base it's perfect. However if you intend to spend a decent bit of time in the room I'd try elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Adelly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We stayed here for one night and booked with confidence from good reviews. On arrival the outside needs to be tidied up, when we walked in it looks like an old country pub and felt very comfortable. The lady on the desk was very helpful not so keen on leaving our room key when we leave the premises. There was a notice that refurbish work was happening this was not stated when booking the accommodation. When we started to walk upstairs to the rooms we felt let down as it is very tired and outdated. Our room was clean besides some cobwebs which can’t be helped but it was very outdated. The floors boards were awful and the walls are paper thin so could here everything. We choose to stay here as it was close to the great central railway which we had plans for that evening it was ok for the night but not any longer. I can see lots of refurbish work needs to be completed and was a little annoyed if the price of the night for the room we got. If refurbish work is completed it would be a great place to stay especially for the railway but pricing of the rooms were a bit steep.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank adams1052018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

It is a simple, not too expensive hotel with a nice atmosfere.The rooms are nice and the beds are good, which is important.A lobby that makes you feel at home.The restaurant has good quality food, but is not very attractive.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pessel114861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews