We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Disappointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When I saw the pictures on the website, I thought yep that looks nice. Well what a disappointment. The corridor to the bedroom smelt damp and musty. On entering into the bedroom my face dropped. Whilst the room was clean, it lacked any atmosphere, it was so bland and miserable. The bathroom had damp patches on the ceiling and the bed looked like you would be sleeping on the floor. Hence to say we checked out and stayed at the Burleigh Court Hotel. It was worth paying an extra £22.00 for comfort and not a smelly hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    180
    147
    67
    69
See reviews for
113
165
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Well located for Prestwold driving centre Everyman track day. Breakfast good. Stuck in time warp though and plastic mattress cover unnecessary. Bathrooms tired and place needs refurb yesterday!! Friendly service and flaky free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Loughborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UK
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

On first impressions the hotel looks very nice, from the outside. Free parking was a plus. Once you step inside, however, that was a different story. The grumpy old lady at reception did not welcome us to the hotel whatsoever and demanded our money upon check-in like she owned the place. She was walking around bare-foot (health and safety? hygiene?!). Our room was nice a clean on the other hand, could have done with a mini-bar though. The shower lacked pressure and warmth. We had dinner there and the food was fabulous, nice variety on the menu. The young man on evening duties was lovely to speak with. Night time at the hotel was dreadful - paper thin walls - constant coughing from our neighbour. All-in-all we would rate the hotel poor, mainly due to how unwelcoming and grumpy the reception lady was. If the old lady is in a mood we would highly recommend you avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacher28512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is very shabby and in desperate need of an upgrade. Our room was clean but the shower was hopeless and ran cold very quickly. We were unable to open the shampoo/conditioner sachets that were provided and the sink was so small we couldn't get the kettle under the tap to have a cuppa!. Our room was above the laundry as was evident when the spin cycle began at after 11pm. Breakfast was stewed tea and cheap orange juice, the food was only ok. The staff were the only redeeming factor and the reason why I have not rated it as terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were greeted by elegant and extremely well kept garden - just behind the car park (thank God for that one, I really appreciate hotels with spacious and free car park. The last thing I want to think about after driving for hours is where to park the car).
Extremely friendly staff, beautiful lounge with a central fire place. Comfortable chairs, big TV screen somewhere at the end and lots of books and board games that kids found interesting.
Nice and newly decorated room was a surprise we did not expect for the money we paid. Perfect shower - just the way I like it :)
Breakfast served fresh and quick just as we would hope for before setting off to town. Excellent dinner served even after the kitchen was closed - big thanks to hotel manager for arranging that for us.
The hotel is on the outskirts of the town within 10 min walk there is a really beautiful park and cementary dating probably back to 19th century. We also went for a long walk to Charnwood Water and went to see the Great Central Railway (5 min away from hotel).
Perfect weekend. Will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveller1a2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, we booked on-line, and even tho' I am used to booking hotels on line, this one didn't give me the option of booking breakfast, so the booking came through with no breakfast. That was o.k. in itself because we knew we could add that when we got there, but when I told the quite disinterested lady on 'reception' she told me I definitely could have booked our breakfast on-line! I wasn't going to argue. I had booked a double room for single occupancy, and a family room. even tho' I had paperwork for both rooms, she could only find the booking for the family room, and the double bed ended up a single bed, which wasn't ideal, but o.k. The rooms were both very tired-looking and needing decoration. Neither of my friends liked the wooden frame round the mattress on both beds in the family room.. Breakfast was served in a nicely laid out dining room, with really lovely chairs, but by a rather drippy girl, who forgot our toast and stabbed my husband with his knife when she dropped it and it landed on his hand. she had already dropped other cutlery when she was clearing away our table. Breakfast was nicely cooked and the girl actually got our order correct, which was a plus! They were tight on the bacon and toast tho' only 1 slice of toast and 1 rasher of bacon each. The chaps on reception were helpful. Checkout was far too early, breakfast was 8-10, and checkout was 10.30. It was 11.00 when we checked out, and it said in the hotel information in the room that they make a charge of an extra £10 a room for late checking out. We handed in our keys and got out of the hotel a.s.a.p.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happylady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in desperate need of decorating the rooms are shabby, paper thin walls and creaking floorboards throughout
Breakfast and dinner was ok, the bar and waiting staff were very friendly although we certainly wouldn't go back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alrightgirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
143 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
655 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing