We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night Away”
Review of The Link Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Link Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
e mids england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Night Away”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

I stayed at this hotel the night of the 7th Oct 2006, with my boyfriend.
We checked in at 3:00pm and where pointed the way to our room.
The corridors where a little creaky and the wall paper was a bit old, but was clean and tidy.
We had room 239 and it was quite spacious and again clean and tidy, with a good free drinks tray!! With cookies!!
We went to the pool and it is a small pool but ok for a quick dip and a go in the Jacuzzi. The changing rooms were a bit old and needed some re-tiling though!!!!
We didn’t eat in the restaurant at night.
We found the room to be quiet and gave us a good night’s sleep.
In the morning we went down to breakfast and had a wide choice of food which was all very nice. From cereals to full English.
I enjoyed my night at the hotel although I think some money could be spent on some of the corridors and such to brighten them up a bit.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bit Shabby
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pop_up_pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    214
    66
    21
    19
See reviews for
126
157
43
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Should be called quality hostel....even then that would be stretching it a bit.
Run down, shabby and unprofessional. Took one look at the dinner menu then proceeded to the Harvester Inn next door!
Very noisy...I challenge anyone to get a good night's sleep.
Didn't venture as far as the leisure area, but I wouldn't have been surprised if the pool was waterless, judging by the rest of it!
£95 was the charge...please understand I'm not picky but expect to get what you pay for...I didn't!
I recommend you stay on the M1and drive straight past this dump.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bungle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Booked hotel room through Active Hotels Website. The downside of which (and the Quality Hotel Website, too) is that you are unable to view the hotel and amenities very well.
The staff on reception were cheeky, yet polite and helpful, so a reasonable start, although not all people would like this attitude.
The corridors up to the rooms were desperately in need of some redecoration, with paper peeling (pulled?) off the walls. A little effort had been made in places, with the border bing covered with a little planed timber, but not finished.
The room was clean and tidy, although again, a little tired looking. The bed was reasonably comfortable and did provide a good night's sleep.
The problem we had was with the restaurant dining. The hotel claims 'fine dining' and gives the impression of a stylish restaurant, but we thought it was trying to be something it wasn't.
The menu was varied and quite appealing. The service was a little poor.
We had to wait a long time to be able to order food and wine, as we had been told that we had to order the 2 together! When the wine came, it was left with us in a bucket full of water and some ice. No, "Would you like to try the wine?" or "shall I poor this for you?" Just left in the bucket! Not good.
Then the food. Everything we had was doused (not drizzled) in a sweet oyster sauce. Even the Bruschetta, for some reason, although it doesn't tell you on the menu!
The main meals were not as described, either! Pork medallions with apple and mash, which turned out to be more like chops on top of mashed potato. When I asked the waitor about the aple, he told me it was in the mash and argued with me when I told him it wasn't!! My girlfriend, Donna, had ordered chicken stuffed with cous cous! The only thing it was stuffed with was bone!
Other than the restaurant, though, the hotel was in a useful location for us, as I had a rally event booked just outside Loughborough. However, I would not want to stay there for longer than a couple of nights.
I must reiterate, though, that the reception staff were very helpful and cheerful.

  • Liked — Location for Loughborough and from M1
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat out!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed here following a wedding at Prestwold Hall - don't seem many hotel options in Loughborough. It was very cheap - £32 for a double room - so I wasn't expecting much.

First impressions - thought we'd wandered onto the Travel Tavern from Alan Partridge - as previous reviews have said, the fountain was a highlight (!). Reception staff were really helpful, & organised a taxi for us to the wedding.

Hotel does look a bit tired, but the room was ok - does exactly what it's supposed to - nothing special but it was clean. Didn't have breakfast as this would have been about another £10 each. Despite being told the bar would be open when we got back (at about midnight), it wasn't and there wasn't anyone around to open it.

Used the leisure centre the next day - pool is ok (although quite small and cold!) - sauna and steam room were great for recovering from the night before. It's a good extra for no more cost.

It's an ok option for a cheap and cheerful place to lay your head if you're in town for a function. I wouldn't want to be here for longer than a night or two though but that's because it lacks any atmosphere and feels really flat. But at £32, I won't grumble!

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — No atmosphere & seems tired
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2006

Stayed here while attending a local wedding. First impressions were not too good, with a tacky fountain effort dominating the foyer, complete with rusty coins and 'jets' spounting water upwards for about 2 centimetres. The check-in desk gave partial views of one of the mouldiest looking offices ever - staff were quite chipper despite this.

Corridor up to the room looked a bit tired but the room itself was tidy enough, although a quick once round with the Ken Dodd tickling stick might have removed some of the cobwebs. Bathroom harshly lit with a strange formica wall, although nice and clean. Shower looked dreadful, but in practice had plenty of power.

Bed was comfortable with two of us in it, althouigh the pillows were shockingly bad - two together were about 5 centimetres thick and I had to fold them in two for comfort.

Bar was about to close on our return after midnight but the chap behind it sorted us out with a nightcap. Breakfast was a decent effort and the rustic decor certainly amused us - plastic loaves of bread in an ivy covered plastic whicker basket anyone?

All together average - wouldn't have wanted to pay much more than the £75 that we did.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnos.grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGoddard, Revenue Supervisor at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Many thanks for your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. imago @ Loughborough Ltd, a wholly owned subsidiary company of Loughborough University, are very proud to be the new managers of the Link Hotel. In Summer 2010 we invested £2 million in an extensive refurbishment project of all 94 bedrooms and front of house areas, including reception, lounge and restaurant. We aim to deliver excellent bedrooms and customer service to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to the Link Hotel, Loughborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2005

Staff are fantastic, professional yet friendly. Service a little slow in the restaurant but the quality of the food made up for it. Towels need attention. Room was fine.
The leisure centre was a nice relaxing extra at no extra cost.

Would definately recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TtamOj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2005

I have stayed here a number of times in the past three years. The Choice Hotels website usually has some very good deals on this hotel (£44 per night), which make it excellent value. The rooms are pleasant enough, although the bathroom walls are lined in some sort of formica rather than tiles and the room lighting is by rather harsh flourescent tubes and other energy saving bulbs. On one night during my last stay the hot water ran out, which meant boiling the kettle to get washed. Breakfasts adequate - rather a nasty drinks machine for tea and coffee and surprisingly miserable staff. The swimming pool is very small. Not an exceptional hotel, but perfectly adequate for a short stay on business.

Helpful?
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.6 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
714 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
355 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
673 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Link Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Link Hotel

Property: The Link Hotel
Address: New Ashby Road | Jct 23/M1, Loughborough LE11 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#2 Family Hotel in Loughborough
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Link Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel based in Leicestershire, the Link offers good quality bedroom and meeting facilities, providing guests with great value for money. The bright, modern venue offers 94 comfortable, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms. From spacious double rooms to large family bedroom, we ensure to provide you with a high degree of comfort. Our Origins restaurant and contemporary bar offer an excellent choice of cuisine for you to tuck into, made using fresh and locally sourced produce wherever possible. Guests can also take advantage of our on-site cardio gym which offers a range of equipment.Conveniently located half a mile from junction 23 of the M1, three miles from Loughborough Mainline Station and eight miles from East Midlands Airport it provides an ideal base for For clock-watching business guests and those who like to put their feet up. Our excellent central location is within easy access of some of the region's finest attractions including Bradgate Park, the National Space Centre and Drayton Manor Theme Park. The hotel is only 10 miles from Donington Park race circuit and 15-20 miles from the bustling cities of Leicester, Nottingham and Derby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Link Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Loughborough
Loughborough Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing