We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Link Hotel, Louborough - June 2013”
Review of The Link Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Link Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Link Hotel, Louborough - June 2013”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for the annual Download Festival at a cost of £75 a night excluding breakfast. Originally planned to stay with my partner but we split up so got a friend to come, and the hotel was more than accommodating in changing the room from a double to a twin.

Although similar price to a Premier Inn, the room was much more nicely decorated with plenty of space, comfy beds and a nicely finished bathroom. Only picky things were bits of cobwebs on windows and a little mildew starting to show on the shower curtain but there were minor in the grand scheme of things. Free wi-fi was also welcome. Room service excellent and plenty of towels given.

Breakfast was very steep at around £13 for a cooked breakfast which is a complete rip off, go next door to the Harvester which is much cheaper, although the food is average. 24 hour bar service at the hotel is excellent and the reception area is a pleasant place to chill out. When we visited the entrance was being refurbished so it will look even better when complete. Plenty of parking at the hotel, easy to find, and only a 5 min drive to the airport or 10 to the festival.

Even if staying in the area in the future not for Download Festival I would definitely recommend it. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a good time at the Download festival. Your comments have been passed on to our Housekeeping team, regarding the cobwebs and the shower curtain.

Just to let you know if you pre-book breakfast the cost is £10 per person, for a help yourself buffet which includes, your cereals, toasts, pastries, juices, fruit and Full English Breakfast - all of which the products are locally sourced which we are very proud of.

I hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again in the future, and you will be able to see the fantastic new doors.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    214
    65
    21
    19
See reviews for
124
157
43
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed at the Link Hotel in June 2013 as a base for our university reunion. I really liked it; comfortable rooms (a double offered as single occupancy for no extra charge), really good breakfast (great selection) and pleasant, helpful staff. Last year we stayed at the competition, which was also very good, but Link beat them on price. £54 for one night's stay and breakfast was very good indeed and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Link to friends and family.
The only thing I can criticise at all is..the coffee. It really isn't very nice at all and it needs to be changed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that our rates our competitive.

With regards to your comments regarding our coffee, we are currently looking at a different source for our coffee, but I am unsure of the time scale for this.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel / motel has very little to write home about apart from the friendly staff....
A grim soulless place with a long swirly carpeted corridor, not sure if there are rooms downstairs. There didnt appear to be a lift, surely there was one, so not great for heavy travel gear. Breakfast all you can eat thing....
My suggestion is if there is an alternative take it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLM167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was dissappointed to read your review on your stay with us. I am sorry that you felt the hotel lacked soul.

We are always working on ways to improve our services and standards and if you have any suggestions on how we could have done this for you I would be more than happy for you to contact me directly on J.M.Sandham@lboro.ac.uk.

Just for your future reference that we do have rooms on the ground floor if these are of interest to you, unfortunately you are correct we do not have a lift at the hotel, but our team are more than happy to assist anyone who requires it.

I do hope that you will give us a second chance, and instead of using alternative accommodation you choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow! You would think that when you are spending just £40 on a room, you'll have to just take what you're given ... but not here. My friend and I stayed here for the weekend of Donnington World Superbikes 2013. After a long day of helping out a small satellite race team (and riding the race bike back from Parc Ferme, through the crowd, to the garage - yeah baby!!) we were in need of somewhere comfortable and relaxing for dinner and sleep.

We had low expectations of this "budget hotel" but were hugely surprised. Yep, the rooms were basic, but they were comfortable and warm. The staff, who could so easily have been jobs worths, were just lovely, and the girls in reception went farther than the extra mile to make sure we had breakfast sorted on Sunday morning for our early start back at the track.

Our steak and chips dinner in the restaurant was marvellous, and faultless, and our 8-month-into-training waiter was friendly and pleasant too.

All in all it was a wonderful surprise, made all the more super by such great staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThomasViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for spending your time writing your review.

I hope you had a great time at the Donnington World Superbikes, it sounds a great way to spend your weekend.

I was very pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations of us, and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I hope you will be back with us again for either nexts years Superbikes or for another event.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Customer Serive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although it says it's a budget hotel, dont let that lead you into thinking it's in any way inferior. This hotel was extremely good value for money & very much pleasantly surprised me. The staff were pleasant & efficient, the room was very clean & i thought it looked great! The bed was huge & really comfy too. The only thing i found was that the room felt cold & even though i tried to turn the heating up a bit, it didn't seem to make much difference. However, i wasn't bothered enough to phone Reception about it & complain, it didnt detract from the very pleasant experience of staying here. I would definitely recommend this hotel & stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalexan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was such a pleasure to read all the lovely comments regarding your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the inconvience you had with regards to the temperature in your room, one of the team would have been more than happy to try and fix this for you, or to provide an alternative solution.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms: clean, modern with all the things you need. Bathroom was clean, showerhead could should give more water. Good cooked breakfast. Thank you wonderfull staff at the reception desk. You made us want to come back to stay with you again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I was very pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It is always a boost when the team receives such great feedback like yours, and we like to share all feedback with the team, who I know really appreciate the time our guests spend writing their reviews.

I do hope you get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights 21st may and 22nd may 2013, excellent service, very welcoming staff, rooms are a good size and very clean! should be a 5 star hotel instead of 3 star! breakfast was great, loads of choice. had a meal in the evening in the restaurant and could not fault the food!
only problem i would say about this is the staff in the restaurant were a bit rude and didnt know what they were doing, we booked a table for the evening and got put somewhere else inbetween a big group of people and the waiting staff were very pushy wanted us to order as soon as we sat down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was such a pleasure to read your positive comments.

All of our guests feedback is shared with the team, and your comments regarding our restaurant team, has been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager who is working closely with the them to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I would like to apologise for any dissatisfaction this may have caused you, during your stay with us.

I do hope that this incident hasn't put you off returning to us in the future, as we would appreciate the chance to prove to you what our Restaurant team ( and the rest of the team at the hotel) can do.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.6 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
707 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
347 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
663 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Link Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Link Hotel

Property: The Link Hotel
Address: New Ashby Road | Jct 23/M1, Loughborough LE11 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Loughborough
#2 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Link Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel based in Leicestershire, the Link offers good quality bedroom and meeting facilities, providing guests with great value for money. The bright, modern venue offers 94 comfortable, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms. From spacious double rooms to large family bedroom, we ensure to provide you with a high degree of comfort. Our Origins restaurant and contemporary bar offer an excellent choice of cuisine for you to tuck into, made using fresh and locally sourced produce wherever possible. Guests can also take advantage of our on-site cardio gym which offers a range of equipment.Conveniently located half a mile from junction 23 of the M1, three miles from Loughborough Mainline Station and eight miles from East Midlands Airport it provides an ideal base for For clock-watching business guests and those who like to put their feet up. Our excellent central location is within easy access of some of the region's finest attractions including Bradgate Park, the National Space Centre and Drayton Manor Theme Park. The hotel is only 10 miles from Donington Park race circuit and 15-20 miles from the bustling cities of Leicester, Nottingham and Derby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your The Link Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Loughborough
Loughborough Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing