We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of The Link Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Link Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in mid feb for one night and I am glad I didn't book it for longer. Room is large but was dusty in places. Bed was not very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit smelly. Not overly so but noticeable. Compares poorly to Burleigh Court even though, on some days of the week, both hotels cost the same. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank simran18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your constructive comments have been shared with the team.

As you can see from previous reviews, your comments raised are unusual as we pride ourselves in ensuring our rooms are well cleaned and maintained. I do hope that we will see you again to prove to you that this is not our usual standard.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    208
    62
    21
    19
See reviews for
121
151
43
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the Link Hotel over the weekend of the 22nd March to the 24th March. First impressions were great, stayed at the hotel with a large group of university students and they seemed happy to allow us to congregate in the reception to give out messages for the upcoming weekend. Room was good, stayed with 3 others and they'd provided us with tea/coffee as well as shampoo, conditioner and body wash. First night was great, no complaints at all. I would say their greatest area from improvement would be breakfast. I completely understand why there wasn't enough food available for the buffet as there was at least 50 in my group so it's understandable that we would take up a lot of space and food, however I was not impressed to find dirty plates with old food stuck on the bottom of them, as well as hair in the food itself. Definitely something that should be sorted out. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel itself so there's not much I can comment on there, but the second night all 4 of us were absolutely freezing as someone had turned off the heater in the day and when we turned it back on it just didn't seem to be efficient enough throughout the night. Overall, an okay stay but as mentioned there are definitely a few things that needed to be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review.

I completely agree that dirty plates is unacceptable, and our team can assure you that this is not our usual standard, as you can see from past reviews.

Thank you for your comments regarding the heating from your room, I have spoke to the houseekeeping team to ensure that this doesn't happen in the future.

I hope you will stay with us again, so we can prove that the above is not our usual standard.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Only one night stay on business. described as budget 3 star which is fair enough, small reception area which can be bit slow when busy as when I arrived. Room was a good size and facilities were good, tea/coffee making, nice tv with freeview, small amount of hanging space but I would imagine this is a business hotel mainly so for a 1or 2 night stay it is adequate. Cleanliness was fairly poor which is inexcusable regardless of the star rating. Surfaces by sink were stained, the room smelt when I arrived and I know it is a small thing but all the chrome fittings were watermarked and looked dirty. Breakfast was fine, full selection of continental and cooked and the staff were friendly and helpful. Shower was over the bath and worked well, plenty warm enough although the hot water to the sink wasnt very hot. Toiletries were supplied and again were fine for this rating hotel. The duvet was a bit thin so I left the heating on overnight otherwise it may have been a bit chilly

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking to the time to write your review, we always appreciate construction feedback, which enables us to improve the services we provide.

I have passed your comments on to our housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness of your bathroom, as you can see from our past reviews this is not our usual standard. I have also reported the sinks hot water issue to our maintenance team.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that these are just minor hiccups, and you will choose to stay with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen - Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Needed a budget stop between Scotland and the South-west. Found this on a booking website. Two large double rooms for £60.00. Both very comfortable, clean and with very large beds. The hotel is just off Junction 23 on the M1 and is very easy to find.
We were met with a smile and helpful service. There is a decent enough restaurant on site but all we wanted was a light snack so no idea what dinners are like. There were a very large number of cheerleaders also staying over for a competition but despite the fact it sounded as if they were rehearsing in the corridors we were not disturbed once we got off to sleep.
We felt this place represented very good value for a motel type stop with hotel style service

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that the cheerleaders we had in didn't disrupt your stay.

I do hope you would consider using us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen - Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We didn't expect a lot from this hotel, as it said basic 3 star. But we couldn't Fault it :)

Its very modern and the rooms are lovely.

Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty.

The hotel is a 5 min taxi ride from the centre of town, which cost us £6.50.

Overall we had a good stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandNeil1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was very pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to Natalie and Alun, who were also glad that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen - Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights whilst attending a competition at the university. The hotel is modern and clean and great value for money. We ate in the hotel and there was a good choice of food and the staff were fantastic. We were with children and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable. We will definitely be returning a special thanks to Natalie and her husband who were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstinp1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always such a pleasure to read such great reviews, especially when specific team members are mentioned as this really makes the team feel proud of what we are achieving.

I hope you had an awarding competition and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after an event at the University and can echo the positive remarks from this site. We had a very comfortable night- it was quiet and although the room was cold when we arrived, we turned the heating up high and left it on all night. The bed was huge and comfortable and we were pleased with the very reasonable price we paid. There is a great little gym too with spanking new equipment. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at The Link Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to wrtie your review. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and tThank you for pointing out some of our great attributes of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Joanne Pullen
Senior Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.6 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
691 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
653 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
335 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Link Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Link Hotel

Property: The Link Hotel
Address: New Ashby Road | Jct 23/M1, Loughborough LE11 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
#2 Family Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Link Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel based in Leicestershire, the Link offers good quality bedroom and meeting facilities, providing guests with great value for money. The bright, modern venue offers 94 comfortable, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms. From spacious double rooms to large family bedroom, we ensure to provide you with a high degree of comfort. Our Origins restaurant and contemporary bar offer an excellent choice of cuisine for you to tuck into, made using fresh and locally sourced produce wherever possible. Guests can also take advantage of our on-site cardio gym which offers a range of equipment.Conveniently located half a mile from junction 23 of the M1, three miles from Loughborough Mainline Station and eight miles from East Midlands Airport it provides an ideal base for For clock-watching business guests and those who like to put their feet up. Our excellent central location is within easy access of some of the region's finest attractions including Bradgate Park, the National Space Centre and Drayton Manor Theme Park. The hotel is only 10 miles from Donington Park race circuit and 15-20 miles from the bustling cities of Leicester, Nottingham and Derby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Link Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Loughborough
Loughborough Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing